Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2009
Whether you were around a this time or not, this is a fascinating insight into the wonderful world of Division One football when times were less pretentious, footballers more earthy and studios looked like they were taken straight from MFI (which they probably were.)
This was not the greatest period in United's great history, but it would be hard to rival it for stylish kits, devil may care attacking football on unconducive pitches and noisy crowds creating a real atmosphere.
If you love United buy it, if you loved the Seventies, buy it and if you have been brought up in the era of the overblown and over hyped Premier League, buy it and see how football used to be in a more honest and respectable time that was astonishiongly only three decades ago.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
This DVD is excellent, any true United fan needs this in their collection, some graet action and brilliant memories to be had here if you grew up following United in the 70's and 80's. A must buy!!
here are the contents
1969-70 United v Arsenal 2-1
1970-71 Palace v United 3-5
1971-72 Coventry v United 2-3
1972-73 United v Derby 3-0
1973-74 United v Chelsea 2-2
1974-75 Sheff weds v Utd 4-4
1975-76 United v Birmingham 3-1
1976-77 United v City 3-1
1977-78 Ipswich v United 1-2
1978-79 Derby v United 3-1
1979-80 United v Liverpool 2-1
1980-81 Forest v United 1-2
1981-82 United v Wolves 5-0
1982-83 United v Notts County 4-0
Well worth the price!!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2009
loved everything about this dvd apart from the quality of some of the games,surely a bit of time could have been spent re-mastering or cleaning up some of the images,the United v l'pool game from 1980 was particularly disappointing with flickering on the picture,that said i still enjoyed the dvd immensely and hopefully itv have got sense enough to issue a 2nd volume?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2009
The great thing about this DVD is it gives you a fascinating insight into what football coverage was like in the 70's (pre Sky of course). The late, great Brian Moore is host for each match and there is post match analysis in some games from Jimmy Hill. There's no ridiculous squad names and numbers on player shirts and the game seems to be played in a less cynical way than today. There seems to be a greater honesty and integrity about the players on show and referees seem to let the matches flow more than those of today.
Not United's greatest period but the DVD shows matches from 1970 right up to 83 and some great goals by Best, Law, Charlton, Macari and Robson feature.
So order a copy and enjoy football from an era when football was played on boggy pitches, kicked off at 3 on a Saturday afternoon, people stood on terraces and opposition fans clapped opponents goals!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
Aaahhh, Man United, my very 1st DVD in the BM range, was superb back then and still is now, always enjoy watching it again and again along with the others when i get the opportunity, from a time when our national sport wasn't about money, primadonnas with inflated ego's/wages and where the player wanted to give the spectator his/her moneys worth, love the range, have all 20 titles in the range so far including England match of the 70's and the latest release, Leeds Volume II is hopefully an indication that the DVD range will keep going, if anyone wants feedback or is keen to buy a few more in the range please drop a line and I'll give you a very honest and well balanced review :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2009
I had been looking forward to this for a couple of weeks and as soon as the postman brought it, I put it on my dvd player. What can I say? It is absolutely brilliant, right from the very start. Manchester United games, with George Best featuring in four of the little highlights, there are viewers letters, fun features and fantastic Christmas items from the Seventies, including the surreal sight of Kevin Keegan, Mike Channon and Elton John presenting the show from about 1976. Other highlights include clips of Peter Taylor talking about his ill-fated book on Clough (which lead to their split) George Best talking about his six goals at Northampton, a thirty-eight year-old Martin Peters, Brazil 1970 and a clip of a twenty-one year-old genius called Maradona. We also get the titles for The Big Match for every season from 1970 to 1982. Magic, I can`t wait for other dvds to be released.
33 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2009
Managed to watch all of it in afternoon and considering all the action was before my time I thorougly enjoyed the whole DVD. Although there isn't THAT much of Charlton, Law and Best, when you do see them you see some crackers, there's also a bonus clip of Best being interviewed and him scoring 6 in one game.

For anyone enjoying Big Match Revisited on ITV4, this DVD certainately lives up to the main programmes. The extras are brill too, shows how much TV coverage has changed since the 60's.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
If you love Manchester United and the Big Match, you will love this DVD. It's also got some great from the Big Match which I really enjoyed. Someone did make a comment about the quality of some of the matches from the early 1970s but that's just the way it was then. It did not stop my enjoyment. A DVD well worth having.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2011
great product.superb color footage from the late 60s to early 80s.some footage i hadnt seen before so that was a bonus!great to see the old favorites that are gone but not forgotten.commentary and interviews very good and extras were top class.well done guys very enjoyable dvd-a must for the older United fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
Must for all utd fans who miss the go old days great trip down memory lane
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)