Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2006
If you're a Jam fan then you'll either have this already or ignore what any reviwers write and just buy it. You'll not be disappointed. Its a good live album and captures what the Jam were like at their height and in their (live) element. The track selection is extensive and gets in all the popular numbers plus some unexpected ones. If you're getting into the Jam, then this is as good a live set as you can expect and gives a good impression of what they were really all about.
Personally, I prefer Dig the New Breed, as some of the versions of the key tracks on that, are better and it has the standout version of Ghosts. Saying that, this album can't be faulted and in terms of the range and number of tracks, its a sound investment and well worth having.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2007
Its 12 or 13 years ago now since I bought this album but its one I keep coming back to. It was my introduction to the Jam. I'd gotten into Weller in the Wildwood era and vaguely new something about the jam and him being in the band. It was about the time I was becoming obsessed with all things mod. My dad's old Who and Small Faces records used to go on every day after school. Then I heard Live Jam! Wow! The power, the aggression, the sheer energy coupled with Weller's musical genious had me hooked right away. All these years later and The Jam and The Style Council are still two of my favourite bands.

Buy it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
It could be that i am now older, but this album is better than almost anything around today. I understand that it is all subjective, and today's music will be heralded by this generation in twenty years as "better than today's" music. Sadly, i do feel that music from the 80's and 90's maybe the last time that songs with melody, rhythm and audible lyrics were created. Well i will get of my soap box now and say that this is a great album ans worth a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2002
The great thing about this American disc is that it doesn't duplicate the running order of contemporary live LP (1982) 'Dig The New Breed' at all. Surprisingly, neither disc replicates the running order of a singles collection LP either, with obscurer tracks like 'Heatwave' given equal priority.
Far too young to have attended a Jam gig, and in the absence of any concert videos, listening to these CDs is probably the closest younger Jam fans will ever be able to get to being there.
Paul Weller as angry-sounding young man is what you get on every track, a million-miles from the dad rock strummings on last year's 'Days Of Speed'!
As with The Clash, listening to studio recordings only gives half the story, because The Jam live must have been a hot ticket.
'The Modern World' is a pretty dud song to kick off with, but 'Billy Hunt' gets the crowd going and 'Down In The Tube Station At Midnight' and 'Town Called Malice' are brilliant as always.
All told, a bit of a bargain really.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2006
I saw the Jam twice in 1977-78. This album,for a ridiculous price, is something you should buy, firstly for yourself and secondly, and more importantly, for your (possibly future)children, so they can understand you when you complain about the triviality of modern "music". Rock and roll doesn't get better than this, though the Stones, Dolls, Kennedys, Television et al provide reasonable competition. Don't waste your money on another pint or ten fags, buy this.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2011
Being a huge Jam and Weller fan who has never had the chance of watching them in concert, I have purchased numerous live bootlegs that all differ so much in quality. This official live album is a welcome addition at first sight, offering the listener a very varied set list, featuring power pop songs such as "Modern world" as well as more balladesque tunes like "Carnation" or "Butterfly collector". The trouble here is that the responsible sound engineer's attempt seemingly was to over-emphasize Bruce Foxton's bass guitar so that the overall "wall of sound" appears dull to my ears. Secondly the sound quality is much too consistent and monotonous - not very authentic if you consider that this is a compilation made up from various gigs between 1977 and 1982. At this point I'd rather recommend the more nuanced and differing "Dig the new breed" release from 1982. Thirdly this Polydor compilation was released at a time when Paul Weller (who was sacked on the spot in 1990) started being successful again on Go!Discs - Dennis Munday, once intimate friend of Weller, now a fellow traveller who tries to earn a profit by assembling this CD from the Polydor vaults is responsible for this album. The same person who published the paperback "Shout to the top"a few years ago, in which he stabs his former friend in the back by writing lots of rubbish about Weller's mistakes in the music business... All this smells a bit fishy to me!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2005
any live jam cd is a must buy for your collection,been round a long time now this cd,no band bettered the jam for playing live,no band ever will,we are treated to many album tracks on the cd stand out tracks for me"billy hunt"man in the corner shop"little boy soldiers"every track is played with so much energy which is what a jam gig was all about,a definate buy this one,put it in your cd rack next to dig the new breed and enjoy,without doubt you will.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Great live album from the Jam . As good as Its Alive! by the Ramones Paul Weller on top form as always!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
This is a very good album from The Jam the track list is outstanding and very enjoyable to listen to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
The could do no wrong - great, gritty live album :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)