Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars482
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£8.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2002
I watched this film on TV recently, having never seen it before, I decided to watch it and see if it was as sad as people said. I too have NEVER cried at a film in my life, seriously, and I didn't think this would be any different. God was I wrong! The acting from both Moore and Swayze is absolutely amazing, and I began to completely feel Sam's frustrations when Molly can't hear him, and Molly's pain throughout the film. I think without good actors this film could have been quite bad, but with these two I honestly began to feel that the whole thing was real. At the end of the film there were tears in my eyes, something I didn't think would happen! If you havn't seen this film already I would seriously recommend it as it is one of the most touching films ever made.
44 comments47 of 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 March 2008
This film has helped me through so many bad times. Round about the time this was released on DVD i lost my mum to cancer. This was the last film I watched with her so nowadays it has sentimental value. This is a perfect film to watch if you're depressed as it does make you feel better after you watch it. This is my fave movie ever. I watch this nearly every month because I love the movie so much. This cannot be repeated twice, there can't be a sequel to it, It's a golden tear film (meaning weepie) The power that this film has is unbelievable. If you have lost a loved one then you'd know the power that i'm talking about. The acting is superb. Patrick really does make you believe in this character and this nightmare he is going through and by the end you really do feel the magic that the character goes through. It does really make you wonder what that life beyond death is really like. The romantic side of this film doesn't miss a beat. Patrick and Demi's chemistry is paramount to the story and it doesn't feel faked, it feels real. The inclusion of Whoopi Goldberg's character gives it a lighthearted style humour which by the end has a message to it. Jerry Zucker who recent flicks before this one were Airplane! does a great job mixing the heartfelt sentimentality with the stand out humour that you get when Patrick and Whoopi are together on screen. Whoopi quite rightly deserved that Oscar she got for this role. Her acting was brilliant. Two cast members has been outlooked by every one but without there characters this movie might not have worked. I'm talking about of course Tony Goldwyn as Karl and Rick Aviles as Willie. The subtile acting brings out their most evil side and you are genuinly shocked when you found out he was in on it the whole time. How could you allow your best friend to be murdered? You feel that their just desserts are quite literally deserved after how you see them as and what they had done to Sam. It is scary in some parts and even a little gruesome but the message does still shine through. Love is forever if you believe. By the end yes even i was in floods of tears. That is the power that this one has, to literally bring you to tears. No matter how hard you try, it will always do that. I have watched this time and time again and I still cry buckets at the end, even before the scene even starts, I'm already filling up. The end scene is the standout moment of the film. It is the magic of GHOST. There is no more powerful word than goodbye. Industrial Light and Magic create an effect that pulls at the heartstrings and the acting from the stars pulls even more. The real magic of this scene is Maurice Jarre's powerful soft instrumental theme of Unchained Melody. The soft violins lets the tears flow. It is truly beautiful. Even right now i'm thinking of it and i'm getting a lump in my throat. If you haven't seen this yet, see it now. If you want a great tearjerker, they don't come better than this.
66 comments23 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2007
One of the most beautiful, and fun, love stories of all time.

This film will never age and is a garanteed uplifter for any woman feeling low.

Watched alone with a glass of wine or in the company of others for a chick flick night to remember Ghost is a definate must have for anyone with slushy taste.

It will have you laughing and crying the whole way through
0Comment32 of 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
Another classsic from the brilliant Swayze - how he will be missed! Bought on dvd to replace video because of the availability of subtitles on dvd - but a greatly loved film, great soundtrack and of course not only romance but humour! All the ingredients of a great film. Hugely watchable time and time again.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 November 2011
Now do you believe in ghosts?
Sam Wheat is killed during a botched mugging but his spirit is stuck in spirit world limbo. Watching over his left behind lover, Molly, it becomes clear that there is far more to his killing than it at first seemed. Enlisting the help of kooky psychic Oda Mae Brown, Sam must protect the now in danger Molly whilst simultaneously getting to the bottom of his murder.

Ghost is a multi genre offering, not just purely a romantic weepy that its detractors would have you believe. Romance, fantasy, mystery, thriller, comedy and no little bit of spooky shenanigans all fuse together to form Jerry Zucker's monster box office smash of 1990. Made for $22 million, it has gone on to make a staggering $517 million worldwide, proof positive that the public by and large will buy into a simple story as long as it's put together well with the afore mentioned elements. The central theme of true love reaching from beyond the grave to prove itself eternal is something that most folk find endearing in a non sickly kind of way, with it naturally helped by having a cast list firing on all cylinders.

Tho Jerry Zucker's (Airplane/Top Secret) direction is uneven, it's to be expected when this is after all his first solo feature, he is however well served by his stars. Patrick Swayze wasn't wanted for the part of Sam Wheat, but he fought tooth and nail for the project and nailed the role with gusto and emotionally driven force. Demi Moore as Molly was never lovelier, trimmed short hair to reveal a gorgeous young face, her feeding off of Swayze's energy provides the film with its credible impetus. Whoopi Goldberg as Oda Mae turns in an Oscar winning performance, wonderfully funny, yet also at times sympathetic without over stretching the essence of the piece, while Tony Goldwyn and Vincent Schiavelli also provide two memorable (for the right reasons) performances. The effects work of course looks amazing for its time, none more so when the dark side of death is fully realised via shadows in the films most creepy moments, whilst the editing (Walter Murch) and screenplay (Oscar winning by Bruce Rubin) is from the top draw.

So yes it's safe to say that me, a butch middle aged bloke, is personally a fan of Ghost, there's a little bit of corn in there, especially in one particular dance sequence, but mainly the film is a pure delight. Helped by Maurice Jarre's hauntingly sweet score and boosted by the use of the magnificent Unchained Melody by The Righteous Brothers, Ghost is a film to revel in if you are prepared to let it get deep inside of you. 8/10
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2010
20 years on and, unlike some films, the emotional impact is all there.
irrespective of ones viewpoint on life after death or that old chestnut of good vrs evil the movie is about loss. this can be taken as a euphemism for many "live" losses we experience where we end up as observers in an unpalatable and seemingly endless pit of sadness.
for anyone that has ever smoked, the scene where the "crazy" ghost knocks ciggies all over the floor but cant have one is remenicent of a time when shops were not 24 hours and to have none at 11pm was in fact hell thinking it would be nearly 10 hours before being able to buy more.
sure, the effects are dated, but they were actually cutting edge at the time. thats the problem with portraying the unreal, the technology becomes dated. however stepping beyond that the emotional charge will be just as relevant in another 20 years when the technology of today seems antiquated.
i had actually forgotten how great this film was. when it was first released i had the battle of being the "tough 20 year old" and stifleing my tears. now i am 40 and have gotten over that laughable stage i feel free to express my emotion and wailed along with my partner.
excelent stuff, and testemony to the great abilities of the late mr S and demi moore. and lets not forget what a wonderful portrayal of the medium whoopi goldberg did! how very funny indeed.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2003
Ghost is a film that essentially covers the theme of life after death and is about Sam (Patrick Swayze), his girlfriend Molly (Demi Moore) and their lives after Sam is murdered. Sam's spirit tries to contact Molly and reassure her he is all right but Molly has no belief in the afterlife. As far as she is concerned Sam is dead. When Sam realises who is behind his death his concern for Molly grows and he becomes desperate to get through to her. By chance he comes across Oda Mae, a charlatan medium who is as shocked as Sam is when she realises in fact she can hear him and she does have psychic abilities.
Whoopie Goldberg is the real scene-stealer as the reluctant medium trying to convince a sceptical Molly that Sam is still 'alive'. She manages to inject real humour into the role, which stops the film becoming too morose. Her reaction when she realises she is really psychic and is not just a fake conning bereaved people is hilarious.
This is a real tearjerker of a film, a box of tissues to hand is a must, but it is a film that is well worth watching.
22 comments19 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 January 2013
'Ghost' is a wonderful movie, an excellent romance about true love that lasts eternally. But the film also covers a variety of other emotions as well, it is sad, funny and sometimes violent.

Set in New York, the lead characters Sam and Molly (played by Patrick Swayze and Demi Moor) are very much in love until Sam is mugged and murdered in front of her by a hitman called Willie (played by Rick Allan) and his best friend Carl (Tony Goldwyn).

Even after death, Sam is still persistent to let his wife know that he is still watching over and protecting her. He is able to do this will the help of his old fraud/psychic sidekick Oda Mae Brown (played Whoopi Goldberg who is just as hilarious as ever). Plenty of twists and turns are ensured as well as some difficulties that lie ahead. However, nothing can stop Sam's love from finding it's way.

Now, I'm a male, but i'll hold my hands up when I say that I almost filled up at the ending, which is truly moving. 'Ghost' is a film that deservedly was nominated for five Academy Awards, and hasn't lost any of it's power since.

Highly recommended!

The DVD contains multi-language subtitles for the hard of hearing.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
Amazingly, this movie, almost 20 years old, has not aged. Even the special effects which I expected to look a bit crude and naive are more or less convincing. Walter Murch's editing earned "Ghost" an extra star in the overall rating.

Thanks to the creators of the DVD, the picture and sound have been restored and are as good as ever. I am very pleased that I bought this DVD as a New Year gift for myself.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 September 2010
Ghost is a seminal movie that marked the transition between the eighties and nineties and was a huge hit at the time. I won't go through the plot as many reviewers have done an excellent job of this but would simply say that the film is brilliant on all levels. Anyone who watched it first time round can re-live where they were at that time and to anyone who has not watched it I would say please do - You won't know what you are missing out on until you do. It is very well scripted, the pace is just right and Demi Moore and Patrick Swayze were perfect together. If it is not in your film collection it ought to be!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.