Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How's It Going To End?
I must admit I find it rather odd that Peter Weir's 1998 film (written by New Zealander Andrew Niccol) has been criticised for not being 'funny enough' since, as far as I can deduce, that was one of its 'least' objectives. Indeed, the current Wiki entry for the film describes it (in typical 'mish-mash' fashion) as a `satirical social science-fiction comedy drama' (oh,...
Published 9 months ago by Keith M

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars cool
Warning, not the actual show but a condensed version made into a film with that guy from ace ventura in it
Published 2 days ago by Q. Finlay


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How's It Going To End?, 10 July 2014
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Truman Show [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit I find it rather odd that Peter Weir's 1998 film (written by New Zealander Andrew Niccol) has been criticised for not being 'funny enough' since, as far as I can deduce, that was one of its 'least' objectives. Indeed, the current Wiki entry for the film describes it (in typical 'mish-mash' fashion) as a `satirical social science-fiction comedy drama' (oh, for the need to pigeon-hole!). Instead, I still find the film's tale of Jim Carrey's 'insurance salesman' Truman Burbank, trapped in Ed Harris' 'god-like' Christof's reality TV set, one of the most perceptive takes on a whole host of current (and pertinent) social issues, including (of course) the impact of reality TV (interestingly, Big Brother was not to hit UK TV screens until two years after Weir's film was made), the alienating and entrapping effect of western consumer society, the all-pervading power of corporatism, paranoid schizophrenia, totalitarian regimes, indoctrination and 'the surveillance society' and (ironically) even the potentially manipulative effects of cinema. In effect, The Truman Show is like a (satirical) amalgam of reality TV shows like Big Brother and the 1960s TV show The Prisoner, and has been highly influential on subsequent film and TV drama, notably Charlie Brooker's recent (and frequently brilliant) series of TV dramas, Black Mirror.

For me, therefore, the principal strength of Weir's film lies in its central concept. That said, however, Weir has done a great job in its (potentially tricky) transference to the big screen. The 'groundhog day'-like nature of the idyllic Seahaven setting is brilliantly done, shot through the claustrophobic, 'circular prism' of cinematographer Peter Biziou's camera. Similarly, Weir's idea of giving us glimpses of both Christof's control room for the show, plus (in particular) its effect on the viewing public is one of the film's masterstrokes (reminding me of another great film with similar themes, Sidney Lumet's Network).

Cast-wise, Weir's film is just about flawless. Although Carrey, at times, (for me) slightly overdoes the wackiness in the role, his nervous paranoia as he increasingly realises his predicament is brilliantly convincing, placing this performance up with that in Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind as his top 'serious' turn. Laura Linney is, as ever, equally good as Truman's duplicitous, but saccharine-sweet, 'wife' Meryl (a role this actress probably does better than anyone), whilst Noah Emmerich's turn as Truman's longest-standing 'friend' Marlon is, if anything, even better. Harris is typically reliable as the patriarchal megalomaniac and controller, whilst also impressive is a 'young' Paul Giamatti in an early role as Christof's control room sidekick.

The Truman Show is a film that, for me, has lasting power and resonance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Easy On The Fog...Go To Button Cam Three...Fade Up Music..." - The Truman Show on BLU RAY, 25 Jun. 2009
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truman Show [Blu-ray] [1998] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE "BLU RAY" VERSION OF THE FILM***

Watching Peter Weir's 1998 film in 2009 is a weird and wonderful trip - if not a slightly disconcerting one at times.

First - it's as masterful and brilliant as you remember it - a very clever unfolding story about a man whose life is permanent Candid Camera for the entire planet - living in an artificially created world with literally everyone around him being an actor. Then there's the stunning and believable performances of a perfectly picked cast (Carey, Linney and Harris all shine). And second - with the appalling Big Brother polluting our airwaves night after night - "The Truman Show" is not just relevant eleven years later - it seems to have actually predicted our television future...

But back to the BLU RAY - the first thing you notice is the picture, which is a mixture of beautiful clarity one moment running alongside very steady DVD quality the next. Clarity highlights would include - - Noah Emmerich's sea of freckles as he's interviewed in the opening credits - he plays Marlon who is supposedly Truman's best friend - always turning up with a "Brewsky" whenever there's a problem (they actually cake and paste Noah's face with make up to cover up his freckles in later shots). There are the pearls on Sylvia's wrist in the library when Truman and her finally talk, the "How Does It All End?" button on her cardigan - stunning clarity. There's Truman digging the garden in his horrible orange pants as his wife stops on her bicycle for a little product-placement (played superbly by Laura Linney)...
"Look Truman! Chef's Pal! It's a Grater, Dicer and Peeler all in one!"
"Wow!"

You also notice the actors who went on to be huge stars, Paul Giamatti as Christof's technical sidekick, Peter Krause from Six Feet Under and Dirty Sexy Money as one of the suits in Truman's office and of course the ethereal beauty of Natasha McElhone who has eyes clinically proven to be deeper than the Pacific Ocean.

Harry Shearer is in there too doing a fantastic turn as the appeasing interviewer Mike Michaelson. There's the crass reintroduction of Truman's dead father, which is being choreographed live by manipulative experts in the overhanging control room (quote above). But the trump card is the last minute cast appointment of Ed Harris as the show's all-powerful creator - the aptly named Christof. Harris is simply magnificent (nominated for an Oscar) all serene and quietly spoken one moment - but dictatorial the next when his little money-making baby and power trip start to get challenged by an unexpectedly spunky Truman - a man Christof's personally trained to be scared of certain things so he won't ever leave Seahaven...

The two extras are the same as the Special Edition DVD - so a little disappointing there. But that's minor compared to how good the whole film looks on BLU RAY and especially how amazingly well it still stands up - a modern day masterpiece. And the scenes where Truman stops the bus in defiance and where he battles the storm on his boat trying to break free brought tears to my eyes - fabulous stuff.

"You can't get any away further away before you start coming back..." Truman says to Marlon about Fiji where his longed-for love Sylvia is.

It's slightly disconcerting to find a movie character spouting such wisdom, because in 2009, our entire world feels like one big screwed up reality show that can only end badly...

What a film! And a triumph on Blu Ray - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better...but still not good enough, 5 April 2006
By 
Gary Hilton "ursinebrute" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Truman Show - Sce [DVD] (DVD)
Ok....if you are reading this review for the Special "Collectors" edition of the TRUMAN SHOW then I am going to assume that you are already familiar with the film itself and are more curious about the extras on this DVD.
Well, in one word; 'Disappointing'. The original film was a bare bones DVD release with literally nothing in the way of added features, and this updated version goes some way to addressing this imbalance, but overall it doesn't bring that much to the party and still feels lacking.
Excatly what you get is this;
TV spots & Teaser trailer (hardly worth watching trailers when you own the actual film itself is there?)
Photo Galleries (ho-hum)
A 2 part documnetary about the making of. (sounds promising but actually dull as ditchwater)
and a Visual effects feature (again, not very gripping)
the best feature are the deleted scenes which are actually quite lengthy and are genuinely intriguing but hardly going to stand repeated viewing.
Sadly, there is NO directors or cast commentary which I would have thought would be the main attraction for a "Special Collector's Edition" ?
I have rated this 5 stars because the film itself is so outstanding, but if you are asking "Is it worth updating my old basic copy for this new one?" I would have to say "NO". Don't get me wrong, if you still don't own this wonderful film then this is THE edition to get, but when you consider that you can still pick up the original version for around a fiver then I cannot advise you to spend more than double that for this release, Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting film, where you also have to think...., 18 April 2005
This review is from: The Truman Show [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
The "Truman Show" directed by Peter Weir and written by Andrew Niccol is a film about the life of a man called Truman Burbank. Unbeknown to himself he was adopted by a film company, when he was a baby and since then he has been the star of his own reality TV show which is broadcasted all over the world. The only purpose of his life is to entertain television viewers worldwide. All the people around him are actors, even his so-called parents, his wife and his best friend Marlon, who are acting from a script written by the creator and producer Christof (played by Ed Harris). He lives in Seahaven, a specially constructed film studio which is like a world within the world. Seahaven is situated on an island, which Truman has never left, because he is afraid of water. His life is very ordinary - he is married to a woman called Meryl, he has got a nice small house and an office job - but nevertheless millions of people all over the world watch him every day. Christof is able to manipulate Truman's behaviour as he can easily change the weather, decide which person should talk to Truman and what about - he can decide everything in Truman's life. However, after two decades Truman starts to be suspicious as technical breakdowns become more frequent (a spotlight falls down from the sky when he's on his way to work and his car radio starts to transmit the producer's instructions). In addition to this, Truman has seen his father again, who is supposed to be dead and he starts to think about events in the past, in particular about the time when he met Sylvia - his real love. Through various flashback scenes, we gain an insight into Truman's past, and events which shape his personality and ambitions. The rest of the film consists of his gradual realisation that all is not as it seems. All this leads to a fascinating turning-point and ends through a combination of desperation and joy.
This film certainly has many aspects that one has to think about; on the one hand it shows the enormous power of today's media (just think of all the reality-shows on TV) and on the other hand it shows that a person has to accept the reality he or she lives in. It provokes thoughts in the viewer, about whether our world may not be real, and that there could be an external force controlling all our actions and watching what we do on a reality TV show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the paranoid!, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truman Show [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent film which feels both cosy and sinister at the same time. If you could only see it from Truman's perspective you could be forgiven for thinking he was paranoid. It's a really thought provoking film especially now when surveillance is a way of life. It encourages the distinction between what is real and what isn't. How do we know our reality is actually real? Can we really be sure of that? Also, can a little paranoia actually be a healthy thing? Without giving the plot away, without his paranoid feelings the ending would have been very different.

It also shows the pressure of TV on his relationships, the cost of betrayal and the loss of trust.

Overall an excellent film Each time I watch it I see something new and thought provoking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE JIM CARREY IN THIS MOVIE!, 11 July 2014
This review is from: The Truman Show [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
It's this one of those movies that you can see over and over again without losing not a shred of it's charm.
Fortunately or unfortunately was is the film the precursor of reality shows like "big brother" and other realitys that we have had to suffer later.
Probably also is inspired in it Suzanne Collins for the hunger games.
Either way is a film also critical with this type of shows offering "live lives" and hilarious.
Jim Carrey is great, just like the Super secondary actors.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and thought, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Jim Carrey fan, of course I thought it was entertaining !
Being also interested in psychology, philosophy, perception and illusion, it also tickled the grey matter very pleasantly.
How much of what we see can we sure of ? Why ? How do we know those reasons are all they seem, and so on...
Which is more important - truth or happiness ?
All done in a very cheerful and amusing way, and I found the end very moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "We can't let him die in front of a live audience!", "...He was born in front of a live audience.", 14 Nov. 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truman Show [DVD] (DVD)
Have you ever had one of those philosophical daydreams where you wonder if your entire life is actually just a dream that you've had whilst in a coma, or what would happen if you looked down and realised you'd forgotten to your trousers on and not realised until just now (less philosophical I grant you), or if your entire life was being watched by millions on TV and you never new about it.

Well, that last one is brilliantly portrayed in The Truman Show.

There are some fantastic comedy moments, my favourite has to be when his wife is engaging in some obvious product placement and Truman is starting to find it a bit strange, helping to trigger his suspicions that things aren't quite what they seem.

His life is a daily repetition of the same routine, with everything synchronised to happen as scheduled. But when a studio light seemingly falls from the sky, a protester refers to him by name, and people seem to be keeping something from you, you can't help but feel that there's something of a conspiracy afoot.

Given the obsession with cheap and trashy reality TV over the last decade, it's hard to believe that this film wasn't made in the last year or so, but it actually predates the reality TV mania by a few years. When this film was made, reality TV was only just beginning to crawl blinking out of the darkness - ready to kill off genuine creative television and make pseudo-celebrities out of the shallow fame seekers. But as "Christof" (Ed Harris) the creator of The Truman Show (in the film, not the film itself!) says, there is nothing fake about Truman, although he lives in a fake world where everyone he knows are actors simply playing a part - Truman himself is absolutely genuine.

It's the honest nice-ness of the man which makes the audience want him to find genuine happiness, and get to the bottom of what is happening. The film shows clips of people at home watching Truman, it makes reference to key points in his life - all shared with the world. Truman is loved by the world like a family member; he has grown up with them, always there in the corner of the room at the flick of a switch.

The film is as compelling to watch as the Truman Show is to the audience in the film, it has great re-watch value too as you notice things you maybe never noticed before, and things which seemed innocuous initially become understood with the retrospective knowledge gained from seeing the film previously.

This "Special Collector's Edition" doesn't seem that special though, there is a "Making of" documentary, a feature on the visual effects, and extended scenes - stuff you come to expect on a standard release. A collector's addition, particularly a "special" one should have at least a commentary to listen to, and maybe a feature on how likely such a show is now that the world seems addicted to reality TV.

The film is fantastic and Jim Carey impresses as a character which breaks away from his usual manic role, the humour is contrasted well by the sad truth that a decent man has lived a lie all his life in order that the masses are entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Classic!!!!, 11 Jun. 2007
By 
nmollo (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truman Show - Sce [DVD] (DVD)
'The Truman Show' is a very entertaining and superbly made Motion Picture. This film has an energy all its own and momentum that never lets up.

It has many moments of absolute brilliance and pure comedy.

Peter Weir, a very talented Director, never lets his film slip into sentimentality, as possibly an American Director like Spielberg would have and in doing so keeps this picture well grounded in genuine emotion.

Jim Carrey's performance is probably his finest so far. His performance is so engaging, convincing and very moving.

Of course certain liberties are taken with continuity and logic to further the story, so what, it works! The final scene with the security guards is probably the best ending to any modern Motion Picture I can remember.

A last word about the wonderful use of music in this film. The use of Chopin's Piano Concerto No.1 by Arthur Rubinstein is a masterstroke! The use of the "Powaqqatsi" Soundtrack by Philip Glass to relay Truman's confusion also works brilliantly.

This film is a modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is it!, 12 Jan. 2014
By 
Elen Kirkaune "Elen" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truman Show [DVD] (DVD)
An old classic that still has it. You either get it or you don't. If you have never seen this movie, switch off the Big Brother on the TV and watch this movie and it will become all clearer to you. We're all on stage.
Elen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Truman Show [Blu-ray] [1998] [Region Free]
The Truman Show [Blu-ray] [1998] [Region Free] by Peter Weir (Blu-ray - 2009)
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews