Customer Reviews


192 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant Blu-Ray craftsmanship.
Perhaps one of the top ten Blu-Rays ever made. This is a reference Blu-Ray, the transfer is incredible. INCREDIBLE.

They didn't go over the top with ridiculous grain smoothing; the colour balance is masterwork; cleanliness is flawless; smooth as silk; detail spectacular ... WOW.

Could not be any better. Sounds is epic, get out your most expensive...
Published on 25 Sep 2010 by John Paul May

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grease - the DVD !
My boys came home from school one day and said -" Mum, have you heard of 'Grease' ? - they'd been to an after school dance class and were doing some moves from the movie. I had the soundtrack but not the movie so it was great to be able to go on line and find it (so cheap!) and it practically arrived the next day. They haven't stopped watching it since to copy the moves...
Published on 7 Mar 2010 by the dutchwoman


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant Blu-Ray craftsmanship., 25 Sep 2010
By 
John Paul May - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grease [Rockin' Edition] [Blu-Ray] [1978] (Blu-ray)
Perhaps one of the top ten Blu-Rays ever made. This is a reference Blu-Ray, the transfer is incredible. INCREDIBLE.

They didn't go over the top with ridiculous grain smoothing; the colour balance is masterwork; cleanliness is flawless; smooth as silk; detail spectacular ... WOW.

Could not be any better. Sounds is epic, get out your most expensive speakers.

Regarding the movie itself _Grease_ - of course, it's one of the great masterpieces of Western civilisation, what can you say?

One of the best movies ever made has very fortunately received a ten-star BluRay mastering ... utterly wonderful. We're so lucky. So good you'll want to buy a better plasma! Enjoy!

Grease was created by the two geniuses Warren Casey and Jim Jacobs. Casey sadly passed away back in 1988; RIP. This ultimate-quality Blu-Ray disk is worthy of this film ... easily the greatest modern musical film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant movie but the extras are disappointing, 28 Sep 2002
By 
Jon (Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grease [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Grease was the first movie that I saw when I was a kid that caused me to go back and see it again and again. Then the re-release came out in 1998 and I saw it for old's time sake. I ended up seeing it three more times while it was still cinemas because it brought back the same feelings plus new ones from having watched the film from an adult perspective. On the one hand, it's easy for me to watch it so many times because it's a musical and when you find the tunes catchy you can't resist it. But it's not just that. Much to my surprise, I remembered every line of dialogue. What makes this movie a classic is that it is still great even if you cut out the songs. How many musicals can you say that about? The dialogue and one liners are so colorful and energetic and the movie works as a 50s comedy. It's funnier than I remembered and it is without a doubt the raunchiest PG movie ever made. The occassional adult theme and questionable dialogue crammed full of sexual innuendos are both unneccesary because the story line is enough to capture the viewer's attention. The 'PG' certificate sounds about right, but still, Grease is unsuitable for the younger viewer and that's a shame really. All in all, a film that should be re-released every twenty years so a new generation of movie lovers can watch it, not just because it was one of the last great musicals but also because it truly captures the essence of what it was like to grow up in the 50s.
This "new" DVD version is truly remarkable. The picture is sharper (which - thankfully - gives much needed improvement to the opening "cartoon" segment), and the soundtrack has been digitally remastered giving it a much clearer sound. I have seen the digitally remastered VHS version of "Grease", but it's pale in comparison to the DVD. In fact, I found myself re-playing the songs just to hear how good they really are (most notably the improved quality of "Sandy", "Hopelessly Devoted To You" and "You're The One That I Want").
The only negative remark worth mentioning about the DVD version of "Grease" has to be the rather disappointing extras. To be honest, I was looking for more than just the original theatre trailer and a somewhat dated 18 minute interview section (which was originally produced for the 20th Anniversary VHS edition). Hopefully there will be a "Grease: Special Edition DVD" released soon that will rectify these lacklustre 'extras'. Still, "Grease" is an excellent purchase - especially if you want to listen to the songs in glorious CD quality.
Jon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Conventionality belongs to yesterday", 11 Feb 2003
By 
Jennifer Litchfield (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grease [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Grease is everything a musical film should be. It is a visual and aural feast that has captured the imaginations of audiences for over 25 years. Everything is larger than life and the action occurs amidst a riot of 1950s colour. Who cares if the cast is largely composed of 30-somethings playing teenagers? The key to Grease's success is not realism, but the enormous amount of infectious energy exuded by the cast.
This zest for life is particularly apparent in the lively and eminently sing-able chorus song-and-dance numbers. The tunes of retro party favourites such as 'Greased Lightning' and 'You're The One That I Want' will probably be familiar to many viewers, but lesser known songs, including the short and sarcastic 'Look At Me I'm Sandra Dee' and 'Beauty School Drop-Out' (with Frankie Avalon in the role of guardian angel) are also fun toe-tappers.
Musicals work best when, like Grease, they concentrate on the music rather than the plot; however, the story here is completely adequate. Sandy and Danny had a summer fling at the beach, but at school Danny has an image to uphold - which Sandy doesn't really fit - so their senior year at Rydell High is spent in a daze of "will-they-won't-they" teenage angst.
John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John set the screen alight as Danny and Sandy; there are some fabulous character roles in the "Pink Ladies" and "T-Birds" school cliques, and some very funny cameos - particularly the pairing of Principal McGee and Blanche the office lady. There are sexual innuendoes aplenty if you look hard enough, and despite the fact that the movie is set half a century ago, the viewer is led to conclude that teenagers have been, and will always be, teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET THE GEL OUT, 24 Sep 2007
This review is from: Grease [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
I can't believe you haven't seen Grease!! A classic you can watch time after time and enjoy it every time. A fresh faced duo of John Travolta and Olivia Newton John will have your feet tapping throughout.

In a violent, bloodthirsty world this is escapism for all. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They say our love is just a growing thing.., 29 Dec 2006
This review is from: Grease [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
My favourite film..

why?

1. Pure cheese - songs to remember, sing along to, the typical boy meets girl, drama, happy ending storyline

2. Costume - so much nostalgia within this film!

3. Actors and characters to idolize

4. Deals with little teenage mishaps such as boy problems, pregnancy etc

5. Its aim isnt to be a groundbreaking, convention-breaking, film but just a happy representation (yes, representation - an interpretation as opposed to a mirror) of high school and 1950s society.

6. I mainly love this film because I have never grown tired of it, some films are amazing because they completely surprise or shock you but this has the quality of being watched over and over.

7. Haha the jokes and loveable characters - always wanted to be like Rizz!

I could think of much more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grease, simply the best musical in the world, 12 Sep 2007
By 
C. Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grease [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
I recently purchased grease in the summer because i always wanted to have my own copy on DVD. When it arrived i watched it straight away. i love all the songs but my favourite is the song "We go together" i love this song and i'm always singing it. The whole story of grease is totally amazing and i love Danny Zuko because he is soooo funny and i love Marty from the pink ladies. my favourite scene is the dancing competition because i love all the dance moves. i would watch it everyday if i could but i'm back at college so i can't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enduring classic, 18 July 2007
This review is from: Grease [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
The film that turned John Travolta from a superstar into a megastar... Grease is also the first album I ever bought and the first film I saw at the cinema, so this film is about more than music and dancing, it's nostalgia. Strangely, nostalgia was one of the overriding factors in its success - it was a fond look back at the 50's from the 70's, deliberately using older actors so that older viewers would be able to relate. And this is the strange thing - the film actually has some quite 'adult' content and themes, yet was considered a family film. As a child I didn't quite get all the references but even I sussed there was something fishy going on with that hotdog bun and something a little 'adult' about going to 'flog your log'. John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John are the perfect foils for each other and the rest of the gang are not 'filler' they are all distinctive and handled with affection. The songs are legendary and will likely outlast all of us. John Travolta and the Bee Gees could do no wrong back then - and unless you were there it's hard to imagine just how huge they were and just how vicious the backlash against them was. Grease tackles age-old themes: virginity, peer pressure, teenage pregnancy, image, the school dance and the trials and tribulations of High School. Everyone can relate to it in some way, and even if you couldn't, it would still likely get your foot-tapping. You really should have this in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "If you can't be an athlete, be an athletic supporter", 9 Dec 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Grease [DVD] (DVD)
Many conversions from stage to film lose spontaneity, also one has to pick what songs to add and subtract. Of course because of the public sense of decency many things have to be cryptic. With all of these restrictions this film is able to rival the play.

You will notice that there is a smooth transition from story to dialog to song and back to story. The sound track from the movie is worth buying.

Summer vacation from high school is ending. Danny (John Travolta) and Sandy (Olivia Newton-John) standing on the beach must say goodbye. This is the beginning.

The play is basically of two people Danny and Sandy adjusting to each other while maintaining their respective places in high school society. We see a text book school environment which no one had but parts of the story touch on everyone's life.

Will Danny give up his gang and become a jock just to impress Sandy?

Or will Sandy say goodbye to Sandra Dee to impress Danny?

And who gets the hickey for Kinicke?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 3 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Grease [Rockin' Edition] [Blu-Ray] [1978] (Blu-ray)
This was bought as a present for my girlfriend and she loved it, the outstanding quality even made it bearable for me.

If you are thinking of getting Grease and have a blu-ray player, buy this! The quality of this transfer is amazing, it really looks like it was filmed yesterday. I watched the theatrical trailer that is included as an extra but not cleaned up to HD quality after the film and I could not believe the difference.

This is Blu-ray at its very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Soundtrack and adaptation of hit play, 10 May 2007
This review is from: Grease [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Grease is the story of Danny Zucko and Sandy Olsen (or Dumbruski) two high school seniors who fall in love over the summer. They have a wonderful summer together and are sad to see it end. The first day of school arrives and little does Danny know him and Sandy would soon be reunited. But Sandy is shocked to find the nice guy she meet at the beach is the leader of a greaser gang called 'The T'birds' Meanwhile Sandy is trying to fit in with her new "friends" the T'birds female counterparts The Pink Ladies. Will Sandy and Danny ever be together again? Along with this plot comes song that will be stuck in your head for centuries. Such songs include Summer Nights, Beauty School Dropout and the now famous song Greased Lightining. Grease is a timeless classic that will have you singing and dancing by the end of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7b2133c)

This product

Grease [Rockin' Edition] [Blu-Ray] [1978]
Grease [Rockin' Edition] [Blu-Ray] [1978] by John Travolta (Blu-ray - 2009)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews