Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing bargain!
In a nutshell: I absolutely love it!

The box itself: It feels very sturdy and well put together. The transparent plastic around it might be a little annoying when you have to remove it every time you take a disk out or put one back in, but it protects the box itself from scratches and dirt. Each DVD comes in a plastic slim DVD case.

The films: The...
Published on 3 May 2009 by StudentTeacher

versus
56 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent collection, with one or two niggles.
First of all, the technical niggles out of the way. I had problems with the Star Trek VI menus on my PS3, and my Captain's Summit disc was missing, so I've got to return it to Amazon. I've already bought another one from somewhere else because I couldn't wait. The same menu problem with Star Trek VI, so that must be a manufacturing problem. Okay, that aside, now on to the...
Published on 29 April 2009 by Mr Ghostface


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing bargain!, 3 May 2009
In a nutshell: I absolutely love it!

The box itself: It feels very sturdy and well put together. The transparent plastic around it might be a little annoying when you have to remove it every time you take a disk out or put one back in, but it protects the box itself from scratches and dirt. Each DVD comes in a plastic slim DVD case.

The films: The film quality is astounding! In comparison to the previously released 'Special Edition' dual DVDs, picture quality has been dramatically improved! It's much clearer and sharper and the colours do not 'bleed'. Also, picture noise has been almost eliminated, so that smoke and close up exterior shots of starships' hulls are perfectly clear and sharp. Plus, compression artefacts are nowhere to be seen. The sound has also been improved, although I still think that 'The Wrath of Kahn' sounds like they used inferiour audio equipment when they recorded the actors' lines... but that's only a personal opinion.

All in all I highly recommend this boxset if you don't own the previous Special Editions or if you want a serious upgrade in picture quality. Then again, you might think of getting them on bluray if you happen to have a player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boldly Enjoy!, 25 Aug 2009
As a fan already of the original Star Trek series, and spin-offs, this is an excellent boxset. All the films are every bit as enjoyable as they were the first time around. The additional dvd, The Captains Summit, was a fabulous way to round off this sci-fi journey, offering more insight, most enjoyable! Highly recommended for those who are already a fan. Additionally, this boxset adds as a huge compliment to the new Star Trek XI, for all those new fans that have come on board. Boldly enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely done...., 2 May 2009
From a not so sad (I hope) 40 year old, lookin' for a bit of escapism and a memory of childhood, I purchased the recently released Star Trek original series remastered, and this set of films to go along with it.

The set is realy nicely done and presented. But the best bit is the comparison with previous editions in the remastery and the clean up job they have done. everything looks and sounds realy fresh.

The price tags aren't etortion, and the discs aren't overloaded with extras. For someone who has never got into any of the follow up Trek series, but has an undying soft spot for the original, I recommend this set.

The five stars is for the whole lot, the three series and the movies as a whole package. And finally, to Paramount...... Cheers. I'm glad I resisted the urges to purchase previous editions, this release was worth hanging on for.

The series and films are of course as cheesy as the always were. But thats part of the appeal......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent collection, with one or two niggles., 29 April 2009
By 
Mr Ghostface (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Original Motion Picture Collection 1-6 [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
First of all, the technical niggles out of the way. I had problems with the Star Trek VI menus on my PS3, and my Captain's Summit disc was missing, so I've got to return it to Amazon. I've already bought another one from somewhere else because I couldn't wait. The same menu problem with Star Trek VI, so that must be a manufacturing problem. Okay, that aside, now on to the films and their extras...

Well, with slightly varying standards, they all look pretty good. I watched Star Trek VI first, and thought it looked pretty good. It's probably the poorest transfer of the six, but it still looks okay. I can't really tell if the slight over-vibrancy in some scenes is just the way the film looked - the CGI used here was pretty early, remember - or whether it's been slightly overdone in the remastering into HD. I read someone somewhere complaining that this movie was not HD, but that's nonsense. It's definitely a HD master, albeit not the best one(!).

Next I watched The Motion Picture. It looks good, but as with very many movies, the HD mastering highlights inferior visual effects and the flaws built in during the original production. Bear in mind that this master is from the original theatrical print, and not the already SD-remastered Directors Cut. At the same time, the grain and flaws in some scenes are simply from the original print, and not because of the HD remastering. Nevertheless, this doesn't excuse the inferior transfer process used by Paramount, because many other films have been cleaned up and had such photographic flaws removed. The best thing about this movie for me was the commentary, by five long-time Star Trek writers. I really enjoyed listening to them, and scene-specific group commentaries are often the most accessible and informative. It's a pity that Robert Wise and Nick Meyer's commentary from the Director's Cut couldn't be used here, as it wouldn't fit. The rest of the movies still have their director's commentary.

Star Trek II is probably the best Blu-ray of the bunch. It's nice. Very nice. It's been cleaned up far more than the others, probably because it's the most loved of the lot. I've always found Kirstie Alley quite captivating as Saavik. This movie works in every way that The Motion Picture fails, and if that means losing some cinematic scope in the process, so be it. While the remastering doesn't look overly detailed, it certainly does look clean. The only drawback is that it highlights the inferiority of the HD remastering on the other five films.

Star Trek III isn't one of my favourites of the series; I think the set design is dreadful and the lighting bland and positively amateur at times. Look at the cell block scenes, for example, and tell me they couldn't have done it a hundred times better. These things only look worse in HD. Nevertheless, the transfer is decent. It hasn't got the deluxe treatment The Wrath of Khan has, but it's good.

Star Trek IV is obviously the most widely-accessible of the whole series, and it's still a lot of fun. I enjoyed watching this, but it's quite light on the sci-fi and FX, so in a way benefits less from the spectacle factor of HD.

Star Trek V... hmm. Well, it's got some of my favourite character moments of all the original crew movies, and yet it's perhaps the weakest of all. It just tries to tackle a subject that is never really going to be addressed satisfactorily... okay, so in Star Trek there is no God, that's cool. But the attempt to tell this story is undermined by Shatner's lack of vision, awful production design, the poorest visual FX of the entire series and some very poor writing. The clumsy, heavy-handed humour tries to ride on the populist appeal of The Voyage Home and fails miserably. Still, like the other movies, the transfer is nice enough, but it highlights FX flaws further, and they were dreadful to begin with.

Finally, the Captain's Summit. I already saw this with a friend at the weekend (which is just as well, as mine was missing!) and we enjoyed it a lot. It's obviously shot in HD, and it's a nice, (mostly) relaxed chat between friends and colleagues. Whoopi is the apparent host, although she really just chats along with the others. Bill Shatner and Leonard Nimoy talk with Patrick Stewart and Jonathan Frakes for about 70 minutes about Trek in general and their reflections on its effect in their lives. There are definitely a couple of awkward moments, and the usual egos occasionally influence proceedings, but mostly it's pleasant and very enjoyable. Shatner and Nimoy are both 78 now and won't be around forever, so any opportunity to get them reminiscing is very welcome, and Trek gatherings on this level are far too rare.

One other thing that disappointed me was the packaging. The outer case is fine, but if there's one thing I hate with packaging in the last five years it's the tendency to use the ultra-thin snap cases instead of gatefolds or book-flips. When we're paying £70-80 for a box set, I think we're entitled to better. Overall, it's a nice set, with nice new commentaries in addition to those done for the Special Edition DVDs, but there are some areas definitely lacking.

Phew. That's quite enough Star Trek for me for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original Motion Picture Collection 1-6 [Blu-ray], 27 Sep 2010
By 
M. Lepik - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Trek: Original Motion Picture Collection 1-6 [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
I did a side by side comparison on the remastered blu-ray version and the original dvd version (what was not remastered or anything)and the difference is HUGE the colours are super rich, shadow detail is much much more clear, and the overall clarity is many times better. many scenes are super excellent. Yes, the hd transfer quality varies a lot but its not that big of a deal, to me really. Its a huge huge step up from the old dvd versions... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best By Far, 24 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just watched the first in the series. The last time I watched this was on an old VHS recorder recorded from the television. I was amazed at the quality of the DVD and eagerly look forward to the other films in the box set. I was not a great fan of the original series, I thought it a little too camp, I prefered ST: Voyager.

I recommend this to anyone, buy it - steal it - receive it for Christmas. Most of all, enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 10 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
DVD's arrived quickly and well packaged. The box set is nicely presented and the movies are the same great movies but with better and updates effects and looks great.

If you like classic star trek and want all the classic movies in one nice box, then this is what to get :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not What I Expected, 27 Aug 2009
This review is from: Star Trek: Original Motion Picture Collection 1-6 [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
What I find not only unacceptable but also inexplicable is the production of this box set which could have been and indeed should have been absolutely brilliant.
What are they playing at ? They have released every one of the first six individually , they even have a bizarre trilogy box set of films 2,3 & 4 (what happened to number 1 ? ) , they have released the next gen films in a separate box set (7-10) and now we have this box set of the first 6 films but casting to one side the superior remastered director's cut editions and transferring straight to blu-ray the grubby old theatrical releases !!!

The audio is great and sounds great as it should be.

The video quality leaves somewhat more to be desired. The Wrath Of Khan has been excessively cleaned up - something Paramount are notorious for - scrub it with bleach and then splash red blue and green all over it - it does look good on a small TV but watch it on a full HD screen or bigger and watch the faces closely - the excessive dnr clean up makes it look like you are watching Captain Kirk in the House of Wax !!! all faces turn into a lurid amber waxwork skin colour and everybody loses their wrinkles - looks like Botox Heaven
.
The other films in the series fare even worse , the dnr is less in evidence but the overall picture does not look good or even a slight improvement on the director's cut 2 disc dvd editions and the meticulous attention to detail that heralded the arrival of the High-def original series releases has been totally forgotten when remastering this film set.

This box set is pretty bad and certainly not worth paying the money for.
With the number of separate releases Paramount is churning out in relation to this film series / cash cow , i would wait until Christmas 2009 or even 2010 and see what they come up with in terms of transferring the entire collection 1-10 or even 1-11 from director's cuts remastered to blu-ray.

If they can do such a great job with the original tv series ( revamped cgi , remastered picture & sound ) on 80 full length episodes , I fail to see why they can't use the same techniques or at least dedication and produce the same results on 10 films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome set, 12 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Original Motion Picture Collection 1-6 [Blu-ray] [2009] (Blu-ray)
Amazing bluray quality and some extra features never seen before on screen. As a star trek fan I'm completely satisfied with this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To boldly view, 27 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The original and the best.
Kirk, Spock and all the crew puning their way accross the universe. Film quality perfect and the bonus DVD has Picard and Riker to boot too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa27648b8)

This product

Star Trek: Original Motion Picture Collection 1-6 [Blu-ray] [2009]
£29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews