Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars29
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.89
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 March 2014
This aptly titled compilation of Shed Sevens' greatest hits is the one to buy if you only intend to have one of their albums in your collection.

Although Oasis and Blur (both bands of which I love) dominated the Britpop music scene, Shed 7 were always very popular back in the day. As the informative CD booklet states: the band scored more top 30 singles in 1996 than anybody else.

All of the band's hit singles from 1994-1998 are collected, including the famous title track which was played to death at the Olympics, and other radio friendly tunes like 'Getting Better', 'On Standby' and the beautiful 'Chasing Rainbows'. Two tracks that you possibly might not recognise are the funky 'Disco Down' (although it was released as a single off the back of this album and peaked at no.13 in 1999) and 'High Hopes', both were new songs especially for this collection. Also, the band re-recorded their debut hit 'Dolphin' and early album track 'Ocean Pie', and these new versions are included here.

With virtually every song a classic, 'Going For Gold' is a timeless reminder of one of the best, if somewhat now under-rated indie rock bands of the nineties.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2000
i was really suprised when i heard the album! I never heard of them before but i never realised how good they are and what amazing variations there are on the disc. Very Good despite MARK and Dolphin99
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2007
In fact nice one to all below. It is so good to read proper reviews about one of the best bands the UK has ever produced. You've got it in one about this is what you should have been listening to when the press were going ape over wonderwall (they should have given the Bluetones a listen too). This album covers so many good songs from the staple tracks like bully boy and disco down to true indie classics like on standby. Noel Gallagher slagged them off recently on the box so of course loads of people followed suit. It's brilliant that they have re-formed, I missed their last farewell gig so hopefully I'll catch them this time around. One of the best voices in the business backed by equally good musicians, I'm over the moon a proper Indie band are back to show these poxy heard one you've heard 'em all bands how it's done.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2000
Why do people see shed 7 as a poor mans Oasis? They make their own music and great it is too. I bought this album before seeing them live at leeds t+c club which remains the best gig i ever saw which was suprising to myself. There is not an average track on this album and there are some stunners too."Disco down","standby", "she left me..","where have u been tonight", "its gettin better", r all fantastic songs smoothed out by the melodic chasing Rainbows and high hopes. It backs these up with the Smiths-like "Mark" and great rythms such as bully boy, ocean pie and dolphin 69. Shed 7 were as good as oasis but shouldn't have been compared to them because that wasn't their aim.They made Progress never sold out and never deceeded like some bands id l like to mention. ONE OF MY BEST ALBUMS!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 February 2016
Whilst the compilation takes the name of their most famous and successful single "Going for gold", this is an album full of singles that any indie rock music fan in the late 90s will most likely remember fondly and will be unable to resist singing along to. This greatest hits compilation was originally released in 1999 with two new tracks (at the time) "Disco Down" and "High Hopes" and it follows four studio albums (1994-2001), two of which were top ten albums.

The single, "Going for gold" reached number 8 in the charts and most people will have heard it at some point; its title also means it is often used on tv and radio. However, there are six other top 20 singles on this CD that you may remember too: "The Hereos", "Chasing Rainbows", "Getting Better", "Disco Down", "On Standby" and "She left me on Friday". All of these tracks are great and I love them. However, my favourite is actually "Devil in Your Shoes" which only got to 37 (followed closely by "The Heroes").

A really good album, showcasing some of the best of britpop (outside the more mainstream success of Blur, Oasis and Pulp), and one of my favourite bands from that era along with the Ash, Bluetones, the Longpigs, The Seahorses and Travis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 1999
It was only recently that I saw Shed seven live, and after that I had to get their best of album Going for Gold. There are some fantastic songs in this album with the most notable being "Disco Down" and "Where have you been Tonight". Now that I have got the album, I can't stop playing it, they are truly the most underestimated band in Britain.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
This music takes me back. Listened to it and couldn't believe how many song I knew. Not one of the biggest bands of the 90's compared to blur or oasis but with catchy songs and great guitar rifts, one of the best. Reliving my youth all over again.....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2003
This is one of the true great Indie albums of all time. Every song is a classic. Although it was released a bit to early in their career, it does have 95% of their best work ever on it.
This album is a must for anybody wanting true Indie guitar rifts with excellent tunes
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 April 2004
For those of us who liked Britpop and saw beyond Blur V Oasis to thedelights of Pulp, Cast, Sleeper, Elastica and all sorts of other bandsmade up of one word, this album is going to bring flashbacks from leftright and centre.
From rock beasts like Getting Better and Dolphin to ballads like Ocean Pieand Chasing Rainbows, this is one of those Greatest Hits albums thatgenuinely deserves the title. Its one of those albums packed withsingalong tracks that make you say "Oh Yeah! I remember that one!" or "Didthey do this one too? I love this track!" and so on...
To get an idea of what everyone else was listening to in 1995 when BBCNews were obsessed with Wonderwall, buy this...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2003
Shed 7 have recently anounced that they will split after one last tour in December, having struggled to have their voices heard since the supposed demise of Britpop at the end of the nineties. Never a critic's darling, their press coverage got increasingly negative (and sparse) over the years. This is a shame as they have more to offer then they are given credit for.
First album "Change Giver" was perhaps a more interesting debut then similar albums made by the sometimes more acomplished likes of Cast, the Bluetones and Sleeper with tracks like "Long Time Dead" and "On An Island With You". "Speakeasy" has (rightfuly) become something of a classic since its use in phone adverts. "Dolphin" and "Mark" are less ebjoyable, but balad "Ocean Pie" stands out as one of the best ballads of the era, dealing with a (hopefully outsiders view point) of heroin adiction.
"A Maximum High" stands up less well (despite having some of their biggest hits e.g. "Going For Gold") because of a desire to fit in to the whole "Noelrock" "scene", sounding very much like an album that could only have been made 95/96 (not that that does not have its charms!). None of the songs from that album are anything less then enjoyable but only "Where Have You Been Tonight" and the fast paced ballad "On Standby" truly stand out.
In 1998 the Sheds released their best album "Let It Ride", a more mature album, with as much experimentation as one could realisticly hope for with a band like the Sheds. Shame then that they released the albums only duff track, "She Left Me On Friday", a very poor attempt at the previous years hits "Song 2" and "Richard III". Nonetheless, it was one of the biggest hits. The other tracks from that album, including their acknoledged classic "Chasing Rainbows", are probably the best tracks here.
The new tracks "Disco Down" and "High Hopes" are OK, but get rather lost among the crowd here (the later never even being released). Since this collection, driving force Paul Banks left, a new guitarist joined, and the band soldiered on with "If The Truth Be Told" an OK album with some standout tracks ("If the music don't move ya" "Cry For Help") that failed to click with the 21st century public, the band have gone on many, many tours, and recentle announced their decision to split up after the next tour (at least until the inevitable "Britpop here and Now Tour" from around 2012).
So there you have it. Ten Years. This singles collection, along with some more daring album tracks, shows the Sheds to be a band much better then their awful name. Certainly much better then the constant NME derrision would suggest (why slag these off and praise the works of the terminally dull Coldplay). They're a bit MOR, but whats wrong with that? Oh, and catch them on this final tour if you can (great live band!)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)