Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Hi
I really like this DVD because my favourite match is the WWF Championship because at the end the rock gives Stephanie McMahon a rock bottom and people's elbow.
Published 7 months ago by Ronald Hickman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WrestleMania 2000 (Tagging)
As others have said, this wrestlemania does not have one single match, closest you get it is the "Cat Fight" which doesnt last for that long.

This DVD is to the best of my knowledge not edited, so you can see WWF and hear WWF being said, plus I think all the theme songs are correct.

WWF Wrestlemania 2000 took place on Sunday April 2nd, 2000 at the...
Published 19 months ago by The Man


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WrestleMania 2000 (Tagging), 1 Jan 2013
This review is from: Wrestlemania 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
As others have said, this wrestlemania does not have one single match, closest you get it is the "Cat Fight" which doesnt last for that long.

This DVD is to the best of my knowledge not edited, so you can see WWF and hear WWF being said, plus I think all the theme songs are correct.

WWF Wrestlemania 2000 took place on Sunday April 2nd, 2000 at the Arrowhead Pond in Anaheim, California in front of 19,776 fans. This was the 16th Annual WWF Wrestlemania event.

We kick off with Lillian Garcia, with her rendition of "The Star Spangled Banner"

Opening Contest- The Big Boss Man and Bull Buchanan vs The Godfather and D'Lo Brown (with Ice-T and The Godfather's ho's)just over 9 mins long. This match was your pretty basic, standard tag match with the Heels isolating D-Lo and the Godfather here and there, the climax was close but then they ended up picking the winner.

2) Crash Holly (c) vs Hardcore Holly vs Tazz vs Viscera vs Joey Abs vs Rodney vs Pete Gas vs Taka Michinoku vs Funaki vs Headbanger Thrasher vs Headbanger Mosh vs Farooq vs Bradshaw in a 15 Minute Hardcore Invitational for the WWF Hardcore Championship

This was innovative and implemented the 24/7 Hardcore rule which was alright. This match was just senseless fun. Title changing hands many times in the match and a close finish.

3) T & A (Test and Albert) (with Trish Stratus) vs Head Cheese (Al Snow and Steve Blackman) (with Chester McCheeserton)

Trish Stratus's first ever PPV in the WWF let alone an event like Wrestlemania. Al Snow and Steve Blackman come out and Al Snow introduces Chester McCheeserton, a guy dress up as cheese. Half way through the match Jim Ross`s headset has some difficulties and Jerry "the king" Lawler does his best to improvise. The match as some good to ok moments but it doesnt flow, its abit stop start.

4) Dudley Boyz (c) vs Hardy Boyz vs Edge and Christian in a Triangle Ladder Match for the World Tag Team Championship

Best match of the night. High flying and high risk moves everywhere. All thress tag teams just kept pushing it to the limit and was a bright spot on this Wrestlemania.

5) Terri Runnels (with The Fabulous Moolah) vs The Kat (with Mae Young) in a Catfight with special guest referee Val Venis

2:25 mins long, "king" describes this match, as not for the purist wrestling fan. He's right there.

6) Too Cool (Grand Master Sexay and Scotty 2 Hotty) and Chyna vs The Radicalz (Eddie Guerrero, Perry Saturn and Dean Malenko) in a Six-person Intergender tag team match

This match was a lot of fun here, nothing over the top but an enjoyable tag match at 9:38

7) Kurt Angle (c) (c) vs Chris Benoit vs Chris Jericho in a Two-fall Triple Threat match for the WWF Intercontinental (first fall) and European Championship's (second fall)

Why the IC title was decided first here, I have no idea. Either way this match here was pretty good for sure, given who was involved that was a no-brainer. This match had some nice spots, but delivered nothing much else.

8) Rikishi and Kane (with Paul Bearer) vs D-Generation X (X-Pac and Road Dogg) (with Tori)

A short tag team match, some ok stuff, Pete Rose gets his third consecutive Kane beatdown here as well.

9 Main Event- Triple H (c) (with Stephanie McMahon) vs The Rock (with Vince McMahon) vs Mick Foley (with Linda McMahon) vs The Big Show (with Shane McMahon) in a Fatal Four-Way Elimination match for the World Wrestling Federation Championship

From the opening section it was clear who was going out first, after that the three that were left were having a good match, however, after another wrestler was eliminated the one on one it did tend to drag on they have shown us in the past they could do much more and much better then they did here when going one on one.

This Mania would of came off a lot better with the likes of Steve Austin, The Undertaker and a more balanced card. The finish was fine, not every Mania can have a fan friendly ending. Best match, the ladder match.

Disc 1 extras are 2 video packages of triangle ladder match and two fall triple threat match, Backstage at Wrestlemania, Road to Wrestlemania, Wrestlemania highlight video and Wrestlemania Extra

Disc 2 is a special history of wrestlemanias, from number 1 - 15. This included interviews from people who made the event over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hi, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrestlemania 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
I really like this DVD because my favourite match is the WWF Championship because at the end the rock gives Stephanie McMahon a rock bottom and people's elbow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old School, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrestlemania 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
A classic Wrestlemania, with some truly awesome matches. Was worth the money and had fun with a group of friends re-living our youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wrestlemania 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
i absolutely loved this DVD would 100% recommend. I remember watching this live as a child and when i watched this DVD i enjoyed watching it just as much as i did then. Delivered on time too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No Single matches, 3 July 2012
This review is from: Wrestlemania 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
As my review title says. There are no single matches on the card. So before you even watch the event, there is soemthing wrong.

Godfather/D'Lo Brown vs. Big Bossman/Bull Buchanan- This wasn't terrible but at the same time it's Godfather/Brown vs. Boss Man/Buchanan. It's not a terrible match but is this really what you want to open Mania?
Rating: D+

Hardcore Title: Battle Royal- What were you expecting here? It was wild and stupid, and that's just fine. The match was fun and that's all that really matters.
Rating: C

Test/Albert vs. Al Snow/Steve Blackman- This was one of the least interesting matches I've ever seen . Just a terrible match all around and everyone knew it.
Rating: F

Tag Titles: Edge/Christian vs. Hardy Boys vs. Dudley Boys- This was a great match but there are a lot of dead spots in there. this would be topped later that year and would be blown out of the water at X7. Great match though and worth watching
Rating: B+

Terri vs. The Kat- It was awful. enoguh said
Rating: N/A

Chyna/Too Cool vs. The Radicalz- It's nothing special to say the slightest and is yet again another pointless match on this show in a long streak of them.
Rating: D

Intercontinental Title/European Title: Kurt Angle vs. Chris Jericho vs. Chris Benoit- This was great stuff indeed with all three guys working incredibly hard the entire time. Excellent match and probably their best matches up to this point.
Rating: A-

Kane/Rikishi vs. X-Pac/Road Dogg- Well for what it was supposed to be this was fine. Keeping it short was a great thing as this barely broke four minutes.
Rating: D+

WWF World Title: Rock vs. HHH vs. Mick Foley vs. Big Show- Well let's see. First of all, WAY too much focus on the McMahons. Second, this should have been Rock vs. HHH. That's all there is to it. Also, a fatal fourway elimination match in the main event of Wrestlemania? What were they thinking
Rating: D+

Overview: This was bad. The show itself is watcable, but It's Wrestlemania. This isn't some WCW show where watchable is a good night. WWF was incredible in 2000 and this is probably the weakest show of the year.

I have no idea what the thought process was here but it certainly didn't work at all. There are two good matches here and more importantly, not one singles match. What were they thinking here? That's a very good question that I don't think has ever gotten an answer. Terrible show overall and it just didn't work, especially for Mania.
Rating: D+

I say it's worth getting for your collection. But if your a casual, and not too bothered about getting all ppv events or soemthing. Just check out the 2 good matches on youtube, or buy it cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Wrestlemania, 16 Nov 2010
By 
Fiona P. Dodd (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wrestlemania 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this Wrestlemania. The best bits were the main event of Big Show V Triple H V Mick Foley V The Rock in a fatal fourway elimination match for the WWE Championship. It was a "slobberknocker" with DQ rules on so Foley symbolic weapon came into play.

The Triangle ladder match pitting The Hardyz V The Dudleyz V Edge and Christian was amazing. Lots of tables and ladder spots. Nothing less than breath taking.

Every other match including the triple threat, 6-man(and Chyna) tag and 15 minute hardcore battle royal were also great. Opening tag match, DX V Kane/Rikishi and the Cat fight were also well done.

Only let down was Al Snow/Blackman V T and A. Wasnt a bad match but it got outshone by the opener as similar styles were competing. This is the only reason why I didnt give it 5 stars.

Extras are top notch 10/10.

Overall 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A McMahon In Every Corner, 16 May 2010
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wrestlemania 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
WrestleMania 16 (or WM 2000 if you prefer) is a curious beast. The only singles match on the card shouldn't even dare be counted as a "wrestling" match seeing as it pits non-workers The Kat and Terri against each other. The other eight matches are all either tag team matches or multiple person "singles" matches. Thankfully whilst the undercard is largely forgettable, the three main matches all hit the spot to a large degree.

The Intercontinental and European title Triple Threat overcomes some baffling rules (the senior IC belt is up for grabs in the opening fall, the unimportant European Title in the second) but pits three excellent workers against each other in the form of Chris Benoit, Chris Jericho and double champion Kurt Angle. Even now, so soon into his professional career, you can see Angle's excellence and Jericho and Benoit had fought each other enough times over their careers to not mess up on the grandest stage of them all. The Triangle Ladder match for the world Tag Team Titles is arguably the apex of the Dudley's/Hardy's/Edge & Christian era (although to their credit they have another triple threat blinder at that year's SummerSlam) and although matches like this are ten a penny in today's WWE (and, especially, TNA), this still retains a freshness a decade later. The Fatal Four Way main event could perhaps do without The Big Show's lumbering presence, but in the defence of the company he is eliminated fairly quickly and the "McMahon in every corner" stipulation may be overkill but it does guarantee heat. Whether or not you are pleased that Mick Foley's appearance comes six weeks after his career was supposedly ended by Triple H at ? ? ? ? is down to personal opinion.

The rest of the card is a real rag-bag. The 13 man battle royale for the Hardcore Title is daft but you'd have to be pretty churlish to not at least glean some entertainment value from it. And similarly, you might wonder why stellar workers Eddie Guerrero and Dean Malenko are saddled with opponents that include Chyna, but again there is a certain entertainment value in their clash. Which is more than can really be said for the trio of tag team encounters that round off the card. Whilst Kane & Rikishi have a reasonable battle with X-Pac & Road Dog, you'd have to pay me a lot of money to watch T&A's clash with Steve Blackman & Al Snow a second time and I doubt there's enough money in the world that would make me watch The Godfather & D'Lo Brown against the Big Boss Man & Bull Buchanan ever again.

Overall, WrestleMania 16 is a decent effort that is powered by its top three matches. And as they are all very good encounters, there's plenty to recommend about this show. Yet there's also a lot where you might be glad to keep your finger close to the skip/fast forward button. Therefore whilst I would still recommend this show, that recommendation would certainly come with the caveat that it's not all brilliant.

(All that said, the second disc - which features a highlight rundown of the first 15 WrestleMania's is worth the purchase alone. It's a riot and makes even the worst WrestleMania shows seem interesting!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One of the most disapointing Wrestlemania's in recent memory!, 7 Jan 2010
This review is from: Wrestlemania 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
WWE in 2000 was one of the hottest years in the history of the company. Stellar ppvs such as royal rumble, no way out, backlash, fully loaded, summerslam and judgment day led people to believe this ppv will be up their with the best. Sadly this was not the case. For all of WWEs great bookings in that year, they dropped the ball on this event. While it wasnt trash, for a WM you would expect so much more. Even so, 3 fantastic matches saved this show greatly.

Fatal Four-Way Elimination Match for the WWE Championship
Triple H vs. Mick Foley vs. Big Show vs. The Rock- This was it, THE main event. This was hyped like no other, and most of us believed this would be fantastic. It was months worth of build, with the Rock getting screwed both at the Rumble and No Way Out by Show and Shane, while Foley returned after being retired by the Game at No Way Out for one last match. The main focus of the build was that there was a McMahon in every corner: Shane for Big Show, Vince for the Rock, Stephanie for HHH and Linda for Foley. The stage was set and this match was given a hell of alot of time, as its the second longest match in WM history, clocking in at 36minutes,and after second viewing, it is much better than i remembered and dare i say underrated, and even for such a long match didnt have any significant slowdown. The action was great, it flowed well, the crowd were into anything the Rock did and the McMahons added to the unpredictability. The story was good(even though it was stupid that Foley returned not too long after losing a retirement match) but the match more than made up for the dodgy booking. The section with Big Show was very good, but once he got eliminated, the match went hot and cold from their. Some moments were botched( Foley not connecting with his elbow drop on the announcers table) and the fans wernt really into it as i said apart from portions the Rock dominated. However it was a great match, and the Rock/Triple H battle was great. And the ending was SHOCKING to say the least. Vince turned on the Rock, and Triple H became the FIRST heel to EVERY retain the title at a WM main event. I love the moment after the match when to Rock attacked Shane, Vince and HHH, and hit Stephanie with the Rock bottom and the People's Elbow!When you watch it in a nutshell its a great match, but when you go into it with expectations and getting into the hype, you'll end up being disapointed as I first was-8.5/10

X-Pac & Road Dogg vs. Rikishi & Kane- Once again, solid yet unspectacular. The memorable moment was Pete Rose AGAIN appearing at WM, and once again getting chokeslammed by Kane. But in addition, he recieved a WM style stink face! These 4 men are good at drawing the crowd into their matches, yet they didnt tonight, and for that they can be disapointed-6/10

Mixed Tag Team Match
Eddie Guerrero, Perry Saturn & Dean Malenko vs. Chyna & Too Cool- One of the more positive matches of the event. They delieved a fun match, but what seems to be the story of the event, it was unspectacular. The work of Chyna and Eddie particularly impressed me, as Chyna held her own among 5 other talented athletes. Good match, with a rather shocking winner, or maybe thats just me lol-7/10

Two Fall Triple Threat Match for the Intercontinental & European Championship
Kurt Angle vs. Chris Jericho vs. Chris Benoit- WOW this was good, the reviews were positive, but i didnt expect a match this good! Wonderful triple threat, whats even more impressive is the fact that this could of been MUCH better as it looked like they were holding back. Great one on one wrestling from each 3 men, hitting all they signature moves and pulling me in. What hurts this match were the rather unspectacular falls which prevented this match from reaching a higher rating. Needless to say, they achieved their goal, putting on a true wrestling match that almost stole the show. It is memorable as Kurt Angle, the wrestler of the decade in my opinion, lost BOTH his titles in the match, WITHOUT GETTING PINNED! great booking-9/10

Cat Fight
Terri (w/ Fabulous Moolah) vs. The Kat (w/ Mae Young)- How many wrestlemanias will i review that has atleast 1 trashtastic match. Poor and boring in everyway, even the eye candy couldnt help this one-2/10

Triangle Ladder Match for the World Tag Team Championship
Dudley Boyz vs. Edge & Christian vs. Hardy Boyz- This, ladies and gentlemen, is one of the greatest WM matches you will ever see in the past decade! You talk about raising the bar, Shawn and Ramon might have invented the Ladder match, but these guys took it to a COMPLETELY different level, one that was the basework for spectacular ladder matches you see now. These teams had put on some amazing matches over the months:Hardys vs E&C at no mercy and no way out were fantastic and the tables match between the Dudleys and the Hardys at the rumble was truly epic. But somehow, someway, these guys topped themselves again(they would go on to top themselves AGAIN finally at summerslam), this match was a spotfest galore. But unlike the Mania match the next year, this felt organic, it felt real, they actually wanted to win, not just try and out do previous spots. I loved this match, very close to a 5stars, with some of the most unforgettable spots you will ever see, none more spectacular than Jeff hitting the swanton bomb on Bubba on the outside on one hell of a HUGE ladder. One of my favourite spots ever! Theres just too many to name literally, i was in awe, i was saying OMG every 10seconds! Just watch this, and compare it to TLCII and you'll see why i say this match is better in everyway, and is in my opinion one of the top 3 ladder matches in the companies history. I applaud these guys for their spectacular and unforgettable effort to steal the show at WM2000, which i believe they did-9.5/10

Al Snow & Steve Blackman vs. Test & Albert- Not the dud that everyone says it is. Yes it had no real structure or heat, but there was some good moments and tag team moves, making this a solid if unspectacular tag team match. The stupidness after the match is what really hurts this, it was trash!-6/10

Hardcore Battle Royal for the Hardcore Championship, featuring
Crash Holly, Tazz, Viscera, Pete Gas, Rodney, Joey Abs, Hardcore Holly, Taka Michinoku, Funaki, Mosh, Thrasher, Faarooq & Bradshaw- I was looking forward to seeing this. Yes it had a mixed reaction, some said it was good, some said it was boring, but i thought i would be leaning to the good side. It started off good, but it only degraded from then on into a rather tedious and boring encounter which did have its fun spots, but couldnt hold my atention for long. Another disapointing match-6/10

Godfather & D-Lo Brown vs. Big Boss Man & Bull Buchanan- Not the best choice as an opener, nonetheless it wasnt really bad, it was acceptable match which shockingly kept me interested. These guys can be proud they didnt really stink the house down like i expected, but they didnt really do nothing spectacular either-6/10

This would of been a great event if it was called anything other than WM. WM has a different standard from other events, as fans we expect it to be an event that annually seperates it from others. They achieved that this year, but not the way they wanted. Instead of being an epic event, it was a dispointing event that seperated it from the many fantastic events that same year. However there was one standout, the triple threat ladder match, which will go down as one of the great Mania matches of all time, with the single most epic moment of the whole event. The DVD was GREAT with an excellent second disc for the time with 10minute highlights for all the previous 15 WMs. Get this if, like me, you collect WMs regardless of how good, but if your looking for a great event from the year not even the decade, theres PLENTY MORE better out their.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Very Weak Wrestlemania, 3 Aug 2012
This review is from: Wrestlemania 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
Another reviewer mentioned that there's no single matches on the Wrestlemania 2000 card. That is correct - you could easily call this one a very 'Tag Team' Wrestlemania event.

Anyhow, Lilian Garcia opens the show with a rendition of 'America The Beautiful'. I've seen quite a few of her performances of this song... and it is very good here. However, I have said this in other reviews, too - nothing will ever topple her performance of the same song at the 9/11 Smackdown Tribute Show back in 2001, simply beautiful!

The event begins with the team of The Godfather and D'Lo Brown taking on The Big Boss Man and Bull Buchannon. This is a slow, dull match and the wrong team, in my view, wins.

Tazz, Viscera, The Mean Street Posse, Hardcore and Crash Holly, Kaientai, Mosh, Thrasher, Farooq and Bradshaw compete in an old fashioned Hardcore Match next. There's a 15 minute time limit on this one, so whoever has claim to the belt at the end of the bout wins the title. This match is chaos, a real match of old, but still a little slow. There's plenty of weapons, bodies everywhere and fighting backstage - you don't see this anymore in WWE today, I know that much! I have to say that Tazz was robbed here.

The team of Steve Blackman and Al Snow face Test and Albert. Overall, not a bad match, but it is short. Both teams work really well but the wrong team wins.

The first ever Triangle Ladder Match takes place next. The teams of Edge and Christian, The Hardy Boyz and The Dudley Boyz face off. All 6 men make their Wrestlemania debuts here. Overall, this is a very good match and, arguably, one of the best of the night! All teams make use of the ladders very effectively here - some nice high-flying moves (Jeff Hardy, anybody??). A very good match, one of the best on the night, no doubt! Check out Round 2 at X-7; now 'there' is a match!

Terri faces off against The Kat next. It's the Women's Division, total filler! 'Nuff said, just watch this!

The team of Eddie Guerrero, Perry Saturn and Dean Malenko face Too Cool and Chyna next in a very entertaining match all round - the right team wins here!

Kurt Angle, Chris Benoit and Chris Jericho face off in a Two Fall Triple Threat match. It's a Wrestlemania debut for all 3 men here, so historical footage is guaranteed here, if you're a Chris Benoit fan like me, that is! All 3 men fight quite equally here. Nice first fall win for Benoit. Jericho claims the second rather expertly and, I have to say, I felt sorry for Angle here. Sure, it's 'scripted' and all the rest of it, but he loses both the European and Intercontinental titles here without even being pinned!! Poor guy.

The team of X-Pac and Road Dogg face Rikishi and Kane. This is a fairly good match. Both X-Pac and the Road Dogg work well, but they are no match for the big men in the end.

The Main Event this year features The Rock, Big Show, Mick Foley, Triple H and 'A McMahon in Every Corner' in a Fatal Four Way match for the WWF Championship. The whole 'McMahon in Every Corner' gimmick was hyped up the whole night through but the question ultimately was, Could it deliver? In my view, the answer is that No, it couldn't. It was a setup, the whole gimmick! Just watch this match. Also, just to state this, The Rock never exactly got his Wrestlemania Moment, did he? For me, that sums up the whole night.

In the end, it is very easy and very true to call this, Wrestlemania 2000, a 'Tag Team' Wrestlemania. Beat-near every second match is a Tag Team bout and the matches that are not 'technically' Tag Team matches feel that way, too! This idea did not work and, in my book, resulted in a very weak Mania event - one of the weakest I've consulted, in fact. Honestly, I really and truly would not be in a hurry to view this again. I just bought it for the Collection, which is going quite strong now.

Lastly, I would say that if, like me, you are a collector of Wrestlemania events, you should buy this. However, don't feel in a rush to do so because, believe me, there are better Wrestlemania events than this one out there.

Just my two cents.

Thanks for reading this review. I hope it helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars underatted, 25 Sep 2012
This review is from: Wrestlemania 2000 [DVD] (DVD)
great wrestle mania but no singal matches all the matches were very entertaining and fun to watch and good ending to the main event 9 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wrestlemania 2000 [DVD]
21.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews