Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy a Meade ETX then you need to buy this book.
I am eternally grateful to Mike Weasner for writing this book. The manual supplied with the ETX telescope was OK - as far as it goes - but this book has opened my eyes. The author has not been overly indulgent with astrophysics jargon, and there is a plethora of practical guidance to enable even the most inexperienced of amateur astronomers to get the most out of their...
Published on 10 Mar 2002 by Karen (kls@alxstitch.co.uk)

versus
19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a book to make justice to the ETX�s
If like me you are a beginner on astronomy, and you are looking for a book
that will be more informative than the feeble reference manual that isprovided with your ETX.
Then there is more and better information available free on MikeWeasner's terrific website (referenced on almost every page of thebook).
Also Meade's web site "F.A.Q", will provide you with...
Published on 24 April 2004 by rogsid


Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you buy a Meade ETX then you need to buy this book., 10 Mar 2002
I am eternally grateful to Mike Weasner for writing this book. The manual supplied with the ETX telescope was OK - as far as it goes - but this book has opened my eyes. The author has not been overly indulgent with astrophysics jargon, and there is a plethora of practical guidance to enable even the most inexperienced of amateur astronomers to get the most out of their 'Mighty ETX'. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential accessory for any ETX owner!, 18 April 2002
By A Customer
I bought this book before I even got my etx125 a few moths ago, having seen it featured on "weasners mighty etx" website and i've read it cover to cover three times.
Not only does it provide invaluable information on caring for and servicing your telescope, it gives you an impartial and realistic expectation of what can actually be seen with these little beauties.
As anyone who takes up astronomy as a hobby will know - telescope manufacturers often exaggerate the abilities of their product and infer that you are actually buying the Hubble space telescope by printing highly resolved images of nebulae and galaxies on the box and in the manual - this book will give you a good overview of objects to be seen and how you will see them.
The book also serves as a beginners guide to astronomy and, whilst it primarily covers the ETX90, is relevant not only to the other scopes in the ETX range but to small telescopes in general giving tips to novices and old hands alike. For complete beginners it explains, in laymans terms, astronomical jargon and sheds light on some crucial equations and factors that anyone into this thing needs to know, showing how to calculate magnification and which eyepiece is best for any given application etc.
In short, I would recommend this book to anyone interested in astronomy and would go as far as to say that it is a crucial purchase for anyone who owns, or is considering investing in a Meade etx telescope - and, believe me, they are an investment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent "Mighty ETX" drivers manual...., 6 Feb 2004
By 
Big Ben "fly_mo" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
.
.....that helps compensate for the pretty grotty manuals that Meade provide - like the ones with our ETX 105. If you have one, you'll know that these manuals are cobbled together assemblages of the right information, but not in the right order. Magnificent Meade optics, amateurish manuals.
Mike Weaver's book is a distillation of data from his "Mighty ETX" website edited neatly together in a straightforward format.
If you have a Meade ETX, or are just thinking about which 'scope you might buy, this is a very useful book - much of its advice applies pretty generally to 'scopes of this size by other makers, although some of the instructions are of course specific.
Endorsed by Patrick Moore, too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars using the meade etx, 9 Jan 2003
By 
well santa just bought me shiny new etx meade 90ec and i thought getting started was easy....well i have to say i wish i had this book before i started! this makes everything easier and hence more enjoyable,just a shame meade dont package this with the telescope as its an essential purchase! The book concentrates mainly on the etx 90ec but would be handy for all meade's small telescope range. Pages are in black and white but written for the beginner and are clear and concise. Handy to take with you (i used to use the web for hints and tips) but thats no good upon a hilltop in winter!This guy knows his stuff and soon you will too ! i would recommend you read this book cover to cover to reap the most rewards, which is easy as its so enjoyable to read. Buy it if you a)are thinking of buying a meade/small scope or b)you have one. get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a book to make justice to the ETX�s, 24 April 2004
If like me you are a beginner on astronomy, and you are looking for a book
that will be more informative than the feeble reference manual that isprovided with your ETX.
Then there is more and better information available free on MikeWeasner's terrific website (referenced on almost every page of thebook).
Also Meade's web site "F.A.Q", will provide you with all the settingsrequired in order to setup the ETX's
Another book I recommend, that was written for the Meade ETX is "The ETXGuide"
For more experienced users of telescopes, "Using the Meade ETX..." isinappropriate the technical information, is sparse there are badillustrations, no hints in fact it contains nothing but ridiculouslysimple explanations.
If you want to know anything about accessories, programming the AutoStar,what the inside of the ETX looks like, CCD imaging, or similar topics,then you won't find it in the book. If you want a good astronomy book,consider "The Backyard Astronomer's Guide" or "NightWatch".
I have had my ETX125 for only 3weeks and I have found more useful info onthe above sites and with the "The ETX Guide" than this book.
In summary, there is no need to buy this book, save your money, try thealternatives I suggest.
Let me Know your opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No ETX should be without it, 27 Oct 2013
By 
JHvW "JHvW" (Pays Bas, Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have bought on of Meade's excellent ETX telescope's you should also buy this book. For two reasons: Mike Weasner is an accomplished user and you will probably get the most out of your investment this way, but also because his enthousiasm is contagious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book BUT pricey, 2 July 2013
By 
Mr. Paul Connor "truemanu" (cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a great help in learning how to correctly use the Meade telescopes, it's comprehensive and easy to understand , there's no gobbledygook just good plain English help. My only gripe is the cost, a bit too pricey for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointed, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Contains much that is just general astronomy infomation available in almost any astronomy book you pick up. I told me nothing new!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No astronomers jargon, 23 July 2011
By 
R. Smith "grebe123" (Harrogate) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The thing I like about this book is that it is in plain english so that new stargasers , like me, can easily understand what he is talking about.
Well presented and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews