Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars20
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.79

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2003
This record sparkles and shimmers with brilliance, love to love you baby will never be topped, at sixteen minutes it seems too short, i would be happy if it went on forever, it just gets better and better as it unfolds, surely her best ever and one of the absolute pinnacles of popular music.
The other tracks understandably live a bit under its mammoth shadow, but are gems in their own right, Pandora's box is probably the best but to be honest its all just so great you should do it the favour of just floating around in it from beginning to end, that is if you can stop yourself reaching for the repeat button as track one draws to a close
66 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2007
I thought this couldn't work as an album since it has only 6 tracks. But the highlight title track lasting 17 minutes is very uplifting and it gets your feet dancing for all that long. I'll have to tell you that the other tracks are also very good. Many reviewers disagree on that. Anyway, Need-A-Man Blues is uplifting and danceable as well using Donna's erotic vocals and the other 3 tracks are slows. Pandora's Box is a little close to R&B, Full Of Emptiness's music is a little close to Ike Turner's music and Whispering Waves is a ballad to take you away. The Full Of Emptiness Reprise doesn't have an important role but it's another 2 queen of disco minutes. It's her 1st US and 2nd european release and it's worth it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
To say it has been a long time coming that Universal Music upgrade Donna Summer's early catalog is an understatement It has been in most cases (except for Bad Girls given an upgrade in 2003 with a Deluxe Edition) 20 years or more. And of course it takes Universal Music Japan to do so.Despite the exceedingly high prices for these Japanese titles, her first CD Love to Love You Baby sounds refreshed and I was struck by the improvement. The difference is especially heard on the tracks that follow the 16 minute version of Love to Love You...Improved sonics such as bass and I even heard some instrumentation I hadn't heard on the older CD. The CD also comes with a fold out white insert complete with English lyrics and Japanese lyrics. On this insert it clearly says "24 bit remastering." I think there had been some question whether this CD and the other 7 titles reissued (I Remember Yesterday, Love Trilogy, Four Seasons of Love, Once Upon A Time, Live & More, Bad Girls and On the Radio Vols. 1 & 2) were remastered. Well based on this title, to me is sounds like the answer is yes. I look forward to hearing the others when they arrive. Happy listening to all you Donna Summer fans. Donna R.I.P. your music lives on sounding better than ever.
33 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2007
i first heard 'love to love' in the seventies, when i was a kid.
it was absolutely fantastically awesome and mindblowing! not like the stuff so many artists are putting out now.

it really rocked my world and i have been a donna summer fan ever since. i grew out of the 'love' phase but i really hold her and her music dear. i can whole-heartedly recommend donna summer to anyone who hasn't yet heard her hypnotic and mesmerizing sound.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2012
For me, Donna Summer's early work was classic. She (with Moroder) took disco somewhere new, gave it a new modern, electronic, almost robotic yet passionate edge, leading directly to the birth of electronic dance and trance and other great music of the last 20 years. Love to Love You Baby is a classic and this 15 minute version is the best of them all. I could listen to it a million times and then hit start once again. It is absolutely stuck on repeat, if you get my drift. RIP Donna.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
THIS SONG ROM THE LOVELY BELATED MISS SUMMER WAS AND STILL IS A FANTASTIC SONG WHICH IM SURE WILL STAND THE TEST OF TIME,ITS A SHAME DONNA IS NO LONGER WITH US
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
Top quality early disco, this highlights Summer's superb vocal range (and the audacity to have the title track take up one side is wonderful!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Seventies disco classic, what more can I say. Play on a good stereo & enjoy. The other tracks are ok but it's all about the title track.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2016
Aah Donna. Nobody quite like you. You caught my imagination with your music - not bad going as I'm a son of Progressive 70's music!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
My husband's purchase. He has the old vinyl, played almost to the worn out stage, so had to buy the cd. He loves it, says its great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)