Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid and varied album
This album is overall a very worthy sounding piece of neo-classical synth. However it is missing something somewhere between track 9 (an original from 1982) and track 13 (an extra track). Dont perceive me wrongly, as those extra tracks are extremely macabre and mannequin like, which is why I like Ultravox. Especially 'Break your back', a beat-box ballad reminding me of...
Published on 13 Feb. 2003 by rdebourgh

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit album but missed opportunity
....for Ultravox to recapture the mood of their first two Ure-led albums, providing three chart singles, and an US fanbase with the Reap the Wild Wind track. But George Martin's enthusiasm in the production suite bleached their typical haunting synth-orchestral arrangements, none of which was necessary given the success of Vienna. The vienna-esque structure of the albums...
Published on 10 Nov. 2000 by Mr Mozchopz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid and varied album, 13 Feb. 2003
This review is from: Quartet (Audio CD)
This album is overall a very worthy sounding piece of neo-classical synth. However it is missing something somewhere between track 9 (an original from 1982) and track 13 (an extra track). Dont perceive me wrongly, as those extra tracks are extremely macabre and mannequin like, which is why I like Ultravox. Especially 'Break your back', a beat-box ballad reminding me of 'Hiroshima mon amour'. 'Serenade' is a wonderful sounding song, which really made me think of classical music in its use of ostinati and moving, progressive bass line etc. This album is a very artistic 'art-house' offering, not as atmospheric as the monumentally dark 'Rage in Eden', but it sounds more accessible than Lament and especially 'The Island Years'. I couldnt give it 5 stars because it doesnt grip me enough to listen to it all the way through and not having to look at the seconds left of the a song! 'Rage In Eden' on the other hand just takes me along in the journey, with some tracks sounding as if they've come from 'The Shining' or 'The Hunger'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mine For Life!, 25 Sept. 2008
By 
P. Gibson "Ageless New Romantic" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quartet (Audio CD)
I remember this album being released and being rated only 1* material by Robin Smith in the Record Mirror - it is sadly lacking in objectivity to allow a heavy metal enthusiast to review an album overflowing with electrosynth melody and classical overtones. From the moment that you first flip this disc, you are onto a winner. Reap The Wild Wind was the show opener on the 'Monument' tour and is a fitting start to this album. Despite being only an album track, 'Serenade' is certainly my favourite song on this LP - accomplished and catchy - play it to your kids and they will demand piano lessons. The guitar riffs in Mine For Life transport you back to the pre-Ure era and Hymn is a song to sing along to. Visions in Blue is technically the best work that Ultravox ever produced and includes (in classical music terms) an interrupted cadence - it has stood the test of time every bit as well as Vienna and is worthy of equal recognition. 'Cut and Run' is another incredibly infectious and catchy tune, while 'The Song (We Go)' includes the memorable drumming sequence that the boys performed on stage at the end of 'The Voice'. This is truly an unforgettable album and if you are new to Ultravox, it is a great start because it is much more of a complete entity than anything that came before and after. All the LPs up to and including 'Lament' have moments of brilliance but there is nothing to match this for a suite of great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quartet lacking a string, 26 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Quartet (Audio CD)
This album has its moments, "Reap The Wild Wind" especially, but on a lot of this they sound a bit bland compared to "Vienna" and "Rage In Eden". Why couldn't they spend as much time and effort on the rest of this album as they did with the singles on it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quartet Review, 9 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet [2009 Digital Remaster + Bonus Tracks] (MP3 Download)
I can honestly say I forgot how good this album was. The digital remastering as well as the additional tracks make this album download really good value. This album is classic Ultravox; at their best and so of the era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit album but missed opportunity, 10 Nov. 2000
By 
This review is from: Quartet (Audio CD)
....for Ultravox to recapture the mood of their first two Ure-led albums, providing three chart singles, and an US fanbase with the Reap the Wild Wind track. But George Martin's enthusiasm in the production suite bleached their typical haunting synth-orchestral arrangements, none of which was necessary given the success of Vienna. The vienna-esque structure of the albums best moment, Visions in Blue, is the last real gasp of Ultravox being imaginative and visionary before relaxing on their laurels, and consigning themselves to bland releases happily ever-after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ultravox, 27 April 2009
By 
M. Sadiq (Cheshire , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quartet (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album,on par to vienna. If you like 80`s style new romantic electronic music this is a must have album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ultravox quartet, 6 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Quartet (Audio CD)
what more can be said about this album, i consider it to be one of the definative albums released by ultravox, the extra tracks originally featured on release b-sides and can also be found on recent 'rare' ultravox releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quartet, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet (Audio CD)
another Ultravox CD I bought for my son. He is a big fan so enjoyed it a great deal. Quality and delivery excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Can I Say?, 9 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quartet (Audio CD)
If you're reading this review for actual buying advice, then you know nothing about the 80's, or one of the most underrated bands of the era, otherwise you'd have clicked 'buy' already. Go on, what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews