Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Workers Of Red, 9 Aug. 2005
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I've always been a huge China Crisis fan and have been with them since their seminal single, Christian, was released back in 1982.
As their career progressed they distanced themselves away from their early synth/new romantic routes and progressed into Steely Dan sound a likes, which is no bad thing in my book. In fact, as the years have passed I tended to play the later SD influenced albums such as Flaunt The Perfection and What Price Paradise. It was only fairly recently that I decided to play some of the early material, expecting it to sound fairly dated and flat. However, the material sounded fresh and vibrant and I discovered the beauty of Working With Fire & Steel all over again. This really is an excellent album and includes Wishful Thinking, the one track most casual listeners will have heard. Highlight for me though is another single, the title track, Working With Fire & Steel, which has one of the best bass lines known to man! Excellent stuff!
The other tracks on the album are testament to the musicianship of the band, there's plenty of flute and flugel horn, not instruments you'd usually associate with a pop band. There are plenty of up-tempo sing along numbers such as Hanna Hanna and Tragedy & Mystery (both single releases) and there are some quite lovely downtempo tracks such as When The Piper Calls and the gorgeous The Soul Awakening.
Some of the lyrics date the album, particularly the references to the Falklands War, but that only makes the album more special. It's of it's time and it's stood the test of time.
Fashion play your part!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful unique sound., 22 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Working With Fire And Steel (MP3 Download)
This was the first album I ever owned and I remember playing it a lot at the time, but never realised how truly excellent it was until I listened to it again recently.

Its roots are pretty much eighty's synth pop but with a nice woodwind sound in there. Specifically the soothing oboe that appears throughout the album (Here come a raincloud, wishful thinking, soul awakening). This really makes for a unique sound that you just don't get elsewhere.

Listening to it takes me right back to rural summers in Oxfordshire, the smell of cut corn and those days as a kid that seemed to go on forever.

If you've heard all the usual overplayed eighty's, give it a go this band were very underrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better releases from the Scouse Chinamen, 29 Nov. 2001
China Crisis' second outing (in 1983) is a notably more mature and polished affair in contrast to their promising 1982 debut. Most 80's peeps such as myself will know and love the key track Wishful Thinking, a UK Top 10 hit. However, there's much more than to this album with its varied textures and fabulous pop doodlings, the standout tracks being the breakneck Animals In Jungles and the epic pop of When The Piper Calls, which amazingly was not released as a single.
The album also opens perfectly with the quirky pop of the title track, although the final four songs do tend to plod on a bit after the power-pop of the earlier tracks has got you in the mood for more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's pop from an underrated band., 6 July 2001
China Crisis first made the charts with 'Christian' from their debut album.This the follo-up includes the hit 'Wishful Thinking' and 'Tragedy & Mystery' which should have been. Perfectly crafted pop songs feature throughout from the sublime 'When the Piper calls' to the emotion of 'Here come a raincloud'. No duff tracks to talk of and a great introduction to a band sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly grows!, 22 April 2012
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is at first, what appears to be a disappointing album, certainly grows on subsequent hearings - particularly after such a great single in 'Wishful Thinking' which I adored and was a big hit for the boys back in 1984. I had purchased the album on the strength of that single alone -thinking that other songs may be of a similar style, but they're not and all quite different and take a little getting used to. I found this album sounded far better on the second listen - hence the high rating after my initial response.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars china crisis, 28 Oct. 2011
I bought this cd for my partner Bill who's been raving about it for some time, so I thought I'd see what all the fuss was about. What a fab album, it was the first cd I burned to my new laptop, so I'm playing it a lot. If you're a china crisis fan, you should already have it, if not, buy it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Working with Fire and Steel - China Crisis, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic synthesizer pop from the 1980's.
A great album to relax to with some great songs.
For me one of the best is Wishful Thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Before the 'CRISIS', 27 April 2010
By 
Tragedy and Mystery before they started working with fire and steel and after that it was only wishful thinking until Hanna Hanna came along!
Scousers giving their all on this one...but the 'oboe' keeps you in the mellow mood
Did you know know that it was Eddie Lundon that sang 'Wishful Thinking' and not main singer Gary Daly..still a smashing C.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Working With Fire And Steel
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews