Customer Reviews


182 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent package
I won't bother reviewing the film itself, as I'm sure most of you reading this are already fans, so I'll just stick to describing this new 3-disc release.

As many of you probably know, the film was considered too long for a commercial release by the typically clueless studio execs of the time, and was summarily hacked-down by about 15 minutes. In a depressing...
Published on 7 Oct 2006 by pattic

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Washed out additional footage that could be better.
This rating is for the 3 disc BD package, the film itself is always an easy 5 stars!

This BluRay looks great for the most part but, the additional scenes, like the opener at the church and the "Gently Johnny" segment are washed out and flat. They might well have be painstakingly restored and de-speckled, as one of the bonus features demonstrates, but what was...
Published 3 months ago by 52ofa1000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poor transfer, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have long been an admirer of this strange film. A film with an even stranger history. I am sure everyone is acquainted with the chequered past. However I have given 5stars for the film not the disc. I am appalled at the quality. It has had no visible work done since the release on DVD of the directors cut. To label it the final cut simply shows a lack of regard for this remarkable film. A lack that simply cashes in on the likes of admires such as myself who wish to see this film in the best condition. I once met Christopher Lee, and he confided that the part of Summerisle was written for him and he was obviously very proud of his performance. What would he think of this final cut?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars http://www.shotdeadinthehead.com/product_view.aspx?pid=4331&utm_source=SD_ED_SD_IP&utm_medium=ED&utm_content=IP&utm_campaign=Sho, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It must be stressed that, despite the fact that it was produced in 1973 and stars Christopher Lee, The Wicker Man is not a Hammer Horror film. There is no blood, very little gore and the titular Wicker Man is not a monster made out of sticks that runs around killing people by weaving them into raffia work. Edward Woodward plays Sergeant Howie, a virginal, Christian policeman sent from the Scottish mainland to investigate the disappearance of a young girl on the remote island of Summerisle.

The intelligent script by Anthony Schaffer, who also wrote the detective mystery Sleuth (a film with which The Wicker Man shares many traits), derives its horror from the increasing isolation, confusion and humiliation experienced by the nave Howie as he encounters the island community's hostility and sexual pagan rituals, manifested most immediately in the enthusiastic advances of local landlord's daughter Willow (Britt Ekland). Howie's intriguing search, made all the more authentic by the film's atmospheric locations and folkish soundtrack, gradually takes us deeper and deeper into the bizarre pagan community living under the guidance of the charming Laird (Lee, minus fangs) as the film builds to a terrifying climax with a twist to rival that of The Sixth Sense or Fight Club. --Paul Philpott
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it...., 29 Nov 2003
By 
Tony Cordingley (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I LOVE IT !.......The best film ever made !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fault Notification, 11 Nov 2013
Fault Notification from Zavvi.com 11/11/2013:
"Thank you for purchasing "The Wicker Man - The Final Cut - Zavvi Exclusive Limited Edition Steelbook" on order number XXX.
As you may already be aware when we first announced this title it was expected to be a 3 disc release containing extra cuts of the movie, unfortunately it has come to our attention that the product only contained a 2 disc version.
We have contacted the studio responsible for the release of The Wicker Man and arrangements have been made to send the missing third disc to you. As soon as we are ready to send these to you we will be back in touch.
Please accept our apologies for this error and any inconvenience or disappointment it may have caused.
Kind regards,
Zavvi Customer Service Team"
Yet another mess up from Studio Canal re classic horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie is brilliant in every way., 28 July 2004
This is a brilliant movie and dosent need the gore to staple it's place into my favourite horror movies list.It picks p quite quickly with howie visiting May Morrison who denies that Rowan is her daughter.Then he sees the naked women doing the fertility ritual jumping through flames on his way to see Lord Summerisle an he thinks the inhabitants of the island are barking mad. When he meets Lord summerisle howie suspects that summerisle isent concerned about the missing girl. I think the film picks up rather well and the ending is brilliant. The second disc is good and so are all the special features on both of the discs. Buy this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Curiosity Value, 30 Dec 2003
By 
N. B. Chatfield "Boxley" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An interesting film - the Directors Cut is interesting as a curiosity, although the additional scenes do stand out from the original theatrical version being of poorer quality and slightly fuzzy. In my opinion, the extra footage doesn't add much to the story or film. This DVD includes the original theatrical release, which is of superior picture quality and sound. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of Wicker man, 31 Jan 2003
By 
Mr Stephen Crayston (Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This film is an example to most of the new breed of horror movies about how they should be done. Sure it isn't scary really at all but it has a great story (and twist that is very clever) and some great acting, especially from Christopher Lee who shows that he can do more than fight Yoda or Gandalf. A good film worthy of a spot in anyone's DVD collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Wooden Film Fails To Ignite, 26 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Wicker Man: Director's Cut [DVD] (DVD)
I remember seeing this film at a special film festival when it first came out with my school. Our teacher had decided to take all of the class to see the film as he was a practising wiccan. An odd fellow, my old teacher, a Mr Cunningham. He was seven foot two, had a white wispy moustache and had the tendency to rest his hands on your shoulders while you were writing. As luck would have it, I had to sit next to him in the theatre. This would have been bearable, but the man had an insistence on wearing home made fragrances. His blend of sea bass and lavender still resonates to this very day.

My memories of the film have since faded, so I shall go off what I remember. The main thing that sticks in my head is the location. The film was shot entirely in a remote island off the north coast of England. This might give the film an isolated feel, but I couldn't help thinking a more centralised location like Birmingham would have given it more depth.

The plot then. World weary policeman Wilbur Vehrmont ventures to this island to investigate the murder of a young girl. Edward Woodworm is totally unexcitable in the role and every moment he is onscreen is a laboured affair. Thank heavens then for the flamboyancy of Christopher Lee as Lord Summersmythe, a handsome and charming rogue. Lee has some wonderful lines and moments. One image which stays firmly in my head is where he dances nude around his bedroom in a bizarre pagan ritual. This image stays with me to this day and occasionally I imagine myself as Lord Summersmythe and write around my own room naked, pressing myself up against walls while surrounding myself with corn dollies and candles.

The pace of the film is incredibly slow and it's fair to say that absolutely nothing happens until the pivotal end scene. I shan't spoil it, but the ending did little for me, lacking any impact on a physical or emotional level. I think what let this scene down was Woodworm's non plussed attitude to what was about to happen to him. His decision to play the the scene in such a casual way remains controversial to this day.

One final footnote, the title is hideously misleading, as the so called Wicker Man is actually made out of ply wood and I therefore think this really should have been the title of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Britt Ekland naked, 6 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. S. G. Brown "stevegregbrown" (Horsham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are two great things about "The Wicker Man": an incredible ending and Britt Ekland naked. The latter alone would justify the price of the set.
Out of the two versions the shorter one is better. The extra footage in the "Director's Cut" adds nothing to the story, which makes total sense in its shorter, "butchered" cut. Film's are a visual medium: I don't need Howie's character explained to me, and neither does anyone else.
The commentary is interesting but unfortunately Christopher Lee is too in love with the sound of his own voice sometimes to let others contribute. He seems to think the job of the film was to explain pagan ritual to people or, more precisely, to provide him with a podium to explain it to the audience in long dull speeches, most of which have been cut. A bit pompous, really, but nobody seems brave enough to want to challenge him on the issue. I would have liked to hear a lot more from Edward Woodward, who comes across as a nice bloke who hasn't taken the whole thing too seriously.
So. Britt Ekland naked. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wicker Man [DVD] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wicker Man: Director's Cut [DVD]
The Wicker Man: Director's Cut [DVD] by Robin Hardy (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: 4.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews