Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Career Striding Album
A Woman A Man Walked By is fantastic. You have the guitar stompers "Blacked Hearted Love", the frenzied "16,15,14" and "The Chair", the piano laden ethereal tracks "The Soldier" and "Leaving California" and the achingly beautiful "April" and "Passionless Pointless". Each song takes from a section of PJ's career while maintaining a new identity (grungy banjo!). For those...
Published on 30 Mar 2009 by S. Smith

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult listen
Perhaps one for strong PJ fans alone, otherwise, you may find it a difficult listen. There are not many catchy songs and I found it hard to connect to the album and lyrics. I do really like some of her other work (and think she is beautiful!), just would not recommend this one. First song however, is amaze-balls.
Published 6 months ago by Kieron Hegarty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars P J, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. J. Cooper "big ears" (maidstone kent uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Woman A Man Walked By (Audio CD)
Not a lot to say really as i order and buy for my son who believs P J is a goddess so thanks for the CD which arrived in good time and well packed and in perfect condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult listen, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Woman A Man Walked By (Digipack) (Audio CD)
Perhaps one for strong PJ fans alone, otherwise, you may find it a difficult listen. There are not many catchy songs and I found it hard to connect to the album and lyrics. I do really like some of her other work (and think she is beautiful!), just would not recommend this one. First song however, is amaze-balls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A interesting mix of folk, punk, rock and grunge, 22 Oct 2011
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Woman A Man Walked By (Audio CD)
PJ Harvey has been entertaining her fans for nearly 20 years. "A Woman A Man Walked By" is her ninth studio album and second studio collaboration with John Parish. As expected, the lyrics and vocal arrangements are written by PJ whilst the music and instruments are provided by John. Their unique artistry really pulls together on this release and they manage to create a very dark but sincere piece of work.

"Black Hearted Love" is a great punk rock opener with great musical arrangements. "Sixteen, Fifteen, Fourteen" is more of a punk tune with a folk vibe to it and very strange lyrics but, as a result, is one of the great tracks here. The subtle yet eerie sounding "Leaving California" is much softer but still manages to maintain the dark atmospheric theme of this release. "The Chair" is an interesting and much more erratic creation, but it blends well with the other songs. On the pop ballad "April", PJ's vocals sound very croaky which makes the song much more intriguing than it could have been. "A Woman A Man Walked By/The Crow Knows Where All The Little Children Go" is a very addictive punk folk tune with fantastic lyrics and vocals, and is my favourite song on this album. "The Soldier" is a simple yet captivating acoustic number with a lovely soft melody. In complete contrast, "Pig Will Not" is a very angry and feisty punk track and is another highlight. "Passionless, Pointless" is a solid rock ballad with a sleepy and consistent feel to it. The final track "Cracks In The Canvas" is a short but effective acoustic outro.

With this release, PJ Harvey takes on an interesting and mesmerising journey where we discover her music and creativity all over again. "A Woman A Man Walked By" is one of her most consistent efforts to date and her collaboration with John Parish seems only stronger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tough Listening, 16 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: A Woman A Man Walked By (Audio CD)
Not often you see such a variation in ratings, but i can fully understand why. This is tough listening in places. There are some tracks you will not want to play twice, such as Pigs Will Not and A Woman A Man Walked By(not one you would wish your mother to hear!).

On the plus side Black Hearted Love, Sixteen Fifteen Fourteen and The Soldier are very good, the rest i can live without! So 1 star or 5? 2 i think based on originality and the 3 good tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the single not the album, 22 Jun 2009
By 
S. Ayala-ceratto "ELCID" (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Woman A Man Walked By (Audio CD)
I should have not bought this album. She is always trying very hard not to repeat her last works.
The 5 stars reviews are the fans that no matter what she releases, she is always right, if one day she decides to make music with a broken maraca and a guitar with one string, they would say it's artistic and poetic.
You have to remember that she said she does music for her and does not care what the other people think, including her loyal fans.
BEST of PJ Harvey 1991 - 2004.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 31 July 2009
By 
Mr. Tj Payton "Tim P" (Droitwich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Woman A Man Walked By (Audio CD)
Please do not be taken in by the excellent opening track. Ther remainder of the album is frankly tuneless garbage characterised by painful vocals. Download track 1 and dodge the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 15 Jun 2009
By 
M. Chaffer (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Woman A Man Walked By (Audio CD)
Hated this from start to finish - unless you're a huge PJ fan my advice is give this record a VERY wide berth......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Woman A Man Walked By (Digipack)
A Woman A Man Walked By (Digipack) by John Parish (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews