Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

  • Yes
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars83
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2009
If ever there was an album confirming the Pet Shop Boys' influence over pop music of the past 20 years this is it. 'Yes' is a delight. True, there are no real surprises here in terms of change of direction but what you do get are 11 tracks that have been mined deep from the PSB goldmine. The arrangements are sumptuous and the melodies are powerful - in most cases. There are no less than (at least) five great hit singles here - 'Love etc.', 'All Over the World', 'Beautiful People', 'More Than a Dream' and 'Pandemonium'. That's nearly half the album! These guys have a knack of writing melodies and spikey lyrics that - once you hear them - you really can't get them out of your head. Truly infectious. So, congratulations to the guys. If you love PSB, you will love this album. If you have not been into them, then this album is unlikely to sway you. An upbeat, optimistic 'power pop' album in depressing times.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2009
Yes the Pet Shop Boys are one of the very few bands that have delivered consistently good pop records for 25 years. And yes, Yes is one their best albums they have made in that time, dare I say it at least as good as Behaviour. There's great depth here, fantastic dance tracks, majestic melancholy and just brilliant pop music that fit almost as well into today's scene as it would have done 2 decades ago.

There's much for 80's music fans to love; the infectious Did You See Me Coming would not be out of place on a New Order record; Vulnerable could have been lifted straight off Behaviour, but equally Love etc and Pandemonium amongst others could have come at any point since. Amazingly, but perhaps not surprisingly, all the songs on Yes are excellent. My favourite track is King Of Rome, it has that Jealousy feel to it; melancholy in spades; Neil's haunting voice losing nothing in all this time.

20 years ago Yes would have hit the number 1 spot with ease, many of tracks would have got to number 1 in the singles chart too had they been released. Would that be the case now, I wish - where is quality today, so lacking in an "Idle" world?

This record deserves a wide audience. If you have not discovered the Pet Shop Boys start here and then buy Behaviour, then Please, Actually and Fundamental. You will be rewarded

For me the purchase of West End Girls at a record shop off Oxford Street back in the late 80's led to a journey around the world which lasted 20 years and continues today. Yes takes me back over that time, it is on my iPod now and I know I will play it repeatedly over the coming weeks and months.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
Here's a thought... perhaps the PSB's should call an album "Bi-Polar", because that's what they REALLY are. Up and down like a tart's knickers. For every "Bilingual" there's a "Nightlife", for every "Yes" there's a "Fundamental". This is one hell of an UP album from the boys, so the usual melancholic tones are pretty muted. In fact the first four tracks "Love etc.", "All Over The World", "Beautiful People" and "Did You See Me Coming" are relentlessly upbeat for the boys. OK, so "Vulnerable" is solipsistic, but it may also be a companion/answer piece to go on the mantlepiece along with Robbie Williams' "Strong". "More Than A Dream" bounces back up again, "Building A Wall" is about being young and gay in England "'Oo d'you think you are - Captain Britain??". "King of Rome" slips a bit into melancholy, "Pandemonium" stomps right back into High NRG, with "The Way It Used to Be" following wistfully, before a grand finale and follow up to "Left to my Own Devices" in "Legacy" a pumping last track that would be a killer onstage (although requiring a Mahler-sized orchestra!). If nothing else, this album proves the band are producing albums that are at least as good,if not several times BETTER than their earlier ones. Go on, lam out a few quid and have something to bop to in the car!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2012
After having released a so-so Fundamental in 2005 PSB stormed back with this very joyful album, full of catchy tunes that generally hold in check overblown arrangements. The result is a bag of tunes filled with hooks and bells and whistles in top PSB category.

The lead track, Love Etc., is the best of the bunch, being probably among the best songs ever describing the Manic Millennium excesses (and its accompanying video). Other very strong tracks include the "orchestral meets dance music" All Around the World and the dance oriented More Than a Dream. There are, however, many tracks close to being as good and what constitutes as top picks varies a lot as seen by other reviews.

This album is among the best of PSB, being close in standards to Very and Actually. If you only buy a handful of PSB albums, include this one.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2010
A much better return to form. People commented this of the previous album but they were still shaking out the remnants of the pap disco phase they went through. Good tracks are 'Love, etc.' (the single), 'The Way It Used To Be' and , 'Pandemonium'. There is one notable horror story - the track 'Beautiful People'. This really should have been left in the tired ideas box but skipping track 3 shouldn't damage your enjoyment of the rest of the album. I have given it 4 stars but still feel they could have stretched themselves a little more instead of relying on the known. Which leads me to feel there may be a winning album within the next two releases when they let go a little.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
It's been over 2 years since the release of 'yes' and it's already a classic album. The best track is in my opinion "The Way It Used To Be", it should have been released as a single.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
can it really be 25 years!!!

the pop pioneers return with a stunning new album harking back to the good old days!!! totally unique and as flamboyant as ever...

track by track

"love etc" is a standard pet shop boys track and the first single! ingenious as ever, simple yes complex at the same time..and a great chorus thats gets in your head and you end up singing it all day! 9/10

"all over the world" reminds me of the "bilingual" album! its a bit ploddy and annoyingly happy sounding...i prefer a bit of miserabilism! 8/10

"beautiful people" is very much the same as the previous track, ok as an album track 8/10

"did you see me coming" is pure poptastic perfection! all about finding new love, its so uplifting! one of my favourite pet shop boys tracks ever! 10/10

"vunerable" is another classic with great lyrics about putting on a face in a relationship - and a perfect vocal delivery by neil 10/10

"more than a dream" keeps the classic theme of the old psb sound, another love song! i love it 10/10

"building a wall" is yet another gem! i think it has a deep politic message, about life these days however i like to listen to it as a self preservation song! has a great spoken bit by neil about sand in the sandwiches...another great track 10/10

"king of rome" slows it down a bit...a bit maudling about life but yet another classic! 10/10

"pandemonium" i love that word! and i love the song - full on electro feast! perfect pop perfection about falling in lurve! would be a great single release! 10/10

"the way it use to be" is another favourite! i think im going to explode this album is so good!! great lyrics about thinking of the past and lost love...the track builds and builds! 10/10

"legacy" is another political song about the changing world..ok and a swirling orchestra but my least favourite track 6/10

i would tell anyone to buy this wether you are a fan or not!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2009
One play and on first hearing track after track is brilliant pop, catchy hooks and choruses & Neil Tennants definitive vocals all combine to make a classic but fresh-sounding album; buy it, play it, listen to it - you'll love it!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
Yes, I did enjoy this cd alot, and many who purchase it are going to as well. The first track on the song was very appropriate to start off with: Love etc is a very powerful and positive song about being happy regardless of what stage you are in your life. I really feel that this song is going to resonate with many people. I really love this song because it certainly resonated with me, and serves as a reminder to me to find happiness regardless of external circumstances. I also enjoyed "Vulnerable" and "Building a Wall". "Vulnerable is about how someone may appear very strong, stoic, and firm on the outside, but desires the experience of being themselves. "Vulnerable" also speaks volumes about how important having a partner who allows you to be yourself is very special and important (hence why it is communicated the lyrics, I am vulnerable without you, and how they appreciate what is shared with their partner). I believe that "Building a Wall" is about someone putting emotional walls around someone they care for in order to not keep out the one they care for but more to give themselves a chance to "open up" in a cautious and careful manner. All the songs on the cd are good. This cd is so good that I wish that there would have been more than just 11 songs. If there are any songs that you like from the Pet Shop Boys (whether it is one or several of their songs) then please consider giving this collection a chance. This collection puts you in a happy and peaceful mood.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Pet Shop Boys" have been my favourite group from the 1980's, I have all their albums.

I saw them for the first in concert back in 2009, and again for the second time in 2013 and both were GREAT nights :-)

This is double CD set of pure bliss from the Pet Shop Boys. :-)

The ninth CD album I bought of theirs. :-)

With every album they do they go from strength to strength. :-)

If you asked me if I’d any favourites my answer would be yes, it’s the entire CD. :-)

I love listening to the music as they have such a fantastic sound. :-)

If you’re a Pet Shop Boys fan then this a great album to have. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.96
£4.54
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)