Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm soul city walking
From track one the pop sounding Intruders 'Win Place Or Show', right through to the rarer Trammps track 'Where Do We Go From Here', this album had me back in the 70's and in some sweaty disco. This is a top notch collection. Fair enough, some of the tracks are not on the PIR label, neither are they Gamble and Huff creations. But, songs such as The Three Degrees 'Dirty Ol...
Published on 9 July 2010 by D. J. Middleton

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
not what I was expecting- haven't enjoyed this album much at all.
Published 1 month ago by Patsy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm soul city walking, 9 July 2010
This review is from: Philly Vol 1 (Audio CD)
From track one the pop sounding Intruders 'Win Place Or Show', right through to the rarer Trammps track 'Where Do We Go From Here', this album had me back in the 70's and in some sweaty disco. This is a top notch collection. Fair enough, some of the tracks are not on the PIR label, neither are they Gamble and Huff creations. But, songs such as The Three Degrees 'Dirty Ol Man', The O'Jays 'Love Train' 'Backstabbers' and MFSB's 'Love Is The message' are all top drawer Philly sound which have dated very little if at all. I remember playing many of these tracks back in the day in my time as a DJ, and they never failed to fill the dance floor. For the price, this is a highly recommended collection, which I have listened to over and over since it arrived a couple of weeks ago. I did a quick calculation that if I had bought all these records on vinyl, it would have cost me at least double what I paid for the album and given that most of my vinyl records are now ravaged by dust, this is a great way of hearing pristine copies of these tracks again. So, I'm soul city walking to the sounds of my heart going zing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh Happy Days, 15 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Gm Howard "SpursSoul" (Dunstable, Beds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philly Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Some good memories on this one. I love the Philly sounds and good dance tunes. Keep it coming!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy Philly sound, 20 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philly Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Love the Philly sound, great vibes when dancing to the quality that is on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars soul for soul fans, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philly Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Philly soul was in the 70s the real creme de la creme...the artists here and the songs here are all known classics but it is good to have them on one cd....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars quality music, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philly Vol 1 (Audio CD)
the philly sound allways sounds good and all the hits are on this compilation makig it essential to any collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing fantastic music!, 16 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philly Vol 1 (Audio CD)
I bought this for my 6 year old son's birthday to introduce him to some quality music. He loves it: here's what he has to say:

I gave it 5/5 because it's black music and I really like how it sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some iconic Philly songs, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philly Vol 1 (Audio CD)
For those that are familiar with the Philly era and music, this is definitely an album to add to your collection. Well worth the money as most of the tracks are classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CD, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philly Vol 1 (Audio CD)
I love the sound of Philly and this is great now its in my collection. I play it a lot in the car and everywhere else. It was a great price from Amazon too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 6 Jan 2013
By 
M. Lomax - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philly Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Bought this purely after seeing Sister Act the Musical. Some cracking tunes guaranteed to lift your mood every intention of buying more Philly Soul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great buy, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philly Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Not to be missed. Lots of well known material on it. Have listened to it again and again. It was the era I grew up in so the music is full of wonderful memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philly Vol 1
Philly Vol 1 by Various Artists: The Master Series (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews