Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz Funk
a brilliant compliation of jazz funk classics.From Lonnie Liston Smith's classic expansions to the superb Ramsey Lewis and Rodney Franklin's the groove. This is a must for all lovers of good jazz funk. a must get CD. go and buy it. I loved it,and it brought back all those great days of the soul weekenders and the clubs inside and outside London. go get it. Brett.Pinner
Published on 22 Dec 2009 by Brett.Pinner

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It strays off the beaten-path alright!
Oh dear... another compilation brought together by a spotty-faced, under 30 years old Oik, who shaves once-a-week with the safety-slide still connected to his bic razor: Just because a song is funky, and it has a saxophone or piano playing in its composition, doesn't mean that its called Jazz-Funk. Jazz funk was one of those post-disco, early '80's genres that was...
Published 15 months ago by ernie167


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz Funk, 22 Dec 2009
This review is from: Jazz Funk Vol 1 (Audio CD)
a brilliant compliation of jazz funk classics.From Lonnie Liston Smith's classic expansions to the superb Ramsey Lewis and Rodney Franklin's the groove. This is a must for all lovers of good jazz funk. a must get CD. go and buy it. I loved it,and it brought back all those great days of the soul weekenders and the clubs inside and outside London. go get it. Brett.Pinner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious slab of jazz funk, 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: Jazz Funk Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Great compilation. Two masterpieces in doctor jackal and mr funk by Jackie McLean and the Willie Bobo version of Always There.
Worth the money just for these. Remember the days of clubbing. Loud bass. Jazz funk ruled the world. Great music from a never to be forgotten era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Número Uno Jazz Funk, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Funk Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Outstanding album, no fillers on this one. Each track, triggers memories of when they were released and the dance moves that you did! If I had to name the best tunes on here, they would have to be Lonnie Liston Smith, Jackie McLean, Rodney Franklin, Al Dimeola, George Duke, Herbie Hancock, Willie Bobo..... oh my god, plus all the other artists on it, I just couldn't help myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value!, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Funk Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Took a punt on this one - partly due to the bargain price. How glad I am that I did! Along with several tracks I already knew well - Lonnie Liston Smith's "Expansions", Rodney Franklin's "The Groove" , Idris Muhammad's "Could Heaven Ever Be Like This" and "Brazilian Love Affair" by George Duke, - there were several new ones ( to me) that I really enjoyed, particularly "Till You Take My Love" by Harvey Mason and Willie Bobo's version of "Always There." There are no really duff tracks and this cd has already had many plays. The sound quality is remarkably good too - clear and spacious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz funk heaven, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Funk Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Many classic gems all on one cd. This compilation takes me back to my 'soul boy' days.
I get lost in time whenever I play it and journey times times in the car seem to fly 10/ 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great application for me..., 13 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. J. H. Wheeler "Easy Street" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Funk Vol 1 (Audio CD)
This was rather up-tempo for my usual show speed and ambiance, but not the record's fault. I should have auditioned it first, and I don't remember if I had the ability to do that or not. However, the artists are first rate, and if you want UP-TEMPO, you'll like this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It strays off the beaten-path alright!, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz Funk Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Oh dear... another compilation brought together by a spotty-faced, under 30 years old Oik, who shaves once-a-week with the safety-slide still connected to his bic razor: Just because a song is funky, and it has a saxophone or piano playing in its composition, doesn't mean that its called Jazz-Funk. Jazz funk was one of those post-disco, early '80's genres that was perculiarly British. There was some US cross-over, but not much.
Let me explain; Lonnie Liston Smith's Expansions is a classic of its time... namely 1975. It's certainly good, and it's funky with Jazz overtones; and like a stick of rock, has 'Black-sploitation' (rather than Black-pool)written through it. But it ain't "Jazz Funk". But it is good!
Harvey Mason's 'Till you take my Love' is a perfect example, according to the sleeve blurb, written by Ian Dewhurst, aged 21 I bet. (it would have been better written by 'Foggy' Dewhurst, from Last of the Summer Wine fame), "...[it] is a perfect example". Of what? Certainly not Jazz Funk. It sounds like the Emotions, of Earth,Wind & Fire's Boogie Wonderland fame, and is a good example of pure disco from 1978.
Jackie McLean's Dr Jeckyll and Mr Funk" isn't Jazz Funk.... it just FUNK. Its competent enough, and reminds me a bit of George Clinton, Funkadelic and Parliament, although not as raw.
At least the next tune was from the correct era; Rodney Franklins "The Groove" is a great example of Jazz-fusion, groovy and smooth, with the same formulaic processes as Shakatak...spot the difference. There aren't any!
HIP HIP HIP HOORAH! Next comes the first Jazz Funk track. Ramsey Lewis's Spring High. Although this could easily be a Jazz Fusion track, it has the same feel, the right 'flavour', and the correct 'date of birth' as Jazz Funk. Heart warming, light and breezy. This track reminds me of all of those hot summery days in Weymouth and Bournemouth in the early '80's, when I was young, but old enough not to wet my nappy (Take note 'Foggy'). Happy days. Jazzy, funky, Jazz-funk days... the happiest of my life. FAB!
Prove my love is next, performed by Ned Doheny (of EAGLES fame (!) according to Ian (the boy) Dewhurst, who no doubt had to borrow his granddad's "Hotel California" album, to find out who they were). Repetitive one-line lyrics with which I'm sure that his former band-mates were sorely disappointed!
The next is a huge-classic and a favourite of mine. Utterly mind-blowing in my view... but, difficult to define as to what it is. Idris Mohammad's 'Could heaven ever be like this', came right out of the Disco era (1977). It has jazz, Electric guitars, Idris's mega drum beats, and melody which in some ways reminds me of the New Seekers! Don't let the Seekers put you off. It's brilliant. An epic tune of essence. Sometimes funky, sometimes rock, sometimes Jazz... its a true concept track. One of my 'Desert Island disks"!
Al Di Meola's 'Roller Jubilee' starts like a bad 1980's science programme theme tune trying to be cool! But actually Its a 'nice' pop tune, again very similar to Shakatak in style. Pleasant,(in Marks and Spencers as I'm riding up the elevator to the underpant section- erm, why do they call the downward one an elevator?)it'll never blow your socks off. Its more pop than Jazz Funk.
George Duke's Brazilian Love affair, is dynamite! Get the album under the same name. It is fantastic and it wont disappoint... I guarantee! Unless you want Jazz Funk. Brazilian LA came in the days of disco, and that's what it is... Disco/latin/jazz. So Smooth. The album has a great range of tracks.
Herbie Hancock's Saturday Night, is a floor groover. Not his best; not his jazziest, but quite funky but also a bit of pop and very commercial. It has a Cuban latin jazz influence and is pleasant enough but not his most memourable...but I like it.
Always there, by Willie Bobo. You might recognise this from Jocelyn Brown's mid-80's version, which I think is a more memorable, danceable version made all the more better by her lyrics and voice. BOBO's is jazzier though, from 1978 and is a great example of Jazz Fusion. Horns galore; a great 'Hammond' sound at the end of the song; a groovy swinger of a tune. Classy, but not Jazz Funk.
Finally, Webster Lewis's 'EL Bobo' is also another favourite of mine. Jazz fusion...maybe. Latin Jazz deffo! I love this tune. Again, like 'Brazilian LA', light, breezy, pick-you-up music. Laughing!
Ok, so I've been a bit critical, but actually, as an album of mixed Disco/funk/Latin-Jazz/funky and Jazzy songs its good. I like it. As a Jazz-Funk album, its dire. 'Foggy', get your Dad to write the sleeve-notes next time! There's no Morrisey-Mullen. No Cinnamon. No (early) Level 42 or (early) Freeeze. No real Jazz-Funk, and certainly no British Jazz-Funk... just funky-Jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jazz Funk Migraine, 22 Oct 2012
This review is from: Jazz Funk Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Measure twice and cut once.
Bought this as it was cheap but tried listening to it a couple of times and its excruciating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jazz Funk Vol 1
Jazz Funk Vol 1 by Various Artists: The Master Series (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews