Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat CD 2007 Reissue - Jason Donovan
This is a reissue of the original 1991 Cast of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat starring Jason Donovan.

It has been digitally remastered with two new tracks from the 2007 Cast of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat by Lee Mead and Dean Collinson.

Even though I brought this CD in 1991 I have brought this version because it is a...
Published on 19 Nov 2007 by P. D. A. WALDER

versus
65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing release from the Really Useful Group
Disappointing is the word to use for the re-release of this JOSEPH CD featuring Jason Donovan... a 17 year old recording with a couple of 'bonus tracks' by Lee Mead and Dean Collinson is not what JOSEPH fans wish to buy.

With the revival of JOSEPH in the West End doing so well with Lee Mead in the leading role you would have thought the least the fans of this...
Published on 14 Nov 2007 by Jen Tester


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat CD 2007 Reissue - Jason Donovan, 19 Nov 2007
By 
P. D. A. WALDER "Paul Walder" (West Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a reissue of the original 1991 Cast of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat starring Jason Donovan.

It has been digitally remastered with two new tracks from the 2007 Cast of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat by Lee Mead and Dean Collinson.

Even though I brought this CD in 1991 I have brought this version because it is a Special Edition and contains an updated booklet with new linear notes and pictures and a dedication to Steven Pimlott 1953-2007, a director in British Theatres, by Andrew Lloyd Webber.

This is a must buy for true fans of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat and Jason Donovan but also a taster for the new 2007 cast. In the future they may release the new cast recording but to me this will keep you going until then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original and an update :), 3 Dec 2007
By 
Helen (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
I saw the show at the weekend and bought this CD at the theatre. Yes, it is a reissue with two extra tracks, but they are hardly being discrete about it: it's written across the front of the CD.

I was pleased to be able to get this as the only copy I have of the 1991 version is on cassette, which is not much use these days. The 1991 cast were amazing (although I do think Lee was better than Jason) and this CD doesn't disappoint.

For those who are complaining, I'm afraid this is the way cast recordings are going these days. For example when a show opens here after having played on Broadway then it is rare to get a London Cast recording (see Wicked, Spamalot, and Avenue Q as recent examples). Given that the current production of Joseph is identical to the 1991 production (with the exception of a new song, which is one of the two bonus tracks on this reissue) right down to the staging, set, and costumes, then a new recording was obviously not thought worthwhile and/or fiancially viable.

Do buy this album, just be aware that it is a reissue and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd, 13 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this cd for my 6 year old, we went to see Gareth Gates in the show and we also have the dvd with Donny Osmond. She loves this cd, the fact that it's Jason Donovan doesn't seem to bother her, just enjoy the songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surely its about the Songs and not the Singer??, 10 Jun 2009
I recently went to see the show staring Craig Chambers - he and the show were both brilliant!! - My son who is 6 and I have been trying to remember the songs, but without success - hence this purchase!! - Yes, I probably would of brought Lee Mead singing the songs, but as a child of the 80's,Jason Donovan works for me!! For us its about learning the words and dancing to the songs and bringing back the memories of the show - regardless of the cast!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat CD, 27 July 2009
By 
Linda (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Andrew Lloyd Webbers Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat - Special Edition
Bought this CD for grandson and he absolutely loves it. The music is great and having the lyrics also means he can sing along. The package and Cd are excellent quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing release from the Really Useful Group, 14 Nov 2007
Disappointing is the word to use for the re-release of this JOSEPH CD featuring Jason Donovan... a 17 year old recording with a couple of 'bonus tracks' by Lee Mead and Dean Collinson is not what JOSEPH fans wish to buy.

With the revival of JOSEPH in the West End doing so well with Lee Mead in the leading role you would have thought the least the fans of this new show would be rewarded with would be a brand new cast recording with the energetic, talented cast who are currently performing at the Adelphi.

It feels as though fans of the current show are being somewhat short changed.

I would have given the review of this CD nil stars if I could, I feel giving it just the one star is very generous of me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JOSEPH, 16 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. G. P. PEARTON "GRAH484" (LONDON,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
VERY GOOD SOUND-TRACK WITH SOME REALLY CATCHY TUNES.ANYBODY WHO LISTENS WILL BE SINGING AT LEAST TWO IF NOT MORE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars New Version ?? - Think again !, 14 Nov 2007
By 
Susan Flower "Sue F" (Chesham, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Read the small print ! It's a re-release of Jason Donavon version (recorded 17 years ago)with Lee's single & 1 other track.
Why aren't they doing a version with full new cast - I'd have bought that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joseph, 18 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cd of Andrew Lloyd Webber's 'Joseph and the Amazing technicolour dreamcoat'. Original cast special edition with Jason Donovan, Excellent product at a very good price and free delivery. Who could ask for more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joseph doesn't disappoint, 20 July 2009
By 
J. D. Davies "JanetD" (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We bought this as my daughter was in a school production and she wanted to learn all the songs by heart! A great version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews