Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good follow-up to the first CD
Nicola Benedetti is a mature and accomplished violinist at a very young age. It takes courage to present a programme like this - the hugely often-recorded Mendelssohn Concerto, two little Mozart pieces that require the art which conceals art, some ersatz Schubert and an uncompromising Macmillan contribution. What it does seem to say is that it is her CD, not some kind of...
Published on 10 Sep 2007 by Mr. Ian A. Macfarlane

versus
3 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good
THis is pretty competent playing... almost as good as myself. 4/5 a good effort. Now listen to Hilary Hahn.
Published on 7 Nov 2009 by Roland Herrera, Bristol UK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good follow-up to the first CD, 10 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. Ian A. Macfarlane "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nicola Benedetti is a mature and accomplished violinist at a very young age. It takes courage to present a programme like this - the hugely often-recorded Mendelssohn Concerto, two little Mozart pieces that require the art which conceals art, some ersatz Schubert and an uncompromising Macmillan contribution. What it does seem to say is that it is her CD, not some kind of marketing exercise or 'themed' or 'concept' programme, but the music she wanted to do at this particular point, and that's good. It is all most compelling, too. The Mendelssohn is entirely without frills, no fancy insights, just straight, in tune, very poised, well controlled and honest. The Mozart is quite lovely, with a splendid interplay between soloist and orchestra. I can't say I'm a great fan of the arrangements of the Serenade and Ave Maria, but they are well done. And the Macmillan is full of character and played with great commitment. It's a fine CD, and a fine achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album!, 8 May 2006
Having been a fan since first seeing Nicola on Young Musician of the Year I can honestly say that this is my favourite album of hers to date. At still such a young age Nicola has an incredible talent that definitely seems to be rapidly increasing and the pieces on this album really showcase her brilliant ability. The Mendelssohn and Mozart pieces are played with such skill, emotion and verve that it is hard to believe that Nicola is still only 18 years old. Schubert's Serenade is just marvellous and premiere of a newly composed piece by James MacMillan, entitled 'From Ayrshire' is a fitting end to a superb album.

A brilliant young talent, ever growing in confidence and ability this album is an essential for all classical music fans and one that will see Nicola Benedetti's reputation grow and grow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious, 1 Nov 2011
Just wonderful - hard to beat Nicola Benedetti's version of Mendlesohn's violin concerto. Such a gifted perfomer and a rendition you will never tire of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mendelssohn - violin concerto, 11 Mar 2011
Another excellent CD especially Mendelsson Violin Concerto not to keen on the tracks written by MacMillian but that wouldn't stop me buying other CD's by Nicola Benedetti who I think is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 2 April 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "Photofox" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I cannot stop playing this album. the Mendelssohn is definitely my favourite violin concerto; very moving and beautifully played by this young violinist. I was not too keen on the arrangements of the latter pieces on the CD but, even so, they are played immaculately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE EXCITEMENT CONTINUES: AWESOME PERFORMANCES!!, 8 Dec 2013
By 
RBSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Five HUGE Stars. Nicola Benedetti, the brilliant fiery Scottish violin prodigy, continues her ascent up the classical music hierachy with stunning and beautiful performances of Mozart, Mendelssohn, and James MacMillan on her second CD. The 'Piece De Resistance' is the tenacious 27 minute 'Tour De Force' performance of Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64 that has many moments of pure euphoric musical delight rippling from her bow, especially the Allegro non troppo movement, as she superbly negotiates the tricky currents. Her soliloquy during the Allegro molto appassionato is spellbinding. Not announced on the cover are two wonderful performances of Schubert: a deeply reverential Ave Maria D839 (violin and harp), notable for the declarative multi-string second pass thru, and the elegant Serenade ("Standchen" No 4 from Schwanengesand D957) with orchestra. The Academy of St Martin in the Fields orchestra with James MacMillan at the baton is absolutely stupendous. The Mozart pieces are delivered with great empathy and panache with Nicola, I'm told, doing double duty as performer and conductor. Quite a feat.

When composers begin writing music specifically for an artist, you know the artist has arrived. As in her debut CD, there is music composed especially for her herein. This time countryman James MacMillan has composed two movements entitled "From 'Ayrshire' " for his fellow Scot to tantalize us with in a world premier: the Largo is florid beauty with Nicky spinning out yearning 5 note and 6 note motifs; and the second movement, which is instructed to be played "like a very fast reel", is bombastic wonder with Nicola's sizzling violin work producing multi-string incandescent notes. One day she'll have to give us a full CD of these specially composed works, to include the complete expansion of the "Fragment for the Virgin" from her debut CD.

This CD is totally enjoyable and at times even overpowering. Ms Benedetti seems to have the natural capability of producing emotional, powerful performances, far beyond her teenage years, that directly impact the listener's emotions. Her debut CD with Daniel Harding and the London Symphony Orchestra was a shot across the bow of the classical world, announcing her arrival as a member of the leading edge of the 'next wave' of young virtuosi, in the wake of the marvelous Hilary Hahn and company. And the excitement continues with this CD. I can't say enough about Nicky's musicianship. My Highest Recommendation. Five BLAZING Stars.

(*Trivia: Nicola plays a 1751 Petrus Guarnerius of Venice violin.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic rendition, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful music played on a beautiful violin by a great young talent. Well known pieces made to sound fresh and new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mendelssohn - Violin Concerto, 4 Oct 2010
An excellent CD,Nicola Benedetti is a very talented musician. I would recommend it to other classical music lovers,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars n benedetti, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought it for my mum who loves the artist, she plays it all the time so it must be okay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another superb album, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual, Amazon is both excellent and reliable. This album is yet another masterpiece from Nicola at such a young age ( 18 !!! ). I first heard tracks from this album on the superb Classic FM. I particularly like the Mendelssohn material although all tracks are excellent and her playing of the violin is both dramatic and soothing. I'm gutted that I can't see Nicola live in September as I will be on holiday however, I have tickets to see her at another venue in May. I cannot wait !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mendelssohn Violin Concerto
Mendelssohn Violin Concerto by Nicola Benedetti
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews