Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic they Should Bring It Back!
Wow!!!!!
This took me right back back to being 7 yrs old again. I was completely hooked on this as a child and it has not lost any of its charm at all for me, any horse mad person will love this. My 9 yr old daughter watched this with me and she is now hooked on it and has taken the dvd to her own room and we did not see her all day long!!

Yes it is the...
Published on 27 Aug 2009 by D. A. Harper

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series, but...
No doubting the series is superb, but the picture quality on this release is pretty ropey - faded colours, dirt, grain and scratches throughout - not remastered at all and this often detracts from the enjoyment of what's on screen. A shame, as this series was shot on film as opposed to video so could look amazing. No extra material or remastering shows this was done on a...
Published on 19 April 2008 by AJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic they Should Bring It Back!, 27 Aug 2009
By 
D. A. Harper "Debs H" (WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow!!!!!
This took me right back back to being 7 yrs old again. I was completely hooked on this as a child and it has not lost any of its charm at all for me, any horse mad person will love this. My 9 yr old daughter watched this with me and she is now hooked on it and has taken the dvd to her own room and we did not see her all day long!!

Yes it is the original just simply added to a dvd and not remastered, but I personally love it for that! I do wish they would bring it back on to the tv without taking to much away from the original series and not making it to modern. Children will love it. For me this was the best ever tv that I had watched as a child and it has NOT LOST any of its origial charm.

I just simply LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT :o)

D.A.H
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Hardy Meets Hammer Horror!, 16 Jun 2001
By A Customer
A cross between Thomas Hardy and Hammer horror, this series had real talent on its side - directed by the likes of Ealing legend Charles Crichton, and written by superb scripters such as Richard Carpenter and David Butler, and with an impressive array of acting talent in front of the camera - a younger Jon Thaw appears in one of the episodes here, for example. Only two episodes here are real stand-outs from series one: 'The Hostage' and 'The Recruiting Sergeant' but all the episodes are evocative, beautifully filmed and enjoyable, and the packaging is a treat, highlighting why Network are consistently the most impressive and admired label for lovers of classic TV releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 70's children's TV series, 13 Dec 2011
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
First broadcast from 1972-73, I remember this as being one of the best children's TV series of the 1970's, thanks to it's impressive attention to detail, with excellent storylines and scripts, and a great feel for the period it was set in. Having lost none of its appeal it remains very enjoyable family entertainment.
With it's rural setting, each 25-minute episode is usually a mildly perilous and charming adventure. The performances are good, with Judi Bowker delivering a sensitive performance as the doctor's daughter Vicky Gordon, while displaying a genuine affection for the horse of the title.

Developed for television by writer Ted Willis, with some stories written by Richard Carpenter (Catweazle), the quality of the series attracted an impressive line-up of guest stars, which included John Thaw, Geoffrey Bayldon and Peter Bowles.
This 4-disc set features all twenty-six, first series episodes. Although the picture quality is not great, with its grainy appearance etc, it remains acceptable, with the warmth of the series always shining through. Unfortunately there are no extras or subtitles. The inside of the single-size DVD case features a full episode synopsis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST of series 1 & 2, 9 May 2009
By 
Although the complete series 1 & 2 are available elsewhere on Amazon, these 2 discs are are selection of the best episodes from series 1 & 2, on 2 discs, at a lower price!, and Network DVD have certainly done their homework to select 'The Best'. After seeing both series from start to finish, nostalgia can't hide the fact that there were one or two poor episodes amongst the top episodes, luckily, none have made it onto this compilation....

Episodes as follows..

The Fugitive - Vicky and Kevin Gordon find a beautiful ebony horse that has been mistreated, and help restore his health.

The Hostage - An escaped convict holds Kevin and Black Beauty hostage and forces Vicky to get food and clothing so he can complete his bid for freedom.

The Recruiting Sergeant - Black Beauty is in danger of losing his freedom when a unit of British Army soldiers arrives in the village and Kevin is tricked into joining up.

Sailor on a Horse - Vicky visits an old cottage believed to be haunted and finds an ex-sailor living there, who proves to be a friend indeed when a lawyer threatens to evict the Gordon family from their home.

Father and Son - Doctor Gordon tries to sort out a dispute between a grandfather and his son-in-law over the future of little Stan.

A Member of the Family (Parts 1 & 2) - Black Beauty and Jenny find themselves in the middle of a foxhunt. Ned joins the Gordon household and is immediately under suspicion of theft.

The Medicine Man - A quack doctor moves into the village, selling his own medicine for sixpence a bottle, claiming it cures all ills. Out of the Night - Eerie happenings in Monkswood when Jenny and Ned claim to have seen a ghost.

The Escape - Dr Gordon doesn't believe Kevin and Albert when they tell him that Cicely Eddington is being held prisoner in Granley Hall by her aunt and uncle.

Game of Chance - Dr Gordon and Amy visit London for the day leaving Jenny to look after things. Albert gallops off to Maybury fair and loses not only his money but Beauty as well.

All in all well worth the cash for the best stories from the early series'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories, 18 July 2007
By 
Jessica Bordeaux "99Bordeaux" (Richmond, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I used to watch this show faithfully as a child. We didn't get it here in the states until the early 80's and I loved it from the very start. Wonderful heartfelt stories with superb acting help teach children the valuable lesson of kindness. The beautiful english countryside helps lend a magical quality allowing you to easily escape to a distant time and place. I'm thrilled to see it available again and will surely be adding this jewel of a series to my DVD collection. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Beauty, 3 Jan 2011
Childhood revisited once again. I must admit as a young boy, horses weren't high on my list of priority's. But this DVD set, has brought all those old memories flooding back. Good acting, well crafted stories, this isn't really what you expect from a "child's" program. If you want to experience it all over again, this DVD set supplies it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic for young and old, 6 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures of Black Beauty: Season 1 [DVD] [1972] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
BOUGHT THIS THINKING MAY BE I AM REMEMBERING THIS SERIES WITH MISTY EYES AND MAY BE ITS NOT THAT GOOD, AFTER ALL I WAS UNDER 10 YEARS OF AGE. WRONG ON ALL COUNTS, EASY WATCHING SHORT EPISODES WITH GREAT STORY LINES, YES AND MY KIDS LOVED EVERY EPISODE SO MUCH SO THAT I BOUGHT THE 90S VERSION, IF I WAS TO MOAN MAY BE ITS A LITTLE GRAINY BUT THEN ITS A SEVENTIES SERIES, DONT LET THIS PUT YOU OFF ITS VERRRY GOOD EVEN IF YOUR NOT A HORSE FAN ITS ON THE STYLE OF THE SECRET SEVEN ADVENTURE STORYS.
TREAT YOUR SELF AND YOUR KIDS, GREAT FAMILY ENTERTAINMENT TRUST MY JUDGEMENT, GO FOR IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brought back happy memories, 23 Sep 2011
This really was a trip down memory lane and took me back to my childhood.
I bought it for my six year old grandaughters who are horse mad and they love it.
I recognised a young Keith Chegwin in one episode (I don't know if that's a good or bad thing!!)

The quality of the production is quite bad and the colour is very faded but taking into consideration the age of this I do still think it is well worth watching.

The actual ordering of the DVD and the delivery time was very easy and prompt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great childrens tv series of 1972, 3 Aug 2003
By 
C. L. Ridgway "claire Ridgway" (swinton, greater manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Adventures of Black Beauty father and son and the three other episodes, two of a kind, clown on horseback and horse healer are great episodes I really enjoyed watching them again and going back to my childhood.
A horse who helps out his friends when in trouble and is lucky to have a great owner like Vicky Gordon and the gordon family how all love him. And share in his many adventures.
these episodes are enjoyable for this generation and the new generation to come how loves horses and are a fan of the series will loves these and children will enjoy seeing them over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series, but..., 19 April 2008
By 
AJ (Notts, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No doubting the series is superb, but the picture quality on this release is pretty ropey - faded colours, dirt, grain and scratches throughout - not remastered at all and this often detracts from the enjoyment of what's on screen. A shame, as this series was shot on film as opposed to video so could look amazing. No extra material or remastering shows this was done on a shoestring budget, which is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews