Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must!
Brian Jonestown Massacre is one of the most under rated bands in the world. This is a must for anyone who likes retro 60's, wicked guitar sounds (many songs feature three guitarist and six band members on the stage at once), excellent lyrics and a diverse sound that is a rarity is so many bands today.
BJM band that deserves a lot more attention then they have ever...
Published on 26 Dec. 2004 by NK

versus
17 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One-dimensional
Being a compilation of early songs from a number of recordings I thought this would be a great way to get into the band. But I think the compilers were a bit one-dimensional and I'd query their song choices. I'd recommend the album Take It From The Man! as a better place to start because it hangs together well as a record which this somehow doesn't - and Man! has more...
Published on 8 Aug. 2005 by Simon J McKenzie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must!, 26 Dec. 2004
By 
NK (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
Brian Jonestown Massacre is one of the most under rated bands in the world. This is a must for anyone who likes retro 60's, wicked guitar sounds (many songs feature three guitarist and six band members on the stage at once), excellent lyrics and a diverse sound that is a rarity is so many bands today.
BJM band that deserves a lot more attention then they have ever received and ever seen I saw them open for BRMC last year, I have been hooked. Although Anton is an eccentric character and received a bit of a bad rap from Ondi's documentary, Dig, without doubt, no one can argue the talent of a man who can play over 100 instruments and he can call out lyrics better than many popular bands that take 5 years to do their next album.
Tracks like Who, Hide and Seek, Open Heart Surgery, Nevertheless, Nailing Honey to the Bee, Starcleaner, Wisdom, Straight Up and Down are just the tip off the iceberg because when you take into account that BJM has released at least 10 albums. After you hear this, you will want to run out and buy the whole collection because this CD makes me just want to hear more and more. So technically the Best of BJM should be 5 discs long because 2 just ain't enough!
Go and get it now....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of true genius!, 29 Jan. 2006
By 
Planet G "stendec-306" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Trying to Review “Tepid Peppermint Wonderland whilst doing it justice, and putting it in perspective is a challenging task – the two discs contain a total of 38 tracks covering the earlier years of the Brian Jonestown Massacre, Anton Newcombe’s band. I hadn’t heard of them until Christmas when my girlfriend bought me a copy of “Dig”, an extraordinary film documenting 7 years in the lives of The Dandy Warhols and Brian Jonestown Massacre. The film made me want to hear more of Anton Newcombe’s music, and “Tepid Peppermint Wonderland” is now part of my collection. From the loose psychadelic ramble of “All Around You”, the opener, to the purposeful yet haunting “If Love is the Drug”, and the almost Pixies-like overdriven lead guitars that turn “That Girl Suicide” into a complex mesh of confused emotion, there are loads of influences here. “Get you out of my life” sounds as though it could have slipped off “Exile on Main Street”, and indeed is as good as any of the tracks on that classic album, and on the closing track “Sue” Anton’s vocals sound almost Jim Morrison-like. Favourite track for me out of the 38 is a live take of “Swallow Tail”, a gorgeous melding of sparkling rhythm guitars underpinning Anton’s distinctive voice. “If you were the last Dandy” is on this album too – The Brian Jonestown Massacre’s rather bitter “tribute” to the Dandy’s, and it’s the only song on this collection not written by Anton Newcombe, although it sort of fits his style. 38 tracks on a double CD and not a single poor or dodgy track at that – which is amazing in itself. I was astonished at the quality in all of the songs on this album. Anton is definitely a genius when it comes to music, he must be one of the greatest songwriters ever, and I really don't say that lightly. Anton's life hasn't always been straightforward – I’d highly recommend watching “Dig” if it’s the only DVD you see this year, but that’s another story. This album is a “MUST BUY” though – you are definitely missing out if you don’t experience Brian Jonestown Massacre for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heaven sent!, 20 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
I can only recommend this album to everyone interested in psychedelic guitar music and 60ies stuff! The BJM definitely don't get the public attention they deserve but Aton Newcombe's influences on other musicians such as Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, the Dandy Warhols, the Lovetones (only to mention a few of them) are uncontested. It's a bit like with the Velvet Underground, they're not very successful in terms of CD sales but their influences stretch very very far.
This cd is a collection of the most important BJM songs in 14 years of band history, however I miss some great songs. Unfortunately there's no "going to hell", "nothing to lose" or "caress" on the album. But it's a great album anyway, so buy it an convince yourself of the greatness and uniqueness of the Brian Jonestown Massacre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TPW is great but there are even greater things around, 18 Oct. 2007
Bought the album a while ago, having read many positive reviews of BJM from folks who seem to like same acts as I (Robyn Hitchcock, Guided By Voices, The Coral, Sun Dial, Dandy Warhols, Green Pajamas, Grant Lee Phillips, Apples In Stereo, Bardo Pond, Mercury Rev, The Flaming Lips, TV On The Radio etc etc.). Since then I have also listened most of the "regular" BJM albums. So.

1) Generally I don't consider myself a person that's too easy to impress. Still, I've come to the firm conclusion that Anton is a true genius indeed, whatever he is as a person. How can its band still remain relatively unknown to public, I just can't fathom.

2) BJM is NOT a bit a rehash of the psychedelic music of the 60s. It may be inspired by that psychedelia and bear the same freewheeling mood but it's a modern, fresh, original music.

3) TPW is mostly intended to be an introduction and as such it's a pretty good one indeed. Sufficient for a novice to become converted. It is also easier to find in your nearest CD shop, i.e. if you urgently need a gift it'll make an excellent one.

4) The true magic of the best BJM albums (Take It From The Man, Their Satanic Majesties 2nd Request) is their absolute coherence. They just put a spell on you and you won't want to stop listening until the end. Sounds dated but that's simply true.

5) Get this album, give a listen, spare for a friend who's still in the dark about BJM's greatness. Rush out and buy _at_least_ these three CDs: "Take It From The Man", "Their Satanic Majesties Second Request", "Strung Out In Heaven". Restricted to just a single CD, your first choice should be "Take It From The Man". But quite possibly you'll want many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our generation's lost genius, 30 Aug. 2006
By 
The first thing to write about when discussing the BJM is their leader, Anton Newcombe. As anyone who has seen the documentary Dig will testify, he can be a very nasty person. Aside from this, he is a total genius. The arrangements that he puts into his songs are truly remarkable. Each song is better than the last and just when you think he cannot better something, he goes and does it. My favourite tunes are Servo and Anenome. The latter feeling like an acid trip! There is just so much thought and soul put into the BJM's music that you can't help but like it. I have never fallen in love with any type of music for a long time, not since i discovered a guy called Kurt Cobain. In 40 years i truly believe that he will be considered to be on the same pedestal as Lennon, Dylan and Cobain. You deserve it Anton, you really do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stupendous!!!, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mixed emotions...firstly I'm exited about getting into a new/old band and secondly annoyed I didn't get into these guys back in the 90's! After been blown away by their perfomance at the Birmingham o2 Academy 2 last Monday (09/07/12) I have a new favourite and hope that they don't get too big and end up being played every 10 mins on the radio or end up on a beer ad!
As I take a breather from just listening to both CDs back to back (before I put them on again) I would like to say that Anton Newcombe is a genius and The BJM are the most uder-rated band I've came across.
This Album a great introduction to the band with live and previously unreleased material it's a true gem that sits nicely with the rest of the BJM albums.
If your into Kirt Vile, BRMC, Jesus & Mary Chain, Spiritualized....THIS ALBUM IS A MUST HAVE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sweet, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A collection of all the standards of the BJM discography. Absolutely stellar output from the band that sounds like someone mixing 60s psych rock with post punk and shoegaze. And whoae influence you can hear in psych-revival like Tame Impala. Highly recommended to anyone that digs any of that sort of stuff. My personal favourites are Just For Today, Anenome, prozac vs heroine, and she's gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant !!!, 28 Dec. 2008
By 
Alan Jones (Anglesey, N. Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If your thinking about buying this album... DO IT..

This is a truly awesome compilation..

You've got to hear this album to understand what i mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One-dimensional, 8 Aug. 2005
Being a compilation of early songs from a number of recordings I thought this would be a great way to get into the band. But I think the compilers were a bit one-dimensional and I'd query their song choices. I'd recommend the album Take It From The Man! as a better place to start because it hangs together well as a record which this somehow doesn't - and Man! has more variety. I got Tepid Peppermint Wonderland and Take It From The Man! at the same time which was lucky, because on the evidence of this compilation I wasn't inspired to look any further, but after listening to Take It From The Man! I will probably buy more BJM albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BJM, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tepid Peppermint Wonderland - A Retrospective
Tepid Peppermint Wonderland - A Retrospective by The Brian Jonestown Massacre
Buy MP3 Album£13.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews