Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unusual, beautiful and very worthwhile
Pace Tamnaceol, I enjoyed this a lot. Of course it is not a foot-tapping CD - it's a more refined sort of thing, and for some that may be a disadvantage. But it's an interesting selection, the tunes are played with the greatest skill and musicality and many - particularly the slower airs - are most affecting (I'm actually listening to William Marshall's 'Chapel Keithack'...
Published on 20 July 2009 by Mr. Ian A. Macfarlane

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but....
Fortunately, we bought volume 2 of this before vol 1 (this one). It instantly became a favourite listen, with an unusual take on some familiar and not so familiar tunes. If you're into Monteverdi etc you'll recognise the sort of style and ornamentation which Jordi Savall brings to this material and it raises all sorts of interesting ideas (mostly probably totally...
Published on 20 Feb 2011 by David Jacob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unusual, beautiful and very worthwhile, 20 July 2009
By 
Mr. Ian A. Macfarlane "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Celtic Viol - An Hommage to Irish and Scottish Musical Traditions - Jordi Savall (Audio CD)
Pace Tamnaceol, I enjoyed this a lot. Of course it is not a foot-tapping CD - it's a more refined sort of thing, and for some that may be a disadvantage. But it's an interesting selection, the tunes are played with the greatest skill and musicality and many - particularly the slower airs - are most affecting (I'm actually listening to William Marshall's 'Chapel Keithack' as I type this ; it's beautiful). The sound is always lovely. I have to say that to give one star for all of that seems a bit mean to me. I don't see why these tunes should not be played as 'art' music, as they are here - they are good enough. Marshall, Niel Gow and his son were all happy that their tunes be played as drawing-room music for a listening audience - they did this themselves. It's a different approach from that used for dancing, but this kind of playing was common and popular in Enlightenment Edinburgh at the time of the Gows and, indeed, Burns, and would have been accepted by them. In addition, though Savall's approach may not be 'foot-tapping', it is every bit as rhythmically tight as it needs to be. With many of the tunes, he adds variations, always imaginatively, which again is very much in the 18th-century performing tradition (see David Johnson's fine book, 'Scottish Fiddle Music in the 18th. Century'). I am not so aware of the Irish tradition, but the Irish tunes are just as good and equally enjoyable - much the same approach is used. So I'm enthusiastic, and grateful, too, to Jordi Savall, not just for trying but for producing something unusual and very pleasurable. By the way, the CD has moved on to Macpherson's Lament now, and it's spell-binding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but...., 20 Feb 2011
By 
David Jacob "fiddler reborn" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Celtic Viol - An Hommage to Irish and Scottish Musical Traditions - Jordi Savall (Audio CD)
Fortunately, we bought volume 2 of this before vol 1 (this one). It instantly became a favourite listen, with an unusual take on some familiar and not so familiar tunes. If you're into Monteverdi etc you'll recognise the sort of style and ornamentation which Jordi Savall brings to this material and it raises all sorts of interesting ideas (mostly probably totally spurious) about the possible origins of the tradition, with echoes of Byzantium and the mysterious East.

But this album, recorded a couple of years earlier in three distinct sessions, is more about the development of the approach which works so well on the second album. Initially disappointing through the first half or so (was this the same man?), we kept listening. Suddenly the style of the second album magically appears and from then on it's mostly all good. We both independently thought exactly the same about it so there must be something that objectively changes at that point, the style sort of 'clicks'.

If you haven't heard the second one and you like medieval/renaissance and folk music, this is a really interesting listen. If you're a fiddler it's particularly worthwhile because of the open tunings of the viol (I want one) which makes me, at least, reassess the virtues of different tunings for different material. He gets effects and sounds you'll not get any other way.

Not one for the hardcore hi-velocity folkies, perhaps. But give it a go (and perhaps try vol 2 first).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars haunting, 9 Sep 2013
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Celtic Viol - An Hommage to Irish and Scottish Musical Traditions - Jordi Savall (Audio CD)
In the middle of this recital, Jordi Savall plays a group of pieces on a 5-string treble fiddle from 1500, and the sound is riveting. One of the tunes in this group is the well-known "McPherson's Lament," and it's gripping to hear it sounded out in this way. Most of the music on the disc is played on a 6-string treble viol (there is also a group played on a 5-string viol), an 18th Century instrument sounding a bit more robust than the fiddle but equally eloquent. Some groups are accompanied by an Irish harpist, improvising according to traditional practice, and how eloquent that can be might be heard in the lovely "Mhairi Bhan Og." There are two lovely pieces by Carolan, and some selections from the Scottish fiddler-composer Neil Gow. Savall's respect for the music and its current practitioners is evident in his modest note. If there's an underlying feeling to the music it's melancholy -- even the jigs and reels have a sad undertone, which, for a displaced Scot like me, makes them all the more appealing. However, if you listen to a band like the Chieftains, or even to a cajun band like Beausoleil, it might strike you that a more upbeat rendering of some pieces might be possible. But in popular music like this, there is no "definitive" way -- this is Savall's way, and it's beautiful on its own terms. I would guess that if you relish the Chieftains in instrumental mode (for there is no singing on this recording), then you'll find this intriguing and beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A noble perspective, 26 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Celtic Viol - An Hommage to Irish and Scottish Musical Traditions - Jordi Savall (Audio CD)
Nobody in my lifetime has contributed more to our knowledge of British viol music than Jordi Savall, to say nothing of his many other remarkable achievements. He approaches the Celtic tradition from the deepest knowledge of the long traditions of British and other European string music. These marvellous performances mark his loving respect for Scottish and Irish traditional music, here properly appreciated in its wide-ranging geographical and historical perspective. They help us appreciate how fortunate is the survival of so much Celtic folk music, and are always nimbly alert to the direct rapturous connections between such music and life at its most joyous and tragic. This was for me much the most moving new record of 2009.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful playing, 3 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Celtic Viol - An Hommage to Irish and Scottish Musical Traditions - Jordi Savall (Audio CD)
This record does have some limitations. In his accompanying comments, Savall notes the survival and vitality of oral transmission in Irish and Scottish music. Yet he has chosen many of his selections for this album from published collections which themselves filtered, altered, sanitized and 'improved' the oral tradition for a bourgeois audience increasingly interested in the music of 'the people'. Perhaps if Savall had more time to listen and learn tunes in 'live' settings, at pubs and dances, he might have assimilated more of the traditional styles, particularly their regional diversity. However, this record is a homage, and Savall doesn't claim authenticity (wherever you may find that), describing the record as a 'fervent tribute'. I think I detect some purist snobbery in Tam na ceol's comments. But where - for example - would Irish traditional music be without Michael Coleman's many American recordings, despite the frequently abysmal piano accompaniments? Savall acknowledges that he was not born into these traditions, and has much to learn. These recordings are certainly not dire and plodding. Savall's touch is light and affectionate. While his performances are far removed from what many would consider traditional, they are beautiful, and with these limitations can be accepted as the homage they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reflective, 15 Mar 2010
By 
Aquinas "summa" (celestial heights, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Celtic Viol - An Hommage to Irish and Scottish Musical Traditions - Jordi Savall (Audio CD)
This will not be every traditional irish music lover's cup of tea simply because it is perhaps too refined and lacking in energy and dynamsim. It is essentially meditative and is a little limited by the fact that we have just a viol and an accompanying harpist - so we do not have a great deal of variety. Even so, it is interesting to hear Jordi's take on Irish and scottish music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good., 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Celtic Viol - An Hommage to Irish and Scottish Musical Traditions - Jordi Savall (Audio CD)
I expected a little bit more from this CD. Quite good, but could be more interesting and more Celtic the way I expected it to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10, 10 May 2009
By 
Torbjørn Lygre "ebl" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Celtic Viol - An Hommage to Irish and Scottish Musical Traditions - Jordi Savall (Audio CD)
Wow, this are a surprising recording of Irish and Scottish Musical Traditions. This music give me much joy, when I listened too. Jordi Savall played the music very good. If you like tradition music from the British Islands. I will recomend at the highest point. I love this CD very much. Many lovely melodies. A CD I will hear many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jordi Savall CD, 4 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Celtic Viol - An Hommage to Irish and Scottish Musical Traditions - Jordi Savall (Audio CD)
This music is beautiful, a brilliant blend between classical and folk. Wonderful stuff that will be enjoyed by people at both ends of the spectrum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not half as interesting as the title suggests, 15 Dec 2011
By 
Erdem Karaadam (Istanbul, Turkey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Celtic Viol - An Hommage to Irish and Scottish Musical Traditions - Jordi Savall (Audio CD)
Let me express directly that I am a huge fan of Jordi Savall AND Celtic music. Somehow these two didn't blend well in this CD. It is surprising to me that someone with such depth of musical knowledge as Mr. Savall could feel satisfied with this playlist, the same mood and air monotonously repeating for tens of minutes.

If you are only looking for listening to some celtic tunes played on viol while you are at some other task, this makes a good background music. With all due respect, this is one of the few CDs from Mr. Savall that disappointed me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews