Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the more original artists in music, these days!
I came across Bat For Lashes when I went to see the Radiohead gig at London on the summer of 2008, and boy was I in for a surprise. After the gig, I started listening to the, by-then only album Fur and Gold. From tip to toe it was absolutely beautiful. Her lyrics are very deep and her voice is something of a kind. I imediately fell in love and now that I can afford it I...
Published on 11 Jan. 2010 by Rafael Beijinho

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Her debut was a breath of fresh air. I remember seeing her supporting Radiohead at Lancashire cricket ground about a year ago and was impressed by the unique, hypnotic sound.
However this second album doesn't capture the imagination quite as well.
Lead single Daniel is a highlight, chart-friendly if a little derivative. My partner's reminded of fleetwood mac by...
Published on 21 May 2009 by Stuart D. Johnson


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW x 5..., 18 May 2009
By 
Mark C. (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Suns (Audio CD)
Ive run clean out of rating adjectives for today -I used up my quota rating MAPLE BEEs "CHASING EVA", a stunning 2 disc set-so all I can say is "WOW", give it 5 stars, and be glad that I own it
-now on to F&L
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 3 Nov. 2009
By 
Antoine Mujde "two suns" (france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two Suns [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Very fast shipping, and perfect album. I couldn't wait to have it and itwas really fast.
Thanxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 24 Dec. 2011
By 
Apple-eater "Severn Boy" (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Suns (MP3 Download)
Bought this based on persistent advertising. Songs sound great in 'video-clip' format, but are intensely dull. I like her voice, but the overall thing is very dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just what is the fuss about???, 27 April 2009
This review is from: Two Suns [Digi-Pack] (Audio CD)
Took a chance based on a recent daily rag review...'cross between tori amos and kate bush...absolutely wonderful etc etc...' Sorry, but no, no and no. This is a collection of synthesized meandering rubbish that sounds like its been written by a semi talented 14 year old. The album very quickly bores any desire to continue living out of you. Amos/bush? more like clannad/bjork on a bad day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A memorable second entry from Natasha Khan, 2 May 2009
This review is from: Two Suns (Audio CD)
Following 2007's 'Fur and Gold', Natasha Khan 'Bat for Lashes' has returned with her second album 'Two Suns'. Listening to the first track 'Glass', you become immediately aware of the power that Khan steeps into her songwriting. The fantastical elements of this track help to establish a world where duality is key. Such duality is the key theme of the album, and is developed through 'Moon and Moon', a chilling tale that is by far the most effective track on the album. Duality is key here and nearly every track has some reference, whether within the lyrics or the titles such as 'Two Planets'. This duality essentially gives the album fluidity which is lacking in other albums (please take note, Katy Perry) and simply adds to the large lists of positives. It is important however, that one considers that 'Daniel', the album's first single is not the album's best, instead consult with 'Siren Song' and 'Pearl's Dream'- tracks which truly show Khan's skill.

The refreshing use of the organ in 'Good Love' adds an ethereal element to the album, and despite being the slowest track it is still hauntingly effective. The declarations of missed opportunities in love are truly touching and demonstrates further the sheer brilliance of Khan's songwriting, steeped in heavy imagery and symbolism, a joy in the shallow verbatim that the music industry has become. Instead, Khan imbues some emotion to her songs, and successfully adds effect, a lesson which bands such as Metro Station should learn from- emotional attachment is no weakness, but a strength in this album.

The heavy percussion of 'Two Planets' adds further effect to the album, whilst 'Daniel' and 'Pearl's Dream' remain the most memorable. But it is 'Good Love' and 'Moon and Moon' that embody the joy of this album and they are simply mesmerising. Khan has produced an album with purpose, a purpose that will be lost in the murky depths of the music industry. Don't anticipate any No.1s, but be sure of success, because it is well deserved.

It should finally be noted that if you are looking for a rhythm focused album, this isnt it- instead this album steeps itself in the strength of lyricism- if that isn't your thing, I would recommend you avoid- this is no Lily Allen or Lady Gaga, but a truly unique sound that is difficult to compare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little too bland in places, 14 May 2009
By 
Sunglasses - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Two Suns (Audio CD)
Some of the tracks on Two Suns are very good with just the right balance of haunting melody and understated vocal. I just personally found it a bit of a struggle to get through due to the lack of contrast and started to long for my All About Eve albums instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Suns (Audio CD)
A MUST LISTERN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent item sent quickly. Recommended seller., 26 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Two Suns (Audio CD)
The best album from any artist since Elbow's Seldom Seen Kid. The sound is phenomenal: an electric, primeval landscape populated by ghosts, wolves, anti-heroes and doppelgangers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect gift, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Suns [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
perfect gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 8 July 2009
By 
Mr A D Gaunt (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Suns [Digi-Pack] (Audio CD)
Very dull, was expecting some high quality music and received an Enya tribute band instead, She's a good musician but I'd stick to buying single tracks of the net from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two Suns
Two Suns by Bat for Lashes (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews