Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Error
Extremely Dangerous is a great series with many clever twists and turns. Sean Bean and all the cast are excellent and it will keep you on the edge of your chair.

Please note: Amazon synopsis is incorrect it does not take place in London BUT in Manchester.
Published on 11 May 2009 by Sharpshooter

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and scary
If you like thrillers,which keeps you on the edge of the chair,you must see this movie. Sean Beans performance is very tense and convincing.Wrongfully being accussed of having brutaly murded his wife and 4 year old daughter, he is hated by everybody.The purpose of his escape is; revenge and to clear his name... It is a must see.
Published on 7 Dec 2004 by susanne andersen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Error, 11 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extremely Dangerous [DVD] (DVD)
Extremely Dangerous is a great series with many clever twists and turns. Sean Bean and all the cast are excellent and it will keep you on the edge of your chair.

Please note: Amazon synopsis is incorrect it does not take place in London BUT in Manchester.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and scary, 7 Dec 2004
By 
If you like thrillers,which keeps you on the edge of the chair,you must see this movie. Sean Beans performance is very tense and convincing.Wrongfully being accussed of having brutaly murded his wife and 4 year old daughter, he is hated by everybody.The purpose of his escape is; revenge and to clear his name... It is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very worthy piece of entertainment - minor spoilers ahead, 27 April 2011
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Extremely Dangerous [DVD] (DVD)
Comparisons to the Fugitive are obvious so I won't go into that here. This gritty UK production benefits from an excellent tortured performance from Sean Bean. *Minor Spoiler*. We know he's an undercover officer early on because NCIS (National Criminal Intelligence Service) have a meeting to disown him. What we don't know is did he murder his family? This basic question provides the viewer with a bumpy ride. Is he a tortured soul or a deranged maniac? What helps in the confusion is that the supporting players steadfastly believe that he did kill his family and the viewer is left unsure until the last act.

This is an unnerving bedfellow because we don't know if we want to route for Neil Byrne or not.

Some scenes work especially well such as when Neil is watching children in a school playground and is approached by a Policeman; Sean delivers his dialogue as though he's in a dream recounting a floating memory, but what memory? A loving family man who will never see his own child again or some deranged fantasy of killing an innocent?

The chase scenes and action set pieces were very well put together. I found that the street fight and the fight in the cab office were choreographed to deliver the strong sense of animal energy rather than flamboyant 'clean' martial artistry or comic book violence.

The supporting characters lend emotion and intrigue to move the plot along. The dry black humour from Nitin Chandra Ganatra as the cab office owner is very funny and in just the right measure, Juliet Hubrey displayed a powerful sexy persona with a tenuous grip on the head of the crime family, Alex Norton is excellent as usual as the no nonsense cop (a role he took with him to Taggart). On a downside the NCIS head of section isn't fleshed out very well and his character forms part of an unbelievable plot device later on.

Although the ending provides a satisfactory conclusion to the story I feel that the tension built up on the journey beforehand deserved something more spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this, 14 Jan 2012
This review is from: Extremely Dangerous [DVD] (DVD)
This is a story of a man who has been wrongfully imprisoned for a crime he did not commit and who is now trying to discover who and why set him up. Obviously, I bought this because of Sean Bean. As always, he is a pleasure to watch - his performance is outstanding. I always wonder how he can be so powerful, yet so vulnerable. The plot is actually quite complicated; you have to watch carefully and not just sit and eat popcorn. That's what I like about this series - the viewer must use his/ her brain, but it's not rocket science, so it doesn't feel like a strenuous exercise. It keeps you interested and the actors are perfect for their roles, I thought. I especially liked the Ali Khan character, he was really funny. I certainly recommend this, particularly to Sean Bean fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Mini-Serie, 10 Nov 2011
This review is from: Extremely Dangerous [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this mini-series. The cast especially Sean Bean was fantastic. Great storylines with many twists and turns. The only bad thing is, that it contains just 4 Episodes!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REVIEW, 14 July 2011
This review is from: Extremely Dangerous [DVD] (DVD)
I PREFER TO WATCH SEAN BEAN IN "GOOD GUY" ROLES, AND PREFERABLY ONES THAT DONT END IN HIS CHARICTERS DEMISE.
THIS FILM IS FANTASTIC! GRIPPING, INTENSE, BRILLIANT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extremely dangerous, 2 July 2010
This review is from: Extremely Dangerous [DVD] (DVD)
In my opinion this was excellent and worhty of viewing : it is a pitty that more drama like this is not on tv, great stuff :
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant series, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extremely Dangerous [DVD] (DVD)
very watchable, a bit gory in places but a brilliant story. watch it you won't be dissapointed. ending is really good!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good action, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extremely Dangerous [DVD] (DVD)
Good story, if it had been American, it would have been a huge seller but as it's based on the UK!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One or two holes in the plot - but otherwise very, very good., 9 Jun 2013
By 
A. J. Sturgess "Alan Sturgess" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extremely Dangerous [DVD] (DVD)
Make no mistake, this is a tough, gritty and often violent 4-part series (originally made for ITV). If what you prefer is high-speed action and constant adrenalin rushes, then maybe this won't be for you as the tension is built gradually throughout the 200 minutes running time. However, there are frequent bursts of action as Bean's character searches for the truth of his family's massacre and, in so doing, slowly threatens, unravels and undermines the power of a Manchester gang. There IS a lot of dialogue at times, but this all helps to create the growing feeling of tension and also helps to make even the most devious or evil characters believable. All-in-all this is first class entertainment with just the occasional splash of dark humour to lighten the mood. (Especially between Bean as 'Spanish John' and his temporary boss in the taxi cab firm).

There ARE similarities with 'The Fugitive, but this is in no way a rip-off or a UK-based version. The resolution is entirely different and despite there being a few holes in the plot and I was never totally convinced about the style or structure of the code in the 'Patagonia' book - but that's a small gripe in the context of how the story unfolds.

On reflection then, I have no problems recommending this series if what you like are expertly made and acted British crime thrillers. This has to be one of the best ones made in recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extremely Dangerous [DVD]
Extremely Dangerous [DVD] by Juliet Aubrey (DVD - 2009)
9.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews