Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of art made with huge dedication
In this animated film Suzie Templeton has remained fairly faithful to Prokofiev's original story. There are subtle differences where the story has been adapted for the modern audience and for when the medium of animation make a change necessary. Prokofiev's wonderful music remains unchanged. As there is no dialogue from any of the characters and no narration it is the...
Published on 31 Aug 2007 by A. J. Hodgson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sad Story
Bought for my grandson to read but made him cry. Maybe it should be statedf or older boys.Story line quite good.
Published 11 months ago by king


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of art made with huge dedication, 31 Aug 2007
In this animated film Suzie Templeton has remained fairly faithful to Prokofiev's original story. There are subtle differences where the story has been adapted for the modern audience and for when the medium of animation make a change necessary. Prokofiev's wonderful music remains unchanged. As there is no dialogue from any of the characters and no narration it is the animation alone which gives the film its narrative.
The hunters are portrayed as two incompetent and cowardly thugs which means that there is a tiny bit of violence in the film. In a scene near the beginning (before any of Prokofiev's music) Peter accidentally collides with one of the hunters in the street and so annoyed is the hunter that he pins Peter up against a wall and then throws him in to a rubbish bin.
The duck pond in the meadow is frozen over which allows for some really good animation as the bird and the duck slide and frolic across the ice. In the original narratored musical versions of this part of the story I suppose one could argue that the dialogue is slightly flawed when the bird says to the duck "what kind of bird are you if you can't fly?" because of course ducks can fly!. Could there be any children out there who grew up believing ducks can't fly as a result of listening to Peter and the wolf?. No such dialogue occurs in this film version so no such misunderstanding can occur.
The animation and attention to detail throughout the film is magnificent. Every hair and piece of fur (all artificial) was placed with tweezers strand by strand and it took an artist a whole month to cover the wolf with fur!. The facial expressions are wonderful and the skin of the human characters is very life like, one of the best examples is the grandfathers hands which look old and veined.
The way in which the animation is so accurately synchronised to the music is brilliant too in this perfect marriage of the two art forms.
There is even humour. The funniest part of the film is when the bird escapes from the cat. He flies on to the branch of a tree and then deliberately poops in the cats face at which the duck can be heard laughing in the background.
Templeton has given a twist to the ending of her film so do not read on if you want the ending to be a surprise. After Peter has caught the wolf he and his grandfather put him in a cage and take him to the city market in grandfathers car. When they arrive in the city crowds gather and taunt the imprisoned wolf. Peter takes pity on the wolf. Having been at times virtually imprisoned himself by his over protective grandfather he makes a connection as he stares into the eyes of the wolf and so he opens the cage allowing the wolf to escape to freedom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a stunning reinterpretation of Peter and the Wolf, 25 Nov 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We went to see the world premiere of this film at the Royal Albert Hall this autumn. It is totally stunning - very bleak and dark, and evocative of the Soviet era, but at the same time highly original and very funny in places. Our four year old loved it, but generally I would say that this version (which took years to make) is more aimed at adults and older children. Buy it for Christmas - you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply magical!, 24 Dec 2006
By 
Paul Birch "Mad Pyro" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this animation for the first time on Channel 4 tonight, Christmas Eve 2006, and was totally transfixed! It takes quite a bit for a program on TV to move me, but this had me moist-eyed throughout. As there is no dialogue the emotion is all in the expessions - and what expessions! Peter's eyes alone say far more than words ever could. I URGE you to see this wonderful production! If it doesn't come away with Oscars, etc. there will be no justice. I will be ordering a copy as soon as it is available!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, 21 April 2008
By 
We got a present of this film for one of my children's birthday. Having watched it, it will be our first port of call when we need to buy a present in the near future. The music is really exciting and beautifully played. The characters are such indiviuals,especially Peter,(what a beautiful model!) whose character is so endearing. He is adventurous,brave,kind, just the kind of character you would like your children to be. We loved the cat,so cunning and athletic! Our favorite though,was the crow,such a tryer!! I thoroughly recommend it to everyone young and old! When buying a copy for yourself buy one for the children's music teacher. It will make a great treat music lesson!! Come to think of it would actually make a great 'event' at a birthday party
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This has done Prokofiev proud!, 6 Mar 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
What a fantastic short film!

I didn't realise this was only 30 minutes long, but it manages to feel like a full length feature because of the exquisite animation and of course the fabulous music.

The main thing that struck me when I started watching this, was the realism of the models used. they are so lifelike in both visuals and movement. Peter himself has the most emotive eyes, every scene where his eyes are visible mesmerises you as a viewer - it really is amazing how this film grips you.

The truth is, if the visuals had been poor, the film would still have been watchable as long as the music was well performed. In this case the music is fantastic and the visuals are the best I've seen in modelwork, this raises this beyond film, beyond art, and into another realm.

I can watch this over and over again. So much attention to detail has been given to this project. Little things such as movements of hands are done brilliantly. One of my favourite images is that of the Duck after Peter is locked back in the yard by his Grandfather. The Duck looks a bit forlorn and stares at the gate wondering if Peter is 'coming back out to play' - he raises his wings slightly a few times, you have to see it to understand exactly what I mean. But it gives the Duck a real feel of character.

I love this film, and hopefully you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant version, 2 Aug 2009
By 
Janet Blake (Torquay Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter And The Wolf [DVD] (DVD)
I've always loved this composition but this animation is brilliant and added much to Prokofiev's music.It made a change from having a narrator. My 6 year old grand son loved it especially, but closed his eyes when the wolf ate the duck. We watched it as a family and all age groups enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, funny and very wonderful, 21 April 2008
This is a beautiful animation film. I recommend it highly. Listening to the laughter of the children I have seen it with has got to be the best reward for present giving. The music really comes alive. You will find you end up giving yours away as a present many times, so start out with at least two copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly realised labour of love, 31 Jan 2007
The wonderful film aside, the DVD is worth having for the generous extras, including behind the scenes interviews and a feature on the making of the film. The work-in-progress detail including the hand-built rigs necessary for some of the more difficult animation is fascinating as is the explanation of the use of CGI to edit those same sequences. A complete joy... how about Stanley and Dog on DVD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OSCAR WINNER: easily the best film version of this masterpiece, 21 April 2008
The music speaks for itself but the usual narration is tricky to bring off. This version takes the story seriously, finding emotional intensity you never knew was there. But it's also very funny -- audiences of all ages lap it up. Buy the DVD but also try to catch it live with orchestral accompaniment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Adaptation!!, 20 Oct 2009
This review is from: Peter And The Wolf [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this two years ago.. and can still vividly picture it!
I have loved the story/score since childhood, and expected this to be really, really poor (not being a fan of more recent stop-motion), but WOW did it exceed my expectations! An excellent, fresh & beautiful adaptation.
Made my family sit through this (aged 8-67).. and not one peep from any of them, apart from when fate deals a poor hand to Duck (awwww!). I'm pleased to say, this film is as much a fixture for Christmas day as Snowman & The Great Escape... instant classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter And The Wolf [DVD]
Peter And The Wolf [DVD] by Suzie Templeton (DVD - 2009)
£7.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews