Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the Eye of the Beholder
This is a beautifully crafted directorial debut by the cinematographer who photographed "La Reine Margot". The story builds slowly but steadily with intriguing performances from Ewan McGregor and Carmen Chaplin. If taken at face value, the film may not be what many may expect but then that is the premise of the story itself, in that, not all the characters are what they...
Published on 31 Jan 2001

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Follies, Foliage, and Footsies
An uneven attempt to bring romanticism of 18th century costume drama in line with modern desire under the elm make this film a boring venture. Despite strong casting that features Ewan McGregor, Greta Scacchi, Richard E. Grant, and Pete Postelwaite, the story rambles and is at times incoherent. The story centers on the construction of a formal garden to mark the arrival...
Published on 12 Jan 2001 by azindn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the Eye of the Beholder, 31 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Serpent's Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
This is a beautifully crafted directorial debut by the cinematographer who photographed "La Reine Margot". The story builds slowly but steadily with intriguing performances from Ewan McGregor and Carmen Chaplin. If taken at face value, the film may not be what many may expect but then that is the premise of the story itself, in that, not all the characters are what they seem either. Using the construction of the garden as a metaphor for the various conflicts that become apparent as the storyline develops, the director never opts to spell things out for the audience in black-and-white but perhaps not surprisingly, allows the visuals to tell the story. A totally satisfying experience if you like your films to breathe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Follies, Foliage, and Footsies, 12 Jan 2001
By 
azindn (Arizona, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Serpent's Kiss [DVD] (DVD)
An uneven attempt to bring romanticism of 18th century costume drama in line with modern desire under the elm make this film a boring venture. Despite strong casting that features Ewan McGregor, Greta Scacchi, Richard E. Grant, and Pete Postelwaite, the story rambles and is at times incoherent. The story centers on the construction of a formal garden to mark the arrival of a businessman (Postlewaite) and his wife (Scacchi) to the local gentry class is marred by the arrival of the woman's lecherous cousin (Grant). Grant's presence is ominous and clearly an annoyance to landscape architect, Meneer Chrome (McGregor), whose own distraction by the couple's daughter is more than an obstacle to completion of his assignment. A lot of heaving bosoms by mother and daughter offer some distraction and foreshadow the ending. Unintentional comedic timing by McGregor make his character's statement "Garden design has made some progress since the Italian Rennaisance and their water games." an unfortunate commentary on the film. The entire production sinks under the weight of poor direction and wigs. This is a disappointment despite all good intentions by an excellent cast of actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a nice movie but would have been better in a different, 16 Mar 2003
This story is about a young, Dutch landscaper, Meaner Chrome (Ewan McGregor), who plans to create an extravagant garden for Thomas Smithers and his wife (Pete Postlethwaite and Greta Scacchi). His real plan or the real motive of this garden is to bankrupt Smithers so the not-so nice James Fitzmaurice (Richard E. Grant) can seduce Smithers wife. But Chrome begins having second thoughts about completing the plan, after he becomes fascinated by Smithers daughter Theca (Carmen Chaplin). I think people who have criticized this movie are far too harsh. I found it to have an excellent story with a talented cast. The performance that I felt most touched by was Carmen Chaplin's. Her struggle to find disorder in a world that wants to have order is an interesting element to the story. What I didn't like was the movie's pacing. I felt the message the movie was conveying that you couldn't control nature. I think this theme would have been better expressed in a short story or a short movie, not a feature length film. A part from that, I can sit through the hour and fifty minutes and feel glad that I saw this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a let down., 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serpent's Kiss [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of Ewan McGregor, I thought I would buy this DVD as I had not seen or heard of it before, however sadly I did find it a bit slow and at times boring, very seldom have I been checking the clock to see how much longer the film will be, the last piece of the film is the best. May be if I watch it a few times it will get better, but sadly not one of his best films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars serpent's kiss, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. D. Perrin "igor" (who knows, england,uk ?) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serpent's Kiss [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
all the cast are superb. Richard E. Grant as the foppish, slimy, degenerate,incestuous, avaricious, nasty villain of the piece is excellent. Greta Scacchi also plays her role with splender along with the late Pete Postlethwaite as the gulliable good hearted owner of the garden in question. wonderfully scripted and filmed it is a sheer joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Costume palaver with a garden, 29 May 2010
By 
Mrs. A. M. Machin (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serpent's Kiss [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
A little disappointed as the description and cast list suggested something brilliant. The costumes are stunning as is the setting of the house and garden. I began to lose interest though when the garden was created, with hige stone walls which were then blown down in a mysterious hurricane. They looked decidedly made of cardboard and it was difficult to take the film seriously from then on. It did redeem itself though due in no small part to Richard E. Grant's dramatic poisoning, by his own poison, which he had planned for Ewan McGregor's character. It was a relief when Ewan McGregor dropped the fake Dutch accent and the film ended happily with the tortured daughter being saved by McGregor and the pair going off together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh, dear, Greta - why this?, 14 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Serpent's Kiss [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
If you enjoy trite, pretentious, pointless would-be allegory, this is right up there.
In a badly faked "garden" in the Islamabad public convenience style, but a mockup, a cannon foundry owner with his feet on the ground is taken in by a cousin of the wife (Scacchi)and left ruined but happily holding her hand. Scacchi can render a monk engorged, but not this time. Alas. The Coca Cola Kid was a masterpiece and stiil worthy of a 15 and over. Why this gardening epic with its out of period hints at a quickie in the hothouse {don't move, you'll put the candles out)should be rated 15 escaped me. The lubricious daughter might have been used to better effect than being cupped and leeched by nuns and a mountebank chirugeon. As one whose hot dream was Ingrid Bergman until Scacchi came along, I beg Greta "give us a feisty one fot the road, dear Greta, before descending into the faux period drama scene. All that was missing ws manure, but the script filled the bill.The horses were wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad556e58)

This product

The Serpent's Kiss [1997] [DVD]
The Serpent's Kiss [1997] [DVD] by Philippe Rousselot (DVD - 2009)
5.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews