Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Metro Station
I actually HATED metro station before i bought this album for my boyfriend. He insisted on playing it in his van over and over again and after maybe the 3rd or 4th time listening all the way through i LOVE it and i cant stop listening! I had only heard Shake It and thought it was quite catchy but I hate the way Trace tries to "sing" really "sexy", he just sounds...
Published on 30 April 2009 by H. Pendrigh

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Metro Station - More Guilty Pleasure
First of all, if you are a full on fan of metal or dance, you probably won't enjoy this. On the other hand, if you enjoy highly catchy songs with an electronica/rock edge to them then here you are.

Very similar to Panic at the Disco's first album, this Californian quartet have created a sound that will grab your attention straight away but not necessarily hold...
Published on 27 Aug 2008 by flatknees


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Metro Station, 30 April 2009
By 
H. Pendrigh "xmrsdohertyx" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metro Station (Audio CD)
I actually HATED metro station before i bought this album for my boyfriend. He insisted on playing it in his van over and over again and after maybe the 3rd or 4th time listening all the way through i LOVE it and i cant stop listening! I had only heard Shake It and thought it was quite catchy but I hate the way Trace tries to "sing" really "sexy", he just sounds stupid.

The best songs have got to be Kelsey, Now That Were Done, and California.
Tell Me What To Do is hilarious because I think he is trying to rap, unsuccessfully!

But worth a listen, and worth the money =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't shake it too much, 28 Jun 2009
By 
A. McKenzie (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metro Station (Audio CD)
This isn't an awful album as such, but it could have been pretty good with better vocals and lyrics. Musically, much of the CD is pleasing, but too many tracks are ruined by the sleazy lyrics and delivery. Most lines are spoken in pervy tone with as many cringeworthy references to sex you can possibly fit in to three minutes.

Metro Station come across at wanting to be Hellogoodbye, but fall way short, in the abscence of any wit or likeability. Imagine an album full of "dirtier" versions of Here In Your Arms and you're not too far off (although Kelsey is, quite honestly, actually very good). This really could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun album, 9 Nov 2008
By 
Ms. K. Wall "What is smexx?" (London, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well considering that the lead singers younger siblings are stars on Disney's Hannah Montana, it's good to see this band have distanced themselves from that. This is a fun album, it's electronica mainly but it's so much fun.

Shake it, Control, Kelsey and Tell Me What To Do are my favourite tracks.

This band remind me of a slightly less polished version of Hello Goodbye but thats a great thing because HelloGoodbye are an awesome band.

I like the lead singers and how the two voices contrast but compliment. I'd definitely recommend this to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Metro Station - More Guilty Pleasure, 27 Aug 2008
First of all, if you are a full on fan of metal or dance, you probably won't enjoy this. On the other hand, if you enjoy highly catchy songs with an electronica/rock edge to them then here you are.

Very similar to Panic at the Disco's first album, this Californian quartet have created a sound that will grab your attention straight away but not necessarily hold it for the long term.

Out of the 10 songs on the album, about 4 would be fillers, with tracks like 'True to me' and 'Tell me what to do' being forgettable. On the other hand, 'Shake it', 'Control' and 'California' are very much memorable, being very punchy and catchy.

Apart from the fillers, another thing that irks me is the fact that this band blatantly aim for 12-17 year old girls with songs such as 'Won't be Seventeen Forever' ("We can get away with this tonight") and 'Wish we were older'.

But this is probably simply because they themselves are young, which is a good thing, as they can only get better so hopefully their follow up will be as solid as this album.

7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hannah Montana marketed for teenagers., 3 Jan 2010
By 
D. A. Mcculloguh "Deborah" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metro Station (Audio CD)
Lifeless electro pop, by a ridiculous looking group of scene kids who wouldn't have a hope in hell of getting a record deal or even being taken seriously if it wasn't for the connections of their rich parents. With so many bands out there not making moronic garbage you'd be ill advised to buy this. The singing goes for the typical Green Day grunting singing style but despite removing the intension of singing to form it's still shocking quality. The guitarist meanwhile can not play anything beyond basic power chords which anyone could achieve within two weeks and the synth (that makes them powder pop rather than powder rock) can be simply laughable.

But it's not just that the music itself is shallow, but that the intensions behind it are too. Meaningless songs about dumb teenagers doing dumb things and thinking those things give them interesting lives. Monkey see, monkey do, bad music and bad intensions that will turn another group of tweens into another generation of musically illiterate idiots that will shovel anything put infront of them.

I got this Cd for Christmas, the box has long gone but the cd sits atop my cups of tea to help keep in the heat, I'd like to say that's the limitation of its use but it has unfortunatly been played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Romp, eh., 2 July 2013
This review is from: Metro Station (Audio CD)
I'm not going to lie, I bought this expecting it to be sucky. However after hosting a listening party, I discovered the album to be a hidden gem. Sure, there is nothing new here. It's not going to change the world, but it offers a good fun experience. Stand out tracks include 'Seventeen Forever', 'Shake It' and 'Tell Me What to Do'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars metro station, 4 Aug 2010
By 
Ms. A. Nuga "ayodunni" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metro Station (Audio CD)
i love this cd all the song are amazing and i found myself singin along 2 it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Teenage pop/rock, 30 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Metro Station (Audio CD)
There was always going to be a stigmata over this band, the frontman Trace Cyrus being the brother or disney channel pop sensation Miley Cyrus. To a certain extent you can see Metro Station being another teen band that will have every 13 year old screaming in their audiences. However there is more to this album, every song is upbeat and energetic and, after one listen, you will find yourself humming their songs all day.

If you like Panic at the Disco, you could very well find yourself loving this band, their music is electro-po, cheesy but undeniably catchy. Musically very promising and if Cyrus could improve his voice, often very...breathy, but not in an effective way, the album would come along leaps and bounds. There is a definate musical sound throughout the album, giving hope that this band can improve their sound which, by no means individual, they have got their head around!

Metro Station will be the band you'll keep seeing on MTV this year and hearing played by not so hot DJ's, however you'll never be sure that anyone listens because for everyone over the age of 14, this band is sure to be a guilty secret!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metro Station self titled album, 28 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. Sarah Edwards (Yorkshire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metro Station (Audio CD)
Not to be outshone by his sister Miley, Trace Cyrus (son of Billy Ray Cyrus) shows that the musical apple has not fallen far from the tree and brings his own style to the table.

Metro Station are a young and energetic, feelgood rock/pop/punk music band with good looking band members, set to be the next Greenday! Some folks say Trace "tries to sing sexy" - but I say the man can't help it, he IS sexy! Simple as that!

For me this CD is the soundtrack to Summer '09. Everyone should have Metro Station's self titled album in their CD collection. It's inoffensive, lively and fun. This is a great album to play at any party/BBQ!

I can't recommend it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metro Station - AMAZING, 17 May 2008
By 
J. Flynn "Dr. Wolves" (Dalton-in-Furness Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Metro Station, a reletively new band from the USA. Their dance/metal style is reminiscent of Panic At The Disco's 'A Fever You Cant Sweat Out'. But if you don't like Panic then don't let that put you off. From Seventeen Forever to Shake It this album is top class from start to finish. A must have for any metal or dance fan. An essential buy and one of the best bands I have heard in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metro Station
Metro Station by Metro Station (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews