Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aphex Twin keeping up his amazing standard
As with most reviews you find here you get fans of a genre of music or an artist in particular raving on about how good the CD is they have listened to far to many times, and I am going to do just that.
There was something special about this album even before it came out. It was well advertised and Warp records were raving on about it a while before its wide release...
Published on 18 April 2003 by Tom Jarvis

versus
3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars what the hell is with him?!..
Of all the aphex tracks i own, none of this albums tracks sound in any similar vein. Excluding the rather 'messy' and 'scratchy' nature of his music, the album is a new aphex experience for me - and i dont like it.
Ive found that really, when it comes down to it, there are two styles of track; his scratchy 'drum 'n' bass' and his more 'clasical' style tracks. Both...
Published on 6 Oct 2002 by DAT


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aphex Twin keeping up his amazing standard, 18 April 2003
This review is from: Drukqs (Audio CD)
As with most reviews you find here you get fans of a genre of music or an artist in particular raving on about how good the CD is they have listened to far to many times, and I am going to do just that.
There was something special about this album even before it came out. It was well advertised and Warp records were raving on about it a while before its wide release. Take a look at the website, [...] to see the effort that has been undertaken in promoting it and to get an idea of what you may be letting yourself in for if you choose to buy it.
It is hard to say anything about the album in simple terms, as its complexity is so profound making it a generally difficult listen at first. I don’t really class this double disc set as an album at all, more an experience, a ride you can undertake for 100 minutes: a heart pounding, confused, terrifying yet calming adventure if your alert and awake enough and can be bothered to give it your attention.
Over the two discs it could be said there are two themes or atmospheres that are both completely separable but compliment each other greatly and give the album an overall feeling. The two extremes being ‘Avril 14th’ and ‘Penty Harmonium’, ambient, instrumental and classical, compared with ‘Vordhosbn’ and ‘Cock/Ver 10’ which are a fusion of a ridiculous amount of sounds to make, if you have to give it a name; something close to drum and bass, and are the type of track that give the album its vast depth.
I have owned this album for just over year I and I have just began to see the extent of, put simply now, how good it is. It is not like the Aphex Twin we know; yet it is recognisable as something that has always been looming in his previous music. Aphex Twin supposedly makes his music for himself and his friends. This is almost Frank Zappa-esque in the way it offers more than just a listen: it is an experience that has been given real time in production and if you listen to Zappa’s ‘Lumpy Gravy’ you may see some similarities with this album (a strange comparison I know. No! Lets make that a passing comment.)
Overall its not an easy listen, with tracks like Gwarek 2 which starts with what sounds like a metal bar being walked along a metal fence followed what can only be described as screams of intense pain then a warped ping bong ball zipping around a large hall: the ping pong ball transforming into a group of screeching bats and flying away. Yes its acid induced, drugs in general compliment the album but the it is more a representation of drugs themselves, which is maybe where the title (Drukqs/Drugs?) comes from.
If you’re into any Warp records stuff get this, if you’re a real Aphex Twin fan you already have it but if you don’t like weird music or only enjoy conventional dance I wouldn’t bother. There’s far to much to say about Drukqs but I imagine it gives everybody different listen and they form their own nostalgia from but that doesn’t dispute the fact that its bloody brilliant, maybe even, dare I say it, Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning piece of art, 14 Nov 2004
By 
This review is from: Drukqs (Audio CD)
This album contains the best IDM song ever created. It is track 2 on disk 1 and goes by the name of 'Vordhosbn'. This song has made me laugh, cry and almost sent me crazy. You may not understand it at first but when you get to around the 10th play you will more than likely be as dumbfounded as me. 'Vordhosbn' aside, this album also contains 8 other undescribably awesome peices of music, Omgjiga-switch 7, cock ver 10, mt saint michel + st michels mount, 54 cymru beats, meltphace 6, taking control, ziggomatic 17 and afxv237. Each and every one beautiful in its own messed up way. Although the beat orientated tunes are worth the enrty fee alone, the majority of the other work is well worth a listen. Avril 14th is nice, as are bbydonchord and Hy a scullyas lyf adhagrow. There is the odd filler lurking around, as would be expected of a 30 track lp, but you just won't care as you are taken in by vordhosbn and co time and time again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolutionary, 8 May 2005
This review is from: Drukqs (Audio CD)
To avoid a cliché when describing this album is virtually impossible, but revolutionary is the right word for me personally. Having only previously encountered "The Twin" on account of "Windowlicker" in a chillout CD purchased several summers ago I was a relative innocent. But as experimental electronica was coming to the forefront amongst friends I got to hear this and I agree that the track Vordhosbn is actually so outrageously mental that I do want to cry and scream and my heart rate actually increases to the point of ecstasy whenever I listen to it. Before I acquired the album my desire to listen to that track was actually eating me up, but after a few days I listened to the rest of the 2 discs and I am proud of my personal discovery. Without it I wouldn't be the man that I am. Tracks 8, 9 and 10 in that order on disc 1 are just indescribable; it borders on perfection and The Twin actually hit every nail on every proverbial head possible, ever, putting these in this order and letting them (not) follow on and cause spiritual chaos and metaphysical pleasure in psychopaths such as myself. Nice one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and inventive, not for the casual listener, 30 Sep 2001
This review is from: Drukqs (Audio CD)
This record represents an intriguing development in the music of Richard D. James' most popular and glamorous persona, Aphex Twin. The characteristic qualities of darkness, sadness, lyric beauty, impressive violence, vulnerability, and sinister sexual aggression still seem to be there in 'Druqks', linking it to his former works.
However, this double cd will not be as palatable to the casual Warp listener in a way that songs with elements akin to commercial 'hooks' were (e.g. Girl / Boy Song, Windowlicker, Alberto Balsalm, Come to Daddy). The tracks are a lot less easily appreciable. They are mysterious in their musical statement, as cryptic as the apparently random collection of letters which constitute the track names.
This album, I believe, will be more appealing to more seasoned Aphex Twin listeners. There is a curious interspersion of acid techno/warp d&b with ambience of similar darkness to S.A.W. 2, and occasional simple piano melodies which have a distinctively chilling edge.
Technically 'Druqks' is confounding in its resourcefulness. The diversity of samples used and the ingenuity with which they are woven together into tunes makes fascinating listening.
I believe this record re-affirms Richard James' place at the top of his field, a position which some may have said was contestable (by, e.g., Squarepusher or more likely Autechre, although please adjust as your opinion determines). 'Druqks' is the fruit of an imaginative power and unbelievably prolific creativity belonging to a genius of the same order as Bob Dylan, Mozart, or J.S. Bach.
Why 4/5? 'Druqks' has great character and calibre, and is of great human and cultural interest, however it doesn't have the melodic elegance which, let's face it, is usually initial attraction to the rich and vast wealth of music offered by this powerful and prodigious artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top of its genre, 8 Aug 2002
By 
D. NIXON "nixey" (Tokyo) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drukqs (Audio CD)
Drukqs sounds like the album Mr James has always been trying to make - an elusive masterpiece of a quality which in my opinion escaped his previous efforts for one reason or another: this album is neither repetitive nor does it sound like the theme to a nintendo game. despite the diversity in the trakqs on offer the album fits together perfectly - the squarepusher-esque beat workouts and the atmospheric piano interludes complement each other well and the production of each track is flawless. much of the album is dark / sinister and many of the sounds unique making it quite an introspective, personal listen. which is nice.
basically its an exquisite album, try it and decide for yourself. incidentally this was the first aphex album i bought but i havnt been as impressed by any of his earlier releases... enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A post-modern pleasure., 3 Mar 2005
By 
Mr. M. P. Clark "SpeakoftheDevil" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drukqs (Audio CD)
Drukqs is a fragmented and staggered masterpiece. Drukqs takes the listener on a fast-paced transient emotional joyride. The album moves shamelessly from twisted bitter acid beats to more traditional ambient melodies in a style that forces the listener into the role of a ball bearing in a pinball machine. One minute it coaxes feelings of quiet reflection and in the next minute it catapults the listener to levels of seemingly chaotic anger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh golly!, 12 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Drukqs (Audio CD)
Listening to the Aphex Twin is usually a demanding way to spend your time, and with this new album he has pushed himself to even further extremes. Although it features a number of achingly simple/gorgeous piano tunes, it is the complete insanity of the beats which will make this album stay at the top of your stack for months. I have listened to it repeatedly and still can't understand how a mere man can creat such sonic insanity. Even on the demented breakbeat tracks there are tunes - you may have to check that your cd player isn't jumping, but trust me, beneath those beats this is soulful music. Although it doesn't really add to the repertoire of Aphex Twin sounds - there are elements from his previous work in pretty much every track - the sheer brilliance of this album is scary. A work of genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give it a minute..., 3 Nov 2006
By 
Alexander J. Machell (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drukqs (Audio CD)
Let me first point out that it took no shorter than nine months for me to actually begin to like this album. I got it as a present in January after expressing my love for the brilliant 'Come to Daddy EP' and the frankly disturbing 'Windowlicker'. When I first listened to drukqs, I just didn't understand it and it seemed too different from what I had loved on his other works. Hence, it lay unplayed for many months, despite a few attempts to get 'into' it.

Recently, I have just put it on at random to give it another try, and after falling asleep with 'ruglen holon' playing in my ears I have developed a great fondness for the album. It's not easy listening, certainly not the snappy, eclectic, drill and bass style sections, but each track eventually grew on me. There is a certain quality to the album in that it works best as a full album. I won't feel satisfied if I just listen to one song. After listening to thirty tracks, I'm happy.

Perhaps I'm reviewing in very irrelevant terms, but to me, the music just bestows a great sense of familiarity. It's as if a lot of the sounds in drukqs have occured earlier in my life and I remember them almost nostalgically. There's a great sense of peace to the music, even the horrific screams of children on one track (forget which one). There is certainly something very surreal about this music.

To conclude, I must say that if you surrender your ears to the majesty of drukqs for thirty tracks, you will be under the spell of a master. Richard James wrenches you through his musical landscape, mercilessly barraging your ears with chaotic sounds and beats so that when a subdued piano track comes along it is all the sweeter. drukqs is a masterpiece, not of music, but of mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the separation of Aphexs' musical styles., 13 Jun 2004
This review is from: Drukqs (Audio CD)
The separation of Aphexs' musical styles. (4/5)
To all those who say this album a disappointment, I say that you do not fully understand the nature of aphexs' music. This is definitely one of the best works that Aphex has ever produced. Earlier material like 'Richard D James,' album and 'I care because you do,' is epochal, but they do not have the exuberance of noise which 'Drukqs,' has. 'Drukqs,' pushes the 'drill and bass' nametag which has been placed upon Aphex and taken it to the Nth degree. with storming tracks such 'vodhosbn,' 'cock/ver2,' 'Mt. Saint Michel Mix+St. Michaels Mount,' and '54 Cymru beats,' Aphex takes the drum and bass element of his work and maximises it. But, with tracks such as 'avril 14th,' 'kesson daslef,' 'btoum roumada,' (which I think is the most moving piece of music aphex has ever made) and 'nanou 2', Aphex takes his emotional side of the music and strips it bare.
Also, the ambient element of Aphex's work (selected ambient works 2 especially) he pushes these elements into stripped down version incorporating sonic nightmares and truly bizarre sound effects. Music this scary (prep gwarlek3b & gwarek2) should not be this fun, but it is.
This is Aphex twins most consistent album, although it does not reach for the future (hence the losing of one star) it does act as a brilliant summary of his work. Incorporating every element of his music into one album, this album has the "drill n bass" element, the ambient element, the emotional, moving music and the sonic experimentation of earlier records. Although, on 'Drukqs,' it is purified into unadulterated music. There is filler on this album, but unlike many reviews say, it is necessary. It shows that Richard, can produce music that is not even music such as londornarek, is necessary as this track, 'londornarek,' shows us part of Richards life outside of music(its his parents singing happy birthday to him,) which he incorporates into music, hence, music is Richards's life.
If you like Aphex twin and all the aspects of his music then you will love this album, but if you like separate parts, like the ambient material, or the more neo-classical music of 'Richard D. James' album then this album will appeal to you, but it will not appeal as well as other albums. This is the album for the fan that relates to, and feels that they understand Aphex twin and his warped take on music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEEP, 8 April 2005
By 
John Hunt "john-rh" (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drukqs (Audio CD)
This album is mental. I let it gather dust for a long time as I thought it was just another mess of sounds. It's actually really damn damn good. Maybe some of the more mellow piano tracks are bit dull, but then again, maybe not, they make the mental ones more mental. They're all expertly programmed in, never a mis-placed beat..I think that's what makes it so good. I'm the kind of person who enjoyed Selected ambient works 1 (and 2), and I didn't think I'd like this, but I did. I recommend it, it's better than the likes of Autechre etc. AFX is a Twin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drukqs
Drukqs by Aphex Twin
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews