Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still unsurpassed, glowing performances, 17 May 2009
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Tchaikovsky's Serenade for Strings is one of these works many conductors get it wrong in interpretation, therefore surprisingly few recordings for such a masterpiece. Stokowski and Bernstein completely fail to capture the inner beauty of the work, Ormandy gives superb account, but so poorly recorded. Karajan's DG recording is perhaps the most satisfying, but it lacks extra something to be a top recommendation.

I've come to know Marriner's near-miracle version quite by chance. Recently, I bought secondhand CD of Mariiner/ASMF's Elgar's Serenade for Strings and Introduction & Allegro simply because it was very cheap, and it turned out ot be the most amazing recording of the works, then I decided to buy this one as well and wasn't disappointed. Karajan's DG version of Tchaikovsky/Dvorak Serenades is admirable enough, but Marriner's account has the extra factor to be classified as THE great recording. ASMF's playing has more vitality and feeling than BPO's, and the sheer sumptuousness and sweetness of the tone makes these glowing performances in a class of its own. Marriner's judgement of tempo for each movement is perfect and he has the masterful control over the subtle chang in ebb and flow of the music.

The recording quality is as amazing as the performances themselves. Simply an awesome recording!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP CLASS SERANADES, 1 Aug 2010
By 
G. D. Green - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
having looked at reviews on the Amazon site this recording came as highly recommended: and I can see why. The recordings are lively and clear and really engage you in these super compositions. Can't fault it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb!, 10 July 2004
By A Customer
I have a much-loved Argo vinyl of the Dvorak and Grieg pieces. This adds to them a wonderful, glowing account of the Tchaikovsky Serenade for Strings. Marriner and the ASMF made some of their best stuff for Argo in the 1960s and 1970s, and this is a representative sample. For anyone who loves tuneful music beautifully played, not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine trio of remastered recordings that will be top choice for many, 23 Aug 2013
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This disc comprises popular recordings from 1969 and 1970. These were among the first of the long line of Marriner's successes with his orchestra and offer fine Argo recordings.

..........................
Optional technical note:
As the disc is marketed with the technical levels clearly promoted, the following description may be of some help:
The mastering at 24 bits (dynamic range) and 96 kHz (frequency range) may need some explanation to be more fully understood. Every time one bit is added, the stored information doubles. Early digital recordings were made on digital recorders with only 16 bits and 48 kHz of potential information. So taking 16 bits as a notional starting size of one piece of information the following upgrade occurs:

16 bits=1; 17 bits =2, 18 bits =4, 19 bits = 8, 20 bits = 16, 21 bits = 32, 22 bits = 64, 23 bits = 128, 24 bits = 25. Mathematically therefore 24 bit processing will contain 256 times the stored information. The same is true of visual information. An 8 bit jpeg file with a fixed range of 240 colours is far inferior to a 16 bit raw or tiff file giving 61,440 colours. This difference is not possible to detect on a camera phone but is easy to see on a medium or large print with all the subtle extra shadings being very visible.

Latest research throws doubt on whether this extra information can be heard. With discs played back on reference equipment such as mine (the equivalent to a large print image), the differences can always be heard with the greatest differences being regularly apparent on the oldest recordings. These observations are made as I hear them following on from direct comparisons made between each earlier and re-mastered disc as reviewed. Readers using different playback equipment may have different listening experiences.

.......................

As the above information may lead one to expect, this recording sounds very well with a most attractive bloom to the sound. The performance and sound of the Dvorak for instance is fresher in this remastering than the later recording for Philips although the couplings are totally different and not appropriate for further comparison. In general terms there is a fine sense of 'presence' and there is good detail on all orchestral detail within a believable acoustic. This is not a disc that I have been able to compare with an earlier CD version as I never owned one but this seems well up to the standard of the rest of this series which has offered a regular improvement in sonics.

The three performances have been immensely popular for over forty years, having an attractive flow about them and avoiding undue sentimentality. They compete very well with other recordings that I have owned or still own.

I would therefore suggest that this disc would be a good potential choice for anyone interested in its program. The fact that it has been such a successful proposition for so long is a further reason to consider it very seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, 12 July 2010
By 
enthusiast "enthusiast" (sussex, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK - good, beautifully played, charmed and distinctive performances. The Tchaikovsky fares better than the Dvorak but both are just a little too sumptuous and sweet. I don't return to these accounts often for that reason but when the mood is right ...

Marriner's other (earlier) account of the Dvorak and the Entremont COE version of the Tchaikovsky both give me more consistent pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Christopher W. Brierley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really cannot fault this CD, despite being recorded in 1970, it has been superbly transferred to CD, 96 KHz 24 bit remastering from the original analogue master tapes and the performances are the stuff of legend, thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars update of old lp, 25 May 2010
By 
I was very pleased to find the Neville Marriner version of Dvork / Tchaikovsky Serenades for strings on CD, as I have the same recording on vinyl which eas worn out some years ago and was sorely missed.We first became aware of this music when we were expecting our first child, whilst listening to a program on the radio called expecting a baby. As our Daughter plays the violin a little and it was her 45 birthday we thought it would be a fitting presant for her, she liked it so much that she has sent off for the score,so another generation has the benifit of this lovley music I write this as I listen to the Dvorak playing in the back ground. I hope that this will inspire other people to buy and listen to this beautiful music.
R Brown
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dvorįk / Grieg / Tchaikovsky: String Serenades
Dvorák / Grieg / Tchaikovsky: String Serenades by Academy of St. Martin in the Fields and Sir Neville Marriner
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews