Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I would like to give it 3.9 stars....
But that's just not possible :) The album contains some gorgeous songs, but there are a few flaws that mean I don't really want to give it 4 stars. There aren't enough tracks on there for me, I'd like a couple more, and too many of the tracks are ones that you would just skip over. Now for my usual reviews of each track....
1. High Priests - This one is just plain...
Published on 28 July 2004 by J. Burgess

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
thought I ordered DVD
Published 3 months ago by JOHN MURPHY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I would like to give it 3.9 stars...., 28 July 2004
By 
J. Burgess (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
But that's just not possible :) The album contains some gorgeous songs, but there are a few flaws that mean I don't really want to give it 4 stars. There aren't enough tracks on there for me, I'd like a couple more, and too many of the tracks are ones that you would just skip over. Now for my usual reviews of each track....
1. High Priests - This one is just plain creepy. The guys have good voices, I'll give them that, but it's just...weird.
2. Dance of Love - Oh I love this one. It's my absolute favourite. It's a version of "King of the Fairies," and it's beauuuutiful. I could sit and listen to it all day. I just put it on repeat; this one track alone is worth a fiver.
3. Carrickfergus - A gorgeous traditional song. I love the three notes that they play in the background (if you listen to it you'll know what I'm talking about).
4. Duelling Violins - Great, violin-y, starts off slow then becomes fast and upbeat.
5. Whispering Wind - I think I've heard Flatley playing this before, in Riverdance, but it's slow, mournful and very nice.
6. Dance Above the Rainbow - My second favourite track! It has three distinct sections. The first is a lot like Siamsa from the original Lord of the Dance, the second speeds up into a great reel which I really love, and the last is very modern and "techno," but I love it when they do this with Irish music, and I wish this section was longer because it makes me want to get up and dance!
7. The Dawning - A sadly pointless track, a bit that you always skip over when watching the show.
8. Spirit's Lament - The part where the little spirit's flute is broken and she gets Flatley to fix it for her. Also not my cup of tea.
9. I Dreamt I Dwelt - This woman has a gorgeous voice, a lovely track with the pretty sound of a harp. Ahhhhh....
10. Strings of Fire - I'm ecstatic that this one is on here, because it wasn't on the Lord of the Dance CD. I don't understand why between the two sections of music that were played on LoTD it launches into Siamsa, but luckily it goes back to the original and you can hear them playing at a speed like never heard before :D
11. Hell's Kitchen - definitely not a track to listen to on your own when it's getting dark. It's those creepy priests again, and they scare the bejesus out of me.
12. Celtic Fire (live) - I think what they mean by "live" is that they've got it off the DVD and it has screaming on it. A great track, and Michael Flatley is a genius - he can play the flute and shout out at the same time!! Live? I don't think so. But it's lovely and fast, and Flatley is a superb flute player, it's great to hear him doing that. At the end you hear him shout something like "Follow your dream! Look at this!" and this one is a nice high note to end the album on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feet of Flames, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this, really enjoy dance dvds and this came up to expectation, will watch it often and for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feet of Flames CD., 25 April 2014
By 
Gray Mage (West Sussex U K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant audio summary of the spectacular show, now a few years old but it never loses its appeal for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cd, 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very happy with this product and I received it within a day. Will make a very good Christmas present :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love everything Michael Flatley has ever done, and this CD certainly doesn't disappoint . Good mixture of tracks highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars petri dish alert!, 23 Mar 2011
I will start on a positive note and say thanks for speedy delivery and a great cd by mr flatley but the actual cd plastic cover was like a petri dish complete with bacteria, disgusting, i threw it in the bin, washed my hands and replaced the cover with a spare one i had, please look at what you are sending out to your customers!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 26 Dec 2010
By 
I have had this on vhs for some and now bought the dvd, I have always been a great fan of irish dancing and Michael Flateley.Michael is not only a great dancer but an excellent musician as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jolly Good!, 6 Jun 2000
By A Customer
Beautifull! If in doubt, buy this. Micheal Flatley isn't only an acceptable dancer (although Daire Nolan is better), he's a pretty good flute player too! The violins aren't bad either! The only things missing are the taps, particually in 'Dance of Love'. Bernadette Flyn's solo is so graceful, I cannot help but feel they should be included. Overall I was greatly impressed with the CD, and I'm sure the 2000 Feet of Flames tour music will be equally as impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You need to listen, 10 Jan 2006
I am here to tell all those people out there who hate this music or dislike it at the least, that you are not grasping the story of the music. Because the music is the story, each drum beat and each note of the fiddles and flutes tells a specific part and you NEED TO not only listen with your ears but with your mind and your heart. I found all of his music inspiring and breathtaking, but I guess I have different tastes compared to other people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 27 Sep 2014
thought I ordered DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Michael Flatley's Feet Of Flames
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews