Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you might think!
The easiest thing in the world is to crticise something negatively, we're all good at that, so here's a more difficult to put together positive critique.Forget all the basically "What a load of rubbish" reviews. Ok it's not faithful to the original stories (how many movies are?), and he wears a black suit not his iconic blue one (a very major sin in some people's minds...
Published on 27 May 2009 by django davis

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Sin City, and not as bad as people would make out
Ok, I had heard all the negativity surrounding this film, so didnt exactly go out of my way to watch it, but now I have been able to buy the blu ray for little more than a couple of quid, I decided to give it a go. First things first is the obvious comparison, and thats Sin City. It is nothing like Sin City, and nobody who liked that movie should go into this one...
Published 18 months ago by C. C. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Sin City, and not as bad as people would make out, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ok, I had heard all the negativity surrounding this film, so didnt exactly go out of my way to watch it, but now I have been able to buy the blu ray for little more than a couple of quid, I decided to give it a go. First things first is the obvious comparison, and thats Sin City. It is nothing like Sin City, and nobody who liked that movie should go into this one expecting another movie of that ilk. And this is where I think a lot of hatred for this movie stems from. Due to the obvious visuals and the blurb thats tells you its made by the same people, it lead many who were unfamiliar with the character, to expect another gritty crime drama, and what they got was a somewhat camp, black comedy.
Now I am not fan of The Spirit from the comic books because I have never read any books featuring him, but I do know that he was always a more comedic character. Most people dont seem to realise this.
I actually found the film to be fun, albeit very silly, which is fine if you are expecting that.
Visually its most certainly a Sin City copy, but I dont think its anywhere near as good, with some poor special effects (the underwater scene with Sand looks pretty horrible to me.

I think its really starting to make Frank Miller look like a one trick pony with the visuals suggesting that maybe this is the only kind he can manage.
Sin City was perfect as thats exactly what the comic book looked like, but The Spirit should have been a much more cartoon colourful affair, maybe similar to the 60s Batman tv show and film.

Over all for the price I paid, and because I knew the character was not to be take seriously, I enjoyed the film. Had I expected something else, I probably would have been 1 starring this as well.
As it is, it certainly isnt a great piece of work, but certainly worth the odd watch here and there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a Watch, 27 Mar 2013
By 
Casey Becker (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spirit [DVD] (DVD)
This film is worth a watch, but don't take it too seriously. It may have been made by the people that did Sin City and 300 but this film has it's tongue firmly in cheek. It has some laugh out moments, and it looks fantastic, However, the story is weak and the characters undeveloped enough for me. Scarlett Johanson is AMAZING as usual, and as she states in the film - looks fantastic. Samuel L Jackson overacts throughout the film, as usual.
It's worth a watch, but not really worth watching twice in my opinion. The Spirit is just a bit of floss really ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you might think!, 27 May 2009
By 
This review is from: The Spirit [DVD] (DVD)
The easiest thing in the world is to crticise something negatively, we're all good at that, so here's a more difficult to put together positive critique.Forget all the basically "What a load of rubbish" reviews. Ok it's not faithful to the original stories (how many movies are?), and he wears a black suit not his iconic blue one (a very major sin in some people's minds but it suits the muted colours better), but this is a comic story put onto the big screen after all. How logical do you expect it to be. It's about a man who's dead after all and can't die again, how realistic is that!! I have to agree, the Nazi bit came straight from the left field and some of the acting could be a bit better, but they are playing comic book characters don't forget. That aside I actually liked it... a lot. Sure the dialogue isn't up to the standard of Shakespeare, but remember neither were Sin City or 300; they used the original text from the comic books and were equally unusual; Miller wrote the script for this movie in a similar style. Let's be fair, the acting in 300 and Sin City didn't exactly set the world on fire, but really suited those films; it's the same here. Sure it's nothing like other comic adaptations like Spiderman, Batman, X-Men, Iron Man and so on, but that doesn't make it bad. It's just different; a little more arty if you like. I find that when people are very fond of something, be it a type of music, book, tv show or in this case movie, they can get a bit precious about things and become unnecessarily, sometimes vitriolically, damning of something which doesn't match their own idea of how it should have turned out (We've all seen Comic Book Guy on the Simpsons). Relax, open your mind and consider if you really would have done anything differently or better (and that's subjective remember)... I doubt it. The greenscreen documentary in the extras will explain everything to sceptics. A bold movie in my view, and if you're not precious, enjoyable... but hey, I also like progressive rock, so what do I know!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Idiosyncratic cinema on an incomparable Blu-Ray Disc, 2 Sep 2009
This review is from: Spirit [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Save the best for first: in pure sound and vision terms this is the greatest Blu-Ray produced to date. The picture quality shows sharpness, depth and contrasts above and beyond "The Dark Knight", "Casino Royale" and, in my eyes, even "Sin City". The sound quality is also in a class of its own: DTS HD Master Audio 7.1! The first BD I've come across with this quality, edging out X-Men 3's 6.1 effort for multi-channel HD class. I think most home cinema fetishists will have to buy this disc, whatever they think of the film.

The film is good, but very much an acquired taste. Contrary to many reports I had read in magazines and on the net "The Spirit" is free of bad acting, but the director has chosen and accomplished a very camp, tongue-in-cheek style for his mid 20th century heroes, and this sure as hell looks like bad acting until you size up the film's specific gravity. It is a film that takes neither itself nor the superhero genre seriously, endlessly self-parodying and always aware of the most typical cliches and how to play with them. If you just want a good superhero/comic-book flick, you may very well hate this and find it truly annoying. But if your sense of humour is generous enough you will find a lot of laughs in this film, and yet still a fair amount of the compelling and gripping; just know that the film will always let go of that grip and laugh as you fall a moment later.

As another reviewer on here states, an open mind is the key. Perhaps rent it first, if you can, it will not please everyone. But it is an entertaining and original film, think of it as a Charles Hawtrey to Sid James's "Sin City". And for anyone who lays great weight on picture and audio quality, it is a revelationary sensory experience. Great value too at the moment. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid it!, 16 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spirit [DVD] (DVD)
Staggeringly bad film that wastes everything and everybody. It has brilliant actors, who could have illuminated the screen with their acting. It has scenes that could have generated cracking dialogues/monologues. But everything eventually got reduced to crap that should be avoided at all cost. Be careful and stay away from it please, now that you have been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..GOOD FUN..", 28 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spirit [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ok this may not be quite as good as sin city or 300, but it is a very cool comic book film none the less! The cast is really good and play there parts well especially Sam Jackson as usual, the story is good and the effects are well done! This is certainly worth checking out if your big into comic book movies dont be put off by other individuals negativity! For this money you are getting a smart film and some good features and on the plus side it too is one of the best transfers to date with a perfect picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 July 2014
By 
Lars Jönlid (gothenburg Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spirit [DVD] (DVD)
it's ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good not great, 11 May 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Canberra, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The acting and the story was ok. But SPFX didn't suit the movie at all, they were gainy and the transition between black and white and colour good have been better. These are the good points. This is basicly a bad attempt to recreate Sin City.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Mar 2014
good product. on-time delivery. seamlessly trade, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Toilets are always funny...., 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirit [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Cop Denny Colt returns from the dead as The Spirit, a hero whose mission is to fight against the bad forces from the shadows of Central City.

The Octopus kills anyone unfortunate enough to see his face who has other plans. He's going to wipe out the entire city.

The Spirit tracks this cold hearted killer from the city's rundown warehouses, to the damp catacombs, to the windswept waterfront.

While all the while facing beautiful women who either want to seduce, love or kill the masked hero....

i really don't know what went wrong with this movie, but it did, and then some. the trailer made it look too much like Sin City, but the finished product is more of a really bad school production of Dick Tracey meets a timid Crow.

There are times when I was watching this and was wondering if Macht was intentionally that bad, and he was motivated to do it in the style of a forties cop series. if it was acting, I take it all back, he is magnificent, but I much doubt it because he hasn't really done anything really prolific since.

Jackson is Jackson, albeit with some really silly costumes and dialogue, and he phones this in. Mendes is poor, as are Johannsenn and Vega.

The effects try to be all Sin City, but look awful and the narrative is all over the shop.

All in all, the film is a useless dud with a performance from the lead as cold and lifeless as the Location.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spirit [DVD] [2008] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£4.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews