Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed and plenty of ketchup
Firstly, this is no shoddy movie tie-in, rushed into production at the 11th hour to coincide with the permiere. Raven have obviously been developing this in advance and the quality shows.

The developers have based the game style heavily on God of War. This is certainly no bad thing, Kratos and Wolverine are not a million miles apart in nature. The action is...
Published on 4 Oct 2009 by Rocket Scientist

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wolverine uncaged
It's a fun game about a very admirable character. Playing Wolverine could never be less than fun. The only thing I did not like much about it is that it's very repetitive. You just move from killing one bad guy to another untill the end of the game. The "bosses" are the ones where you have the most fun playing, because you need to think and discover the right way to fight...
Published on 22 Feb 2010 by Leonardo Sander Paschoal


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed and plenty of ketchup, 4 Oct 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine - Uncaged Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Firstly, this is no shoddy movie tie-in, rushed into production at the 11th hour to coincide with the permiere. Raven have obviously been developing this in advance and the quality shows.

The developers have based the game style heavily on God of War. This is certainly no bad thing, Kratos and Wolverine are not a million miles apart in nature. The action is frantic and brutal, easily trumping God of War in the claret stakes. Arms, legs and heads come flying off in the heat of battle. The controls are deceptively simple with just a single button for melee attack and another for a throw, but this is compensated by the lunge attack, special power attacks and the ability to use background objects to eliminate your enemies swiftly by impaling then on a spike, throwing them into a giant fan or simply skewering them on the raised forks of a warehouse truck. Throw in Wolverine's ability to deflect projectiles with his claws and counter melee attacks and there is more than enough in the combat to keep it from becoming repetitive.

In terms of story, it follows the key scenes from the movie without becoming too tied to the storyline. All the key boss fights from the movie are reproduced in grand style (the Deadpool fight is real bruiser) with most of the movie cast reprising their roles. Throw in a few sentinels, some Wendingos and you will have as much trouble as you can handle. The level design is excellent and the momentum is relentless. The difficulty is nicely balanced, constantly upping the ante without smothering the player - Wolverine's ability to regenerate allows you time to find a winning strategy against particular foes during the battle. There is some puzzle solving and a minutae of stealth but this game never deviates too far from its main selling point which is as frenetic slasher. The combat is hugely satisfying, extremely brutal and quite empowering.

The graphics are nice too, maybe not quite as slick as Batman Arkham Aslyum but not far off. A character upgrade is also included allowing experience points to be spent upgrading combat abilities. And, yes, you can fit Wolverine out in his original yellow costume.

All in all this is a great title, easily the best movie tie-in. It's a big game with plenty of staying power and just the ticket if you're looking for a accessible, savage tear up. Not for young kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wolverine uncaged, 22 Feb 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine - Uncaged Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
It's a fun game about a very admirable character. Playing Wolverine could never be less than fun. The only thing I did not like much about it is that it's very repetitive. You just move from killing one bad guy to another untill the end of the game. The "bosses" are the ones where you have the most fun playing, because you need to think and discover the right way to fight them. The rest is pretty redundant. Still, I had plenty of fun playing it, and would recommend to anyone who likes the movie and what the character stands for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything I want from a Wolverine Game, 3 Jan 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine - Uncaged Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this based on the reviews of others. I assumed that it would be the game version of the recent Movie. While some of the story line is similar, for the most part it is a completely separate storyline.

The game focuses in two main time frames, when he was grafted with the Adamantium, and three years previously in the operation in Africa.

As you progress through the game you gain more abilities that can be used on your "victims" (enemies), these range from shredding people to decapitation. I even managed to cut the legs off an enemy. When Wolverine is injured by fire, bullets, knives, or impaled on an object, it is great to see the wounds healing. You can also use Feral senses which allow you to see things you normally wouldn't see.

You fight a few different bosses, most of which are the same basic character so easy enough to defeat.

The best missions for me were

The Helicopter missions - Diving from Helicopter to Helicopter ripping them apart.
The Sentinel mission - Fighting a 200 foot Sentinel. (before that mission it was creepy walking past it each time)
Fighting the Blob in the Supermarket - It's almost like a rodeo.
The last African mission - You pretty much fly through it.
Fighting Gambit - By far one of the hardest bosses to defeat.

I was a small bit disappointed with the ending, but overall it was a great game. Truly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shredding, 25 Aug 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine - Uncaged Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is straightforward in what you have to do, and that is, play through the story in a rage tearing people apart as you go. And if your preferred manor of entertainment IS to dismember and disembowel everyone your size or 500 time bigger and be downright cynical as you do it, i think this is the game for you!!!
SNIKT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 23 Aug 2009
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine - Uncaged Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Very rarely does a movie generate a decent video game tie in, but thankfully X-Men Origins: Wolverine managed to pull off one of the most exciting games I've played in a long time. It's the Wolverine fans biggest dream come true and that is a game that captures the Wolverine character perfectly while allowing for the amazing gore and fighting you would expect from a character with 3 sharp blades sticking out of each hand. Usually video game tie-ins follow the general plot path of the film and add a bit around that to make the game more fun, but with this it seems that the creators just wanted to make the game they've always wanted. Because of it being a tie-in the creators were forced to maintain a certain level of movie-game relationship and it seems that in parts of the game, small amounts of the movie plot were snuck in to satisfy the movie execs while concentrating more time and effort on the story and game they wanted. The game, however, is plagued by repetition and I think if more time were spent on the move diversity and combos along with a larger diversity of boss battles, this game would've been 5 stars.

The plot of the game focuses around two separate events three years apart. The earlier events are set in Africa with Team X and tell the story of the conflicts between Logan's morals and that of the mission of Team X which is to discover the main source of the meteor deposits. The plot 3 years in the future focuses a bit around the movie plot as Logan seeks out revenge against his brother Victor Creed, but first he must seek the help of Col. William Stryker. Stryker cannot be trusted and Logan, after enduring the Adamantium procedure, breaks out of the Weapon X facility and continues his quest for revenge which takes him to the cybernetics lab which is developing a mutant hunter/killer machine known as the Sentinel.

The game takes on a platform format of play with some intense action and easily some of the best boss battles I've played in a game in years. There are RPG elements as your character increases in levels as you play and murder your way through the game in as many stylish ways as possible. The better you utilise your environment and unique Wolverine skills to take out your enemies the more exp points you will gain. You will also locate what are called mutagens which you can use to upgrade Wolverines powers to make him a stronger and more brutal killing machine. The moves can become quite repetitive as there is a lack of a diversity of combos and other ways of battling through the game. The game also takes on a puzzle type format in numerous parts of the game as you will need to go here or there to solve a little bit of a puzzle to get to the next stage of a particular level. They are refreshing but can become quite frustrating. Enemy AI is surprisingly good. When you're battling a large group of soldiers, for instance, and you start brutalising one or two, the surrounding soldiers will be cautious about approaching you which I thought quite cool.

The look of it is superb and I truly mean that. The visuals give you the belief that there was no chance this game was rushed, it looks like a lot of time was spent perfecting the look of the environments and the characters. The detail in Wolverine is stunning especially when you start to see the skin and costume be blown and torn to pieces as you battle enemies. Seeing the Adamantium skeleton makes getting beat up particularly cool as you can enjoy watching him heal from the sheer brutality of the enemy attacks. Lighting is realistic and the levels in Africa and also the level set just after you escape the Weapon X facility when you are walking through water, the liquid reacts realistically and just makes the environment seem that much better. The gore is the best part of the game and is by far one of the only things a true Wolverine fan would have been interested in. The gore is shockingly brutal and it rightfully earns the game its ESRB: M rating.

My favourite part of the game was by far the boss battle with Gambit as you are pitted against him high up on a glowing casino sign. The epic nature and feel of the battle itself just made me think "wow, this game was worth my time" and it's very rare a singular level makes me feel like that about the game. It actually proved how diverse this game could be if the effort were put into making all the bosses a bit more individually unique in terms of the battles. Also, the Sentinel mission is absolutely superb as the hint towards these in X-2 left me wanting more and giving you the ability to actually take one on

It's an immensely fun game and, although I think without the film plot holding it back this could have been so much better, I still think it's a massive achievement. If a sequel to this is to come I hope more is concentrated on boss and combo diversity and maybe even some form of online multiplayer to give it that added appeal. The voicing, music and sound effects aren't anything to write home about and the repetition doesn't do it any favours but the cool addition of costume unlockables such as the classic blue and yellow Wolverine gear are excellent. In closing, you should really get this game. If you're a fan of the Wolverine character then this will fast become your favourite game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slice & Dice has never being this much fun!, 7 Aug 2009
By 
Oscar De Vries "Claws" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine - Uncaged Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this game when it first was released with an open mind. when I first played it I couldn't help but enjoy the game so much! Honestly I actualy enjoyed slashing the enemies when they all come towards you knowing they got no chance in hell in beating you. It is a 18 rated game and with good reasons too! I haven't seen this much blood since the Mortal Kombat days and there is a lot of it too (blood) There also is the ability to decapitate the bad guys like legs, arms & heads! You can even slice a poor enemy in half or in bits if you like! Too be honest it's all good fun! and quite surprisingly Logan a.k.a wolverine is far more agressive then the film it's based on! Overal it's a great game and it's also a very long game too, mhich makes this game value for your money. I have played so many games and unfortunately there are so many games that end far too soon. This game lasts for ages and anyone who claims to have completed this game in 4 hours is lying through there teeth! This is not a suitable game for young kids as it's an 18 rated game. It does get a bit repetitive at times but you never get bored of the game apart from the big bosses which all can be killed in the same way. The other minor downside is you can't play this online which would have been nice to be able to do. This day in age games that don't have the ability to play online are taking a step back in time, however I don't realy miss online that much. In my opinion this game is probably the best movie title game so far untill Batman Arkym comes out this August which I think will beat this off the scales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, quite the contrary..., 1 Jun 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine - Uncaged Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Firstly, let me start off by saying one thing: This game is rated 18 for a reason. A good one too. From cutting some bad guys up a "bit", to slicing their heads off, to complete and total dismemberment whilst watching the spray, this game delivers on sheer stress-relief. Think of something that really irritates you, such as; your ex, politicians or people who don't indicate whilst driving, and, quite literally, let "rip". Insanely good fun, and a digital equivalent to a punch-bag.
The story not only mirrors that of the movie in most places, but also expands on it quite a bit, to produce something that X-Men fans will enjoy, with several different references to the movies and a couple to the comics, like the sentinels and Bolivar Trask. So if you are planning on watching the movie, do so before you play this.
As for the gameplay, it's simple to pick up and hack away, not quite as simple to master, and when you play it on the hard setting, there are a couple of enemies that will give even Wolverine a run for his money, and yes, Wolverine CAN die. There are a few puzzles, and while some people might say they seem out of place in a game like this, I actually really enjoyed some of them, and one or two made me think. It could be a bit short, but that depends on how long you want it to last, any longer and it possibly could have got a bit boring.
So far, great stuff.
Now for the graphics, they're good, and you will certainly be able to tell who is who, but they're not absolutely jaw-dropping. To be honest, I'm not too fussed about this, because you scratch a box, walk away and come back, and the claw mark is still there. Plus, as expected, the gore is fairly good, it's nice to see your handiwork on someone in the right place, unlike a fair amount of first person shooters, where no matter how many times you shoot someone, their skin just doesn't break. As for Wolverine himself, if he gets shot, well, to cut it short, you will be seeing daylight through a part of Wolverine you'd rather not be able to see through... Plus, there's the real-time regeneration, brilliantly done on behalf of the developers.
My final thought is that a lot of movie-games are shocking. This is not. The premise might seem a little repetitive, but if you are of this stance, do one simple thing, wait until the prices drop enough that you feel you are able to dip into your wallet for this game. I thought it was worth the price tag, a definite 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Superb, oh did i mention, its superb!!!!!, 13 May 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine - Uncaged Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Its based around the film, which is done very well, i dont normally like games made to go with films, but in this case, raven (developers) have done an EXCELLENT job..

Graphics: for a next-gen console, there are better, but they are still very good, the huge amount of blood in this game is very good too, probably 8.5/10 for graphics

Gameplay: Dozens of different moves to try out, quick kills, lunges, spins, drills, all sorts of ways to literally rip apart your enemies!! i havnt had this much fun pulling heads of things ever! lol. also you get slow-mo kills, so you can see wolverine lunge from like 50ft away and plunge into his enemies chest and then rip him open, its gruesome, but simply brilliant fun which never gets boring!

Controls: the controls are great very fluid, no clumsyness at all.

voice acting: the voice acting is very good, wolverine soudns very simialr to hugh jackman, and there are some funny lines in the game (just like the film, although not the same lines as the film)

cutscenes: some of the cutscenes are the best ive ever seen, there are some really cool bits, lots of blood, funny bits etc etc

replayability/trophies: the trophies are not too hard to get, there are a couple fo tough ones, like find all the dog tags in the game ( you find these around the place to get xp points and level up - making wolverine stronger) so a platinum trophy may be hard to achieve (but arent they always?... yes). this game has good replayability because i simply cannot get tired of shredding enemies up in multiple different ways.

bonus features: there are a few things to collect in your missions, and if you get them you unlock a mission where you are put in a room with your twin, and if you ebat him you unlock a classic wolverine costume etc (you know, yellow latex stuff lol!). you can also pick up mutagens and different health bonuses etc, which all help make wolverine better and more destructive!

Overall, this game really rocks my boat! a definite addition to anyones ps3 gaming collection, pick one up today, and trust me, you'll agree with this review!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, worth a buy if......, 31 May 2009
By 
D. Gill (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine - Uncaged Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I think this is the sort of game you either love or hate. If you like games which are instantly playable and involve fast paced brutal action, then you will enjoy this. You can literally pick it up and be killing people brutally from the start with a simple and easy to use combat system that makes playing the game fun! A lot the other reviews suggest that the game is too repetitive, which it is to a certain extent as you often battle the same enemies and have a certain way of beating each enemy, but this happpens in most games similar to this, I personally think there is enough variety to last throughout the game. The game itself is made up of one single player 'campaign' mode which lasts a long time (which you'd expect it to, as there is no multiplayer). One thing I love about the game is the various inventive ways of killing off enemies, from simply slashing them to death, turning their own weapon on them or performing a brutal execution. Graphically this game is nothing amazing although not that bad. The game is also slightly puzzle based meaning that you have to perform many tasks that require a certain amount of logic and thought, which is good, as it keeps you on your toes. Overall I'd certainly recommend this game to anyone although whose who enjoy a good action game will perhaps enjoy it even more. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great action-packed game, 14 May 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: X-Men Origins: Wolverine - Uncaged Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I was pretty impressed with X-Men Origins Wolverine. From the get go, the game is action action and more action. Combat is varied and widespread in the game with every single thing you do helping you to level up and build Wolverine into a super fighting machine by the end of the game.

There are a load of collectables in the game and large environments to fight and solve puzzles in. The graphics are nicely done but not what you would call very impressive if you compare it to other games out there atm.

Best features: Lots of cool moves to pull off and perfect. Lots of trophies to collect. Stunning CG cinematics (but note that in-game cinematics don't even come close to the CG movies). A decent length game.

Downsides: Repetative enemies and environments. A few glitches here and there. A slightly confusing story. Takes a little too long to build everything up and collect (if you want all trophies).

If you love the X-men movies and in particular Wolverine I think this game does a nice job of capturing Wolverine's spirit and making it fun to become him for the duration of the game. If you love fast-paced action games in general with deep leveling up systems then you'll also love this game. Overall 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men Origins: Wolverine - Uncaged Edition (PS3)
£14.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews