Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


185 of 194 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent mic worth the money
Customer Video Review     Length:: 6:24 Mins
Published on 1 Dec. 2012 by Taylor1396

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SAMSON GO MIC (SAGOMIC) REVIEW - Glitches & Video Interference. ArtAlienTV
I had problems with this product. It glitches and also interferes with my laptop video/flash player when recording. The glitch happens every 1.04 minutes (on this particular device) and sounds like an digital audio fart noise.
It's a real shame as it is well designed and very compact. It is a bit noisy also unless you use the -10 DB setting when recording voice...
Published 2 months ago by ArtAlienTV


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

185 of 194 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent mic worth the money, 1 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Samson SAGOMIC Go Mic Clip On USB Microphone - White (Electronics)
Length:: 6:24 Mins

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little gem!, 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson SAGOMIC Go Mic Clip On USB Microphone - White (Electronics)
Length:: 3:38 Mins

This is very good value for money; I have recorded a song with my guitar changing the strumming from soft to strong to see how the mic behaves, I hope this helps a little if you are not sure.
Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Samson strong on performance, 9 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Samson SAGOMIC Go Mic Clip On USB Microphone - White (Electronics)
Ever since the advent of Garage Band I've been toying around with different, easy-to-use, low-cost ways of recording live instruments direct to my computer (a mac in this case). These recordings did not need to be pro-studio quality, but definitely good enough for demos, multi-track work and capable of picking up and preserving the sound quality of the instrument and any effects it was running through.

The latest mic to make it home has been the Samson Go Mic and, so far, it's delivered on all fronts. Out of the box it is a lot smaller and more 'plasticky' than the packaging suggests, which somewhat lowers your expectations in terms of sound performance and value for money. However, once set up (which was instant on a mac with Garage Band identifying it first time), the sound quality was very good, much better than my previous direct input solution--the (admittedly low cost) Griffen iMic. I was using the Samson specifically to capture bass guitar played through a good quality amp, with the mic set up a few feet away on the directional setting. I was very impressed with the tone and range of the recording, although, whilst playing, latency (delay between the playing of the instrument and the sound coming through on the monitor/hedaphones/computer) was occasionally an issue. This was only sometimes apparent when playing, but never on the recording itself. This is not really a flaw with the product as all USB recording set ups at this sort of price level will suffer from this issue to some degree or another.

On listening back to the recordings the bass is warm, clean and pretty punchy. I haven't tried it specifically with higher frequency sources or for capturing more than one instrument at a time (eg in a rehearsal situation), but, for the purposes described, I can recommend this product.

A more robust / metal body and the option to go direct line (via 1/4" or 35mm jack) would top my wish list if they made a version 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an excellent mic for this price range, 18 Feb. 2015
By 
Ms T - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I've been playing with this mic for a couple of days so far, and it's definitely an upgrade from my old Creative mic.

It has great, clean sound quality on the -10 cardioid setting when speaking about 10cm or less into the mic (although I there is some popping on the "th" sounds when you're that close to the mic, so I'm going to experiment with a pop filter to see if that helps). When recording with the -10 cardioid setting, since I have a soft voice, I found the recording comes out a little quiet, especially when I'm further away from the mic, but once I raise the volume by about +6 to +10 dB in audacity or in my video-editing program, that solved that.

All in all, I'm happy with this purchase and with the sound quality it provides for my voiceover recordings for youtube videos.
If you need a good, small, easy-to-travel-with USB mic for an extremely reasonable price, this is a good choice.

(NB I noticed the Black version is a couple pounds cheaper than the White, so if you want to save a pound or two, you check out if there's still a difference in the prices :))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low cost, High quality., 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson SAGOMIC Go Mic Clip On USB Microphone - White (Electronics)
This microphone is studio quality at a reasonable price anyone can afford. I have been using this microphone for five weeks and it has not disappointed me one bit. The carboid patten mode is great for recording lectures without picking up noises from people behind, and the -10 dB switch lets you use the microphone close to your mouth for realistic and crisp recording. It picks up the highs and lows very well and the background noise is minimal enough to allow you to remove it quite easily without sacrificing quality of the audio you care about.

The fact that the go pro came with the case was very surprising, considering that this is usually an accessory companies sell separately to make an extra buck, and I have to give props to Samson for including it in the box for their customers convenience, and to ensure the longevity of the products they sell.
The case does not feel cheap either, it is very well made and feels quite rugged and sturdy to protect your go pro from any knocks and drops it may encounter during your travels.

The stand that the microphone rests on is also very good quality, and it feels like it is unlikely to break even with a bit of rough handling. The ball joint pivot is at an optimum grip that allows you to move it freely and fluidly with little resistance, while also making sure the microphone stays in its exact position without any sagging over time.

Overall this is a very good product for its price, and it would be refreshing to see many other companies that make electronic devices match the quality and price ratio that Samson have managed to achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surpisingly good, 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson SAGOMIC Go Mic Clip On USB Microphone - White (Electronics)
Bought for use in making software demo videos that required a decent quality recording of a human voiceover but had a tight budget to work with in terms of purchase.

First off the negatives thought there aren't many. It can be quite fiddly getting the recording level right and as had been detailed in some of the reviews you'll spend some time messing about in the Sound options in control panel getting the level quite right. For that "silent" voice over level the only option is the -10db seting on the mic as I found that both the surround and one directional base settings captured a lot of background noise. That can give a slightly flat sound if you aren't careful but lowering the levels and speaking closer to the mic helps this.

The good points are that this little mic (and it;s about as long as a clothespeg!) punches well above it's weight in terms of quality sound capture. Although I;ve used it for voice over and some very simple guitar/vocal demo tracks I can see that it has a range beyond that and could easly be used for group recordings or podcasting etc. I've been very impressed by how good it is at picking up an un-amplified acoustic guitar and making it sound almost as if it's been put through a pre-amp rather than just picking up the sound. Great tones as well.

So overall it's a massive thumbs up. Might invest in an extra long mini-usb cable at the same time if you are planning on podcasting from home and you need to ploug it in the back of your PC but need to have it sat close to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent sound quality and value, 30 Jun. 2012
By 
N. Charles "Nik Charles" (Albion) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson SAGOMIC Go Mic Clip On USB Microphone - White (Electronics)
I bought this for use in skype and online radio discussions. I had started out with built-in laptop mic and tried 2 other external analog mics, but still hated the poor sound.

Had already been using audacity so, having read reviews here, ignored all software discs and just plugged it in. Installs automatically in XP no problem. also is detected by skype with option to set as default device. only minor niggle here is will also set headphone jack on mic as default sound out, but simple to change settings in windows or apps.

First test recording in audacity was unbelievable. using cardioid setting and speaking from about 12" away, sound was clean and clear with v good rejection of off-axis noise. the mic led clip indication makes setting level easy. Had to reduce all levels compared to previous analog mics.

From first use on skype, improved sound quality was noticed instantly by friends online. One friend, experienced audio/video technician, bought one just from hearing sound improvement over skype.

the stand/clip is ok but would not clip on top of my old, chunky laptop too well. Whilst it does stand ok, i have opted for a desktop stand to reduce vibration noise.

not had use for -10db setting. this microphone is sensitive to breath and pops so anyone wanting to use it close up should consider adding pop shield.

excellent quality for price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best £ for £ USB microphone on the market!, 11 Dec. 2013
By 
Technouz (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samson SAGOMIC Go Mic Clip On USB Microphone - White (Electronics)
The Samson Go microphone is ideal for anyone looking for near-studio quality sound recording for barely a fraction of the price. This USB condenser mic has gained reputation as being the most favourable microphone by YouTubers from all niches.

Pros:
- Small and lightweight
- Three modes:
- High quality sound
- Great `bang for buck' value for money
- Very laptop-friendly

Cons:
- Built-on clip could be more solid
- Not completely desktop-friendly

What's in the box?:

The Samson Go comes packaged with a two-meter USB cable, a carry case (which can only fit the microphone and nothing else), warranty information, a CD containing some optional drivers and audio recording/editing software and a user manual.

The microphone is packaged into a fairly small box, but that had effect on my reaction when I initially opened the box...

First Impressions:

It's tiny!

The Samson Go microphone was much smaller than I had anticipated. Measuring just under three inches in length it easily fits into any desktop or portable set up. It features a switch to choose between Cardiod, Omni and -10dB modes, a 3.5mm headphone socket and a USB socket. The most prominent feature of the Go was the clip which allows the microphone to stand up on a flat surface or be clipped to a monitor or laptop clamshell.

Sound Quality:

It's a microphone, so no doubt you will want to hear for yourselves how well it performs. Below is a video comparing it to a built-in microphone on my Sony Vaio laptop to the Samson Go mic in three different modes:

Overview & Verdict:

This is a very well built product with incredible attention being paid to its design. Regardless of it being so small, it feels very solid in the hand and that gives it a very premium feel. It has plug and play compatibility with Windows and Mac so all you need is the two-metre USB cable supplied. You will be able to plug the mic into almost any machine and start recording right away!

I found the balance of sound quality with price exceptional. For just over thirty pounds there is no microphone that rivals the Samson Go. Stepping up from conventional built-in mics I have been thoroughly impressed with the Go.

My primary use for the mic is YouTube video voice-overs for which the microphone works very well. Sound is very crisp, clear and background noise is easily removed using the Cardiod or -10dB mode. I imagine this mic is also well suited to group podcasts and recordings too as the Omni mode does a very good job of picking up sound from all directions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing Product!, 17 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Samson SAGOMIC Go Mic Clip On USB Microphone - White (Electronics)
Wow.

I use the microphone for several things on my Desktop PC.

I use it to narrate over video while video editing and to record music and vocals for singing.

Narrating first is clear and powerful. The ability to switch between different modes is great as it lets you get the dynamics of the room right. I am no where near the professional when it comes to audio but it sounds so crisp. It's so powerful that you can hear the whirl of my fans in the computer, this is easily sorted by moving the mic away and changing the mode of recording. The long wire and the clip also is great, I get a bit of room when recording.

Although I haven't fully tested it for recording music and vocals, I did a few tests when I first got the microphone. I was blow away my the quality of the sound, using Cubase to record.I did find out that the microphone records in mono which is a little disappointing but with a little edit in Cubase you can make it sound like surround sound.

The product is small, the box it comes with is awesome and you get a good amount of kit with it too. You get a clip, a case, the USB cable and software too.

I am really pleased with this for a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, affordable but not lacking quality, 12 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Samson SAGOMIC Go Mic Clip On USB Microphone - White (Electronics)
I was initially weary of whether to buy this mic until I started searching Youtube for unboxings and testing. After, I was very impressed and bought it straight away with express delivery yesterday, received it today.

Setup was a breeze and Windows 7 detected the microphone straight away, recording is and was just as easy. Rather than using the editing software that comes in the box with this I've been using Sony Vegas Pro (that video editing program has some nifty audio editing tools) and the sound is nice as well as crisp. With three options via the switch on the side of the mic to choose from, I find the best for podcasting and/or youtube is the -10 Decibel setting although it does tend to be quiet (this can be overcome by a little equalization in your editing software).

If you're intending to buy something that's better than your average PC microphone or for another purpose, it's an ideal replacement. I personally purchased this for my Youtube tutorials and such.

Final Verdict:

- Cheap and affordable
- Ideal replacement for
average PC/low quality microphones
- Portable
- Comes with editing software
- Minor con with the -10 decibel being too low in volume, but easily fixed
through editing
- Good for Youtube and
podcasts

Recommended?
HIGHLY!

Worth it?
Every penny, amazing quality

Rating: 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews