Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old faces return for a vintage Frasier finale
The eleventh and final season of 'Frasier' (tying in longevity with parent sitcom 'Cheers') marks the show's true return to form, set in motion by the average season 10. This can be attributed to the return of writers Joe Keenan and Christopher Lloyd who, individually and together, produced some of the all-time classic episodes in season's 1-7. Both writers bring a real...
Published on 23 July 2008 by M. D. P. Meechan

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE FAREWELL FRASIER DESERVED...
Although I think Frasier is one of the best comedies ever,I don't think the final season was quite the return to form that many would have one believe,despite the return of the original writers.Sure,there are some great episodes,but also too much filler and some fairly poor episodes too.What is annoying is to see John Mahoneys character as Martin change from a genuine...
Published on 16 Nov 2009 by Juan Sheet


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old faces return for a vintage Frasier finale, 23 July 2008
By 
M. D. P. Meechan (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The eleventh and final season of 'Frasier' (tying in longevity with parent sitcom 'Cheers') marks the show's true return to form, set in motion by the average season 10. This can be attributed to the return of writers Joe Keenan and Christopher Lloyd who, individually and together, produced some of the all-time classic episodes in season's 1-7. Both writers bring a real creative force to this final season, and quickly set about dealing with some of the show's most recent problems. The grating Julia Wilcox (Felicity Huffman) is dispatched with early in the season, and the tensions between Frasier and Martin (a core theme of the early seasons) are renewed when father and son battle for the attention of Ronee Lawrence, Frasier's former babysitter. We also see more use of Roz; a better dynamic between Daphne and Niles (Daphne gets to be funny and kooky again!); and, the icing on the cake, the 'return' of Niles' oft-talked about, never-seen ex, Maris Crane.

The drama of past seasons is ditched in favour of fun storylines, and amazingly there are some episodes which can rightly be viewed as 'classic Frasier'. The first is the hilarious 'The Doctor Is Out', featuring Patrick Stewart in a superb performance as Frasier's new 'friend', a gay socialite with designs on the good doctor. Another classic episode is 'High Holidays' that makes excellent use of the main cast, especially John Mahoney as Martin. Versatile 'Roseanne' star Laurie Metcalf appears as Frasier's first wife, the children's entertainer Nanette 'Nanny G' Guzman, in 'Caught In The Act' which never lets up its frantic pace. Special mention must also go to the series finale, 'Goodnight Seattle', which - despite a bloated first half - is one of the best 'finales' you'll see. Many of the show's old favourites - Bebe, Noel, Gil, Kenny - get one last chance to shine in this episode but the true focus is on Frasier, who finally realises how he can be truly happy. The last few minutes of the show, when Frasier says goodbye to his family, friends and listeners, is a tear-jerker, and reminds viewers just what they are about to lose: one of the most intelligent, consistently brilliant comedy series ever produced for television. A few episodes in this final season are far from perfect, and everything ties up too neatly in the finale, but those minor niggles aside: don't miss out on this superb swansong for TV's favourite psychiatrist. Goodnight Seattle, we loved you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on form for one final fling!, 12 Dec 2009
By 
C. Capel "the_tingler" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frasier: The Complete Season 11 [DVD] (DVD)
Unbelievable. After writing off the last few seasons of Frasier I was quite content to end my DVD collection with the okay-but-obviously-not-as-good-as-previously Season 8. I'd heard, and seen, how the show was heading more in a drama direction, with far too many awful support characters being introduced and our favourite characters being wasted. Then someone told me that for the final season, Series 11, the original writers came back and turned the show into something good again.

And how! At its best Frasier was the funniest comedy sitcom ever made - and this is Frasier at its best once again. For those who want to skip Seasons 9 and 10 don't worry - there's very little catch-up needed. Apart from Niles and Daphne being married and Bulldog being back at KACL, you can leap right in and be comfortable with everything.

If you love Frasier but, like me, thought the last few series were rubbish, I suggest you buy the Final Season and re-evaluate that opinion. No crappy drama, no irritating side-characters, and even Daphne's back to being lovably kooky again. I'm glad I can see one more great series of Frasier that I'd missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The end of a great series .................., 12 July 2009
By 
Anthony (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frasier: The Complete Season 11 [DVD] (DVD)
My husband and I have enjoyed the complete series of Frasier and are now wondering what to watch at the end of the day that will make us laugh and send us off to bed smiling. This last series did not disappoint. Maybe not as strong as previous series, but well planned to bring the Crane story to a close. Just going for a sherry ................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sad to see the end, 13 Jan 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Frasier has been such a big part of my TV history from his first appearance on Cheers to the last episode of Frasier. I have always been engrossed in the character and he was such a good choice for a spin off. The main cast have given so much life to the show and it is sad to see the end of it.

Some hilarious episodes, especially with guest Patrick Stewart taking a fancy to Frasier. I still think it is clever how you can build a story around a character that you never see - Maris finds herself embroiled in a murder investigation and is putting a strain of Niles and Daphne's marriage. Then there are the final 2 episodes "Good Night Seattle"

I built this collection up as it went along, but I would suggest that any fan looking to buy them all try looking at the box set of all shows. Although prices fluctuate the complete set is cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best seasons, 5 Jan 2009
A Kid's Review
Dont listen to the other reviews i think this season is one of the best, better than season 5. There is one episode here that is one of the funniest Frasier episodes ive seen its when Frasier goes back to private practice (cant remember the name).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching, 7 Oct 2008
By 
P. J. Sharp "Hill Top Man" (Marlow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am suprised by the low scores series 11 recieved. We watched all the series but like many got bored arounf series 9 and stopped watching.

Having since enjoyed comedy like Curb Y E and Conchords - We thought this would be embarrassingly bad.

Well blow me over - it is excellent - very funny, just as well written, and once again VERY FUNNY - Nils, Fraiser and their Dad play it very well - WELL RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great final season, 10 Sep 2008
By 
KN (Lancs. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The 11th and final season of Frasier on DVD has arrived. It completes a quite sublime comedy series of a standard that will probably never grace our screens again. This is some achievement given the drop in quality that was evident in seasons 8 and 9, which would normally have prompted the shows demise. However, in a final throw of the dice, the writers and cast have produced some excellent comedy and gone out on a real high.

To summarise - Frasier dumps that awful Julia (a priceless scene) and eventually finds true love, Roz returns to KACL and later becomes station manager, Niles and Daphne have a baby, and Martin also gets lucky in love.

There are some brilliant standout episodes that would be contenders for a Best-Of compilation (with past masterpieces such as 'The Innkeepers', 'The Matchmaker', 'Ham Radio', 'The Two Mrs Cranes', 'The Ski Lodge', 'Three Valentines' and 'Dinner Party'):

Ep.2 'A Man, A Plan and A Gal' - Frasier pledges to commit to Julia but soon regrets his boldness.
Ep.3 'The Doctor is Out' - Frasier is wrongly outed, leading to a new male friend (Patrick Stewart) with hilarious consequences.
Ep.8 'Murder Most Maris' - Niles shows admirable calmness when his crossbow is used as a murder weapon by Maris, until there are no straws left at Cafe Nervosa....
Ep.11 'High Holidays' - Niles tries to rebel by getting high but things backfire.
Ep.15 'Caught in the Act' - Frasier cannot resist his childrens entertainer first ex-wife (played by Laurie Metcalf) and following some badly-timed intimacy ends up on stage dressed as a baby!
Ep.16 'Boo' - To help a patient with a fear of clowns, Frasier dresses up as one!
Ep.23 'Goodnight Seattle' - the final frantic and very moving episode.

Despite my very positive review, I decided to give it 4 stars, rather than 5, because overall I think this season still doesn't reach the heights of seasons 1-7. Back then, Frasier was at its best with all the petty sibling rivalries and of course Niles chasing Daphne. It would also have been nice to actually see Frasier get his gal (Charlotte) at the end rather than assume things work out. In this series, we also get a lot of guest characters played by famous actors, which was never done earlier, or needed. Nonetheless, I recommend it to all fans of witty, often farcical, yet poignant comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frasier - The Funniest SitCom of All Time, 29 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frasier: The Complete Season 11 [DVD] (DVD)
The essence of the Frasier formula is a sharp wit, intelligent discourse, and a dry sense of humour all combined with the skills of a wonderful cast of talented actors who meld together into the iconic Seattle show that is Frasier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE FAREWELL FRASIER DESERVED..., 16 Nov 2009
Although I think Frasier is one of the best comedies ever,I don't think the final season was quite the return to form that many would have one believe,despite the return of the original writers.Sure,there are some great episodes,but also too much filler and some fairly poor episodes too.What is annoying is to see John Mahoneys character as Martin change from a genuine nice guy to a mean,son of a bitch with a touch of dirty old man who tramples all over Frasier to get to Ronee Lawrence.This is just so ridiculously out of character,I cannot believe they included it,comedic license or not!!Also disappointing is the lousy (to my mind) inconclusive ending.Frasier deserved much better,and the final episode is sadly chaotic to no comic effect,with only Frasiers moving speech worthy of the occasion.So this season is only really essential for completists (like myself),for casual viewers Seasons 1-7 are the most consistently funny and clever comedy you are likely to see anywhere on this planet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fun and very "Frasier" final season, 29 Jun 2014
Frasier is one of those rare shows that was funny from the moment I started watching it. The pilot episode introduced characters who were instantly likable and perfect to carry a series for 11 years.

Over those 11 seasons there were ups and downs as there are in every show. I still feel that the early 3-4 seasons were the best for this show but that does not by any means, mean that the later seasons were bad. In truth they were simply just more of the same great TV show, but sadly nothing new.

This is actually much the case for this final season. Wrapping up a show this big is a hard task as it needs to do the show justice but at the same time finish it with some real finality. The first part I have no problem attesting to, it was still funny and it was very enjoyable but I didn't necessarily get the sense of things winding down. As much as I like some realism in TV shows, at the same time you have to remember that TV shows aren't real life and in no time more than endings is this the case. It is perfectly okay, if not expected, for everything to start falling into place for a season finale.

It could be argued that Martin's new relationship as well as Daphne and Nile's growing relationship was the show beginning to wind down but as much as it is good to see that, I can't help but remind myself that this show is called Frasier. He's the star character, he is the one that really needs to find some closure and that was what was lacking from this series. Every episode that went by with him going through the same routine (struggling with his love life, being set up on blind dates and pretty much returning to the status quo every few episodes) was an episode lost in truly making this a five star final season.

But I gave it 5 stars, why do that if I am not happy with it?

Well the truth is the final star that took this from an above average series to one of my favourites was the final episodes. It was Frasier at its best and it was an example of what the entire final series should have been. When I heard "Tossed Salads and Scrambled Eggs" for the last time I was genuinely moved by this great show and realised that even though the final season wasn't everything I hoped, it was certainly good enough for a sentimental fifth star.

So overall this was an enjoyable end to a truly great television show. I'm glad it ended when it did as it was beginning to get a little stale but at the same time I am also glad that it had the amazing 11 year run that it did and more than 250 episodes to look forward to re-watching sometime in the future.

Farewell Fraiser, you will be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frasier: The Complete Season 11 [DVD]
Frasier: The Complete Season 11 [DVD] by David Hyde Pierce (DVD - 2009)
8.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews