Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly Awesome
I didn't think I would like this but wow was I surprised! Turns out it's my favourite season of the original series. Yes I consider it a season, it has all the original actors, Gene Roddenberry, and even a few cross-overs to earlier episodes. The animation style is very basic, but it still allowed for things that just weren't possible or would have cost too much to do in...
Published on 27 Aug. 2010 by Jer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Animated Series.
I obtained a boxset of this, a different type but similar to this one, some years ago. I enjoyed all the episodes of this animated series, just as much as all the other Star Trek series. This animated series is the forgotten Star Trek series, and should have equal status to the others.
This animated series, or most of it anyway, was originally meant to be the 4th...
Published 7 months ago by R. Kramp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boldly going on...., 23 Sept. 2010
By 
Sharon Woodward "DGTW1" (A land where the Laserdiscs roam free!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
This was a show that was a real ground-breaker, one that should have never really happened. The original series had already ended around three years prior to this and despite TREK making a global splash in syndication, no one wanted to spend good money on more live-action episodes (probably why the network deliberately torpedoing the third season by slashing the budget and lumping it with the worst day/time-slot in history). No, live action episodes were done.

So back it came via animation, with an unheard of main cast reunion, whereas most animation shows usually did not have the original cast back. A lot of the the original series writers also came back too.

Ok so some of the animation is a bit ropey, the continuity errors are many, the reuse of stock shots is beyond numbering and some of the stories are just plain awful...but it somehow works as a whole. Look past the limitations of the cheap (FILMATION) animation and just enjoy it.

It's STAR TREK, but not (quite) as we know it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trek but not as we know it...., 9 Jun. 2010
By 
George Henderson "GMH" (SLIGO ROI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
Star Trek owes a lot to this little series.Originally a saturday morning filler I remember watching it on BBC in the 70's
As a child and a Trek fan as were many friends it kept alive the flame of Trek in our young minds and in countless others too I'm sure.All the original cast except Walter Koenig ,Chekov recreate their characters here I can't remember this happening before or since with such a crossover I may be wrong on this .The stories are written by some of the original series writers Gerrold D.C.Fontana etc and as such are excellent.I know it looks a little dated but with animation being so popular nowadays this show certainly deserves a chance to prove it's worth and at the current price it's an even more attractive proposition and a essential part of any Trek collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Series continues...In animated form., 2 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
Star Trek The Animated series captures the atmosphere and adventures of the original Star Trek TV series. It's able to create locations and aliens that the small budgets of the TV series couldn't achieve and is well worth a watch. Favourite episodes are Beyond The Farthest Star and The Infinite Vulcan. Features the voices of all the main actors except Walter Koenig, and James Doohan plays Scotty again plus provides the voices for most of the supporting cast.. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anybody who was alive at the time, and many others !, 19 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
A classic genre defining television series, with an animated spin-off made on the cheap. This said, I cannot fault it. The beauty is in the Star Trek framework and the excellent story lines. I even found myself recoiling when a "monster" suddenly appeared in one of the episodes I was that plugged into what I was watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Animated Series., 8 Jun. 2014
By 
R. Kramp (Parow East South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
I obtained a boxset of this, a different type but similar to this one, some years ago. I enjoyed all the episodes of this animated series, just as much as all the other Star Trek series. This animated series is the forgotten Star Trek series, and should have equal status to the others.
This animated series, or most of it anyway, was originally meant to be the 4th season of the original series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
A absolute must for a real Star Trek fan ;-) . Short stories ( about 25 minutes ) with voices from the original cast . Some stories has Connection to both the Original serie as to TNG .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Trek, But its not quite the Final Frontier, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
I remember this on Saturday morning TV, and struggled to find them on DVD. So was very pleased when I came across this, especially for £10!
Ok so quite a few corners have been cut with the production, and the animation looks a bit dated. Plus the story lines are not exactly dynamite. BUT it's Star Trek, and was aimed at kids. If your a Trek fan you'll appreciate this, but it wont take pride of place in your collection. A good bit of nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars entertaining, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
It is a side of Star Trek I have never seen. It has some innovations in it as well, such as the first holosuite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars paramount entertainment, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
i could not believe i got over 500 minutes of classic trek for the price of starbucks, this product easily bucks the star trek trend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
Considering when this was made, the animation is very good. The story line is good, and is very enjoyable.
No problems with the disk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD]
Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] by Bill Reed (DVD - 2009)
£22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews