Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly Awesome
I didn't think I would like this but wow was I surprised! Turns out it's my favourite season of the original series. Yes I consider it a season, it has all the original actors, Gene Roddenberry, and even a few cross-overs to earlier episodes. The animation style is very basic, but it still allowed for things that just weren't possible or would have cost too much to do in...
Published on 27 Aug 2010 by Jer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
Had this series on video and wanted to upgrade, it was the best idea I had. The picture is much better.
Published on 2 Mar 2010 by Mrs. E. Hayter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek - the Animated Series [DVD] [1973], 11 Sep 2009
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought these mail order on VHS about thirteen years ago. At the time I was a huge Star Trek fan but have now mellowed into all things. When I heard these were coming to DVD I jumped at the chance to see them cleaned up, remastered and not on VHS.
I was well impressed with the way they have been cleaned up but also with how my memories of each episode watched after school comes back.
I have however noticed some things about the cartoons that bother me.
1. The theme isn't from Star Trek TOS, but sounds more like some sparkly mid 1970s type of Dungeons and Dragons cartoon theme.
2. The stories themselves are great but the incidental music seems to be louder, shriller and more annoying than I remember. The acting is excellent but is totally drowned out by the strange scene filling music. Not all of the 1960s TOS show had music.
3. Chekov is not in it.

These things shouldn't distract anyone from buying them however as they are only things I have problems with. I like the character of Chekov who was never expanded upon, ever. Christine Chapel didn't get a decent look in either.
All in all a good twenty odd episodes and at a good price. If you've already bought the remastered Series 1, 2 and 3 of TOS or are getting the Blu Rays and then the Blu Ray films, get this to add to your collection because it is 'Tip Top, Mr Spock.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Trek, But its not quite the Final Frontier, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
I remember this on Saturday morning TV, and struggled to find them on DVD. So was very pleased when I came across this, especially for 10!
Ok so quite a few corners have been cut with the production, and the animation looks a bit dated. Plus the story lines are not exactly dynamite. BUT it's Star Trek, and was aimed at kids. If your a Trek fan you'll appreciate this, but it wont take pride of place in your collection. A good bit of nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek: The Animated Series (DVD), 7 Jan 2014
By 
Patrick G "PJG" (Ardrosson, Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
Great star trek series
super addition to any star trek
collection, great adventures never
been seen before and a good price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars entertaining, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
It is a side of Star Trek I have never seen. It has some innovations in it as well, such as the first holosuite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'm a Trekkie Fan, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed the DVD but disappointed as it has no Audio Description for Blind people but has text for the Deaf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars paramount entertainment, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
i could not believe i got over 500 minutes of classic trek for the price of starbucks, this product easily bucks the star trek trend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
Considering when this was made, the animation is very good. The story line is good, and is very enjoyable.
No problems with the disk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek: the Animated Series, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
This should really simply be regarded as season four of the original series, as it's easily as good as at least the later live action episodes, with the original cast recreating their roles perfectly for animation. Officially, the animated series is not regarded as "in-continuity" with the live action stuff. But who cares about "officially"? It's brilliant all the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STAR TREKKIN!, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
I RECOMMEND IT TO ANY EITHER CHILD OR EVEN ADULT FAN OF STAR TREK - A MUST FOR ANY STAR TREK FAN'S COLLECTION!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. B. K. Hamill (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] (DVD)
everything my neice wanted she loves it, been looking for ages in trying to find it, she's so happy now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae25c51c)

This product

Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD]
Star Trek: The Animated Series [DVD] by Bill Reed (DVD - 2009)
15.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews