Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sit back and enjoy the ride...
Wristcutters: A Love Story (2007), is written and directed by Goran Dukic and stars Patrick Fugit and Shannyn Sossamon. It is set in a strange afterlife way station that has been reserved for people who have committed suicide.

After Zia (Patrick Fugit) commits suicide by cutting his wrists, he finds himself in an afterlife limbo that is much the same as his...
Published on 28 May 2008 by ratstails

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars strange trip
This is perhaps the strangest road movie you will ever see. It takes place in a parallel world where people end up after committing suicide. The same as this world but a little worse. Nobody smiles, jobs are all mundane, there are no stars in the night sky and no colour in the flowers. Zia, played by Patrick Fugit, offed himself because of an old girlfriend. Then he...
Published on 18 Aug. 2008 by doublegone


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars strange trip, 18 Aug. 2008
By 
doublegone (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is perhaps the strangest road movie you will ever see. It takes place in a parallel world where people end up after committing suicide. The same as this world but a little worse. Nobody smiles, jobs are all mundane, there are no stars in the night sky and no colour in the flowers. Zia, played by Patrick Fugit, offed himself because of an old girlfriend. Then he finds out she killed herself a month after him - so should be somewhere in purgatory too. And so he sets off to find her, in the company of a crazy Russian rock musician and girl hitcher they pick up along the way. They drive around in a beat up old car, with a black hole under the passenger seat, and along the way bump into Tom Waits. I don't really care what his character is supposed to be because as usual its really just Tom Waits.

This is an impressive premise for a movie - and its an extremely quirky affair. I found it pretty difficult to engage with though on anything other than a superficial level, so when it got the the end I found I didn't really much care what happened to the characters. There are moments of some black humour in the movie but calling it a comedy would be stretching things (and I know it has been described as a comedy or even a romantic comedy). You may smile knowingly but you will not guffaw or laugh heartily. Other than that it is a little slice of indie bleakness. Stylishly done but dragging a bit in the middle.

An interesting film but ultimately for me an unsatisfying one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sit back and enjoy the ride..., 28 May 2008
By 
ratstails "ratstails" (Penshaw, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Wristcutters: A Love Story (2007), is written and directed by Goran Dukic and stars Patrick Fugit and Shannyn Sossamon. It is set in a strange afterlife way station that has been reserved for people who have committed suicide.

After Zia (Patrick Fugit) commits suicide by cutting his wrists, he finds himself in an afterlife limbo that is much the same as his former reality, just slightly worse: the colour is dim, there are no flowers, and no one can smile. This strange realm is populated by people who have committed suicide, such as Eugene (Shea Whigham), a Russian rocker who lives with his mother, father, and brother (all suicide victims). Much of the movie was shot on super-16 colour infrared film, which was produced specially by Kodak. The colour-shifts enhance the feel of the parallel world and add an unusual visual beauty. As the subject matter would suggest, this is no side splitting comedy, but it is a light hearted (and rather weird) journey through a bizarre tale of love, friendship, and the afterlife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good film but a little too quirky for some, 29 July 2008
By 
Mb Awan "abiriax" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I can certainly see why this film has won so many awards; it certainly has buckets of originality. For example, it is the first film that I've seen that makes light of suicide. It uses relatively unknown actors, and a few others beside. Whether you'll like it or not depends largely on your taste. If you are bored with the usual hollywood, no-brain cells required blockbuster, I believe, like me you'll find this film a breath of, well not fresh, but certainly original air. It's not perfect, it doesn't always make sense, but it is certainly one for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quirky humour and compelling love from beyond the grave!, 28 Jun. 2008
By 
Marco Busani "Proven Intellect" (Edgware, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Wristcutters is a movie about those that commit suicide finding themselves existing in a strange limbo world where they have some sort of second shot at life. Zia the main protagonist finds himself in this particular aforementioned place after slashing his wrists after rowing with his girlfriend Desiree. He becomes best friends with Eugene a loquacious and lustful failed rockstar, who's main mission in this quasi-afterlife is to bonk as many women as is feasibly possible. By chance Zia finds out that Desiree has followed in his footsteps and has also taken her own life.

Thus, the second part of the movie begins and Zia sets out on a long road journey with Eugene to attempt to track her down. Along the way they pick up a hitchhiker in the shape of Mikal a feisty and attractive brunette that ended up in this limbo by unlucky chance. In the end Zia tracks down his ex at a mystery Messiah camp but finds he has fallen in love with Mikal instead- dilemma.

Wristcutters definitely has its moments of humour, here are a few examples: Tanya's 'Are you sorry now? note', Zia's unexpected fall from their elevated car, Eugene's intimation that Desiree would probably have found herself someone else by now, the black hole phenomenon is also funny if a little strange. I also enjoyed the movie ending, its touching that Zia wakes up in hospial beside Mikal, getting another shot at real life following his second suicide, with the new girl he loves.

On the downside the movie is very short, is quite obviously low budget, the actors are virtual complete unknowns with some of the acting especially from minor characters being a little wooden and the whole premise of the plot is rather bizarre, especially the Messiah Camp.

To conclude, Wristcutters provides some worthy, light entertainment that is worth watching, just don't expect anything astounding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Romcom masquerading as bleak indie, or vice versa?, 7 July 2008
By 
A. Miles (Al Khor, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
'Wristcutters' premise is genuinely original: If one commits suicide, one is sent to a particularly low-rent afterlife, a cross between depression-era America and 1970s Soviet Russia. No-one can smile, the foods crap, and Joy Division is on the pub jukebox. When our protagonist arrives, he embarks on a journey to find an erstwhile girlfriend, who has also topped herself.

Thereafter, the film raises more questions than it attempts to answer: Whilst I couldn't really grasp what the director was trying to say in the film, one did wonder why, for instance, the afterlife is exclusively populated by white Americans: Is God a segregationist or something?

However, despite the metaphysical trappings, the film quickly becomes a pretty generic US indie movie - essentially it's the usual trio of grungy hipsters on the usual road trip, mumbling to each other as usual to the usual eclectic soundtrack. In this context,even a cameo from Tom Waits just seems like another independent movie cliche.

Overall then, and unsatisfying film: It raises big questions about morality and mortality, but then fails to discuss those questions: 'Wristcutters' uses the independent aesthetic to present itself as having more depth than it actually possesses. The ending is the big giveaway: a piece of pure Hollywood schmaltz that shows the film as the piece of lightweight fluff it, at heart, is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic American Independent. Recommended., 17 Jun. 2008
By 
Johnnybluetime - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We watched this last night and thoroughly enjoyed it.At 85 minutes it certainly doesn't overstay its welcome. A classic example of an independent Amercian movie,the sort of thing that Europeans also seem able to do but the British can't. It's a kind of post-mortem boy meets girl/road movie.It's well written,adapted from a novel,nicely shot, and well cast,Patrick Fugit is perfect for this sort of thing with a grungy look that could be from anytime between the late '60's and now.Despite the fact that he's depressed,post-suicidal, and unable to smile he holds the film together and allows the more showy characters to revolve around him.Tom Waits is fine in a part that once upon a time would have gone to Harry Dean Stanton.Despite being about death and depression the whole thing is amusing and warmly entertaining.Comparable movies that come to mind: Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, Harold and Maude, Repo Man,The Station Agent. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amor e morte, 3 Mar. 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Most romantic comedies take place in... you know, the world of the living. They rarely star dead people. And not suicides, either.

But "Wristcutters: A Love Story" is not going to be tied down by that. This delicious, dark little cult film is about people who have committed suicide, and are now stuck in a limbo zone that is just like the living world, but less appealing. It's also dark, funny and poignant -- everything you want in a very original little indie movie.

Because of a breakup, Zia (Patrick Fugit) has decided that life is no longer worth living. He cleans his house, slits his wrists -- and finds himself in a strange twilight-zone with no sunshine, smiles, or appetizing food, and entirely populated by suicides -- think a Midwestern small town, but more depressing. He eventually gets a job, a nasty roommate, and befriends Eugene (Shea Whigham) a likably bombastic Russian rocker.

But then Zia learns from a new suicide that his girlfriend, Desiree (Leslie Bibb) has also offed herself. So he and Eugene bundle into Eugene's horrible old car, and start a road trip to find her -- picking up the pretty, feisty Mikal (Shannyn Sossamon), who says she's been placed there mistakenly. The odd trio rattles through this suicide world, until they stumble across a strange camp in the wilderness...

I first heard about "Wristcutters" a long while ago, on myspace -- but in the months that followed, it just sort of floated in a limbo of its own. Pretty frustrating, but Goran Dukic actually makes it worth waiting for -- it's a quirky and dark indie comedy, a tragedy, and a love story all in one.

As you can probably guess, the movie's main message is that you should live a life worth enjoying, and love someone worth loving. Yeah, the core of it is a guy who loses the girl, kills himself, tries to regain the girl, and falls in love with the worthier choice -- all while wondering if love is still possible for those whose hearts have stopped.

But that potentially soppy message is wrapped up in clever little quirks in Wristcutterville (Zia works at "Kamikaze Pizza") or the various deaths of the people who live there (Eugene electrocuted himself to get the crowd to pay attention). It feels pleasantly, wistfully warped -- both with macabre humour (the hole-in-the-head cop) and delicious dialogue ("I'm not going out tonight. It just makes me depressed." "So, what you gonna do? Kill yourself?").

And you gotta admit, this postmodern Purgatorio is an interesting concept -- it's portrayed with a sort of low-budget magical realism. Suicide wounds, pale faces, bleak landscape, and "Love Will Tear Us Apart" is a popular tune. It's pretty fitting that the place for those who have given up hope is a place where hope and joy are nonexistant.

It also has a very pleasant, poignant ending -- yeah, it seems like a bit of a cop-out, but somehow by the time we got there, I didn't mind. It ties in with the lesson of the movie, and the poignant little love between Zia and Mikal.

Fugit is a likably confused, sweet character who is just a bit dense, since it takes him awhile to figure out what a great, funny girl Mikal is. And Whigham -- whose character was partly based on Gogol Bordello's Eugene Hutz -- rules all the scenes he's in, as one of the few suicides who still has his vitality, libido and humour intact ("Everyone knows that man in back does not have c**k").

Sad, quirky and poignant, "Wristcutters: A Love Story" is an offbeat love/road-trip movie in the land of suicides -- it's a brilliantly warped little cult movie, and definitely worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Special, 17 Nov. 2009
By 
H. Pierce (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Wristcutters is certainly imaginative in design, with a unique take on the afterlife. Other movies have portrayed 'hell' as an horrific torturous place, this just depicts it as a particularly boring place to end up in. This could have been worked to the advantage of the movie by contrasting this uninspiring place with a cast so colourful that they almost jump out at you. Unfortunately, this isn't what was created.

Zia, the leading man of the film, is not passionate in any respect, not even in a teenage angst-ridden suicidal way, which is odd seeing as he is there for actually committing the act of suicide! Eugene, Zia's Russian 'friend' is also fairly flat in his performance.

The latter part of the film does brighten things up a bit, with some slightly more spirited performances from some of the rest of the cast, although this is limited in it's ability to make the film into anything of real note due to a lack of real drama within the plot itself.

Basically, this film is ok, kind of cool in an underwhelming way, but nothing special. This is unfortunate because I truly believe that the writer Goran Dukic had an interesting idea which he just failed to produce to a high enough standard to satisfy the masses.

I do, however, suspect that this low-budget, failed to quite make the standard film, has the potential to become some kind of cult classic. It will be cult purely because the general population will not see what is so inspiring about the film, but it would not surprise me in the least to find out in years to come that there are indeed people who found they really connected with this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Kooky, inventive, but not for me., 7 July 2008
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Wristcutter's: A Love Story is Croatian writer/director Goran Dukic's first stab at directing. This low budget, independent film is based on a short story by Etgar Keret entitled `Kneller's Happy Campers'.

The main character is Zia, who having been recently dumped by his girlfriend Desiree, decides to slit his wrists and kill himself. Instead of passing peacefully into whatever constitutes the after-life, he instead finds himself in a kind of limbo where everything is "the same ... only worse." In this mundane version of Purgatory, populated by fellow suicidees, nothing works properly and the only music anyone hears is by other people who have committed suicide! Zia works a menial job in a Pizzeria and befriends a strange Russian rocker named Eugene. Zia then finds out that his ex-girlfriend Desiree has also committed suicide, and so he immediately sets out on an afterlife road trip with Eugene to find her. On their journey they pick up hitchhiker Mikal, and Zia gradually finds himself and Mikal drifting closer together...

The film has a deliberate washed-out visual style (quite a Soviet feel), and slightly ropey visual effects that fit in well with the style of the movie. Surprisingly, behind the film's satire and `coolness', is a traditional and conventional love story with a predictable conclusion.

Despite Wristcutter's and its director having been nominated for and winning various independent film awards for this movie, I just couldn't connect with it. It is a genuinely inventive movie, although it just seems that Dukic didn't really develop the film past the first 30 minutes or so. I'm probably not cool enough to really appreciate this sort of weird, indie film, but having said that, I didn't feel that I'd wasted an hour and half or my time watching it. I suppose it's the kind of film that indie film lovers will `love' - sadly, I'm not a big indie film fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everybody here is dead...yet never more alive, 23 Jun. 2008
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's easy to feel let down by films labeled as `the latest cult indie movie' with so many poor and baffling examples of the genre released in recent years. They rarely deliver. But I think this one's at least better than the average. It succeeds in making it's own mark on a dark subject.

From the title you might not expect a pleasant tale charting the exploits of handsome happy-go-lucky teens, but that's actually not far from the truth. `Wristcutters' is a surprisingly gentle road movie that manages to capture an indefinable something. Personally, if I had to see someone slit his or her wrists in a movie, well, I'd be uncomfortable. But happily there's nothing to be concerned about on that score with this film. Only the most extremely squeamish of viewers (who need only catch a glimpse of a pool of red liquid in the opening scene) need dread this film that deals with life after death with out ever being gruesome.

Just to give you an idea of the humour in `Wristcutters' and a general sense of what to expect (without going into detail about the plot) the opening scene sees the central character going about the meticulous business of preparing to die by grooming himself and laboriously cleaning and tidying his apartment before deciding to take his own life. Only as he's lying in a pool of his own blood, witnessing his life force gradually drain away, does he notice a hairball dancing in a corner of the bathroom floor. That's the kind of detail that I like (call me grim if you like) and with that as the punch-line to a nicely choreographed three-minute-opening-scene, I was immediately intrigued.

This film is very subtle, almost too subtle for it's own good, everything is on a par, it works, but it's missing a special ingredient, whether that be a more exuberant lead character, more of a darker edge to its humour, or maybe just a few more surprise plot developments along the way. But I do like Patrick Fugit, there's no artifice to his performance at all. He plays the stereotypical male suicide victim (who feels he has nothing to live for) with quiet confidence. His performance along with those of the rest of the cast is uncomplicated and balances nicely.

You can tell that in tone the film-makers were aiming for something along the same lines of `Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind' with a light, cheery score, gentle pace and especially with the ironic but strangely apt subtitle (`A Love Story') and there is the same heart-warming, romantic quality here. There's also an element of `Until the End of the World' in the way that random events and eccentric characters appear without preamble along the course of a journey. The fantasy concept works, you're drawn into the drama and irreverent humour, and part of the charm of `Wristcutters' is that it isn't going anywhere in particular, characters are circling a plughole, events are repeating themselves. Until that is, something clicks. In contrast to what the title implies, this film is harmless, endearing and refreshingly light entertainment. I dare you not to smile as the curtains close...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wristcutters - A Love Story [DVD] [2007]
Wristcutters - A Love Story [DVD] [2007] by Goran Dukic (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: £5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews