Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
This is the album where Genesis first showed what a talent they really were. Not one track is throwaway here and the best ones include "Watcher of the Skies". This classic is superbly atmospheric and its opening sounds like modern trance music. Gabriel's voice has clearly matured and provides some in depth character performances on numbers such as "Get 'em...
Published on 30 May 2001

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Super fine Album - but questionable mastering
I have nothing to add to the music - this is a very fine Genesis album, which deserves nothing less than 5 stars.

As I hear it - the actual remix is absolutely very well done, but the mastering doesn't sound optimal on my fine stereo... It is too hard compressed, which takes away some of the relaxation in the all-over sound and also the bass is a bit...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. Donvad


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy for "Supper's Ready"; enjoy the rest too, 9 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Foxtrot (Remastered) (Audio CD)
As mentioned by another reviewer, this album has been discussed so much in the past 30 years that there does not seem to be much more to say. However, I thought I'd try anyway. Obviously the main attraction is Supper's Ready, the 23-minute magnum-opus that ranks among Genesis' best work; this was the reason for my purchase at any rate. I was recently wondering whether I preferred this or the Lamb lies down on Broadway - two considerably different albums of similar quality. After listening to Foxtrot again, I have to say that it is my preferred album and 2nd favourite after Selling England by the Pound, simply because of Supper's Ready. Yes the first five tracks are still, for the most part, very enjoyable. Watcher of the Skies has (unintentially) humerous lyrics and great vocals from Peter. Time Table is relatively simple, and this is no bad thing; the subject matter is interesting and it is well-played. Get 'em out by Friday is entertaining, and offers a satirical piece of commentary on modern life. Can Utility and the Coastliners has great playing and nice melodies in the instrumental sections, and Horizons is a refreshing largely acoustic break between this and the album's raison d'etre. Talking of which, regardless of the quality of all that goes before it, it is Supper's Ready which really justifies the album's existence.
For about 20 minutes we get a mixture of styles, paces and volumes, divided up into 6 sub-sections with each containing a different thread of the tapestry, meaning that the track never becomes boring. Among my favourites of these sub-sections are "Lover's Leap", "The Guaranteed Eternal Sanctuary Man" and "Willow Farm". It is at the end of sub-section vi and the whole of sub-section vii, however (about the last 3 minutes), which in this reviewer's opinion make the CD wholly worth buying. As the story (or whtever it is) reaches its climax, Steve Hackett's guitar wails and cries as Peter Gabriel sings about igniting souls, an angel in the sun and the Lord of Lords leading his children home. Genesis never recorded anything this climatic or emotional again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure class from the classic line up of Genesis!, 21 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Foxtrot (Remastered) (Audio CD)
The most compelling and visionary album ever released in my opinion, I was captivated the moment I listened to it, way back when God was a lad. Supper's Ready. The whole point of the track, in my opinion, is to take the listener off of auditory auto pilot and make them think. It is an assault on the senses from start to finish as good battles evil and images and metaphors abound in both music and lyrics. There are six outstanding tracks on this album and if I had to choose another one as a stand out, it would have to be HORIZONS, a beautifully structured and haunting accoustic guitar piece, this sums up the diversity of early Gabriel era Genesis for me. This album is a timeless masterpiece that stands up even today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality of VINYL, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foxtrot [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Only one word needed here, FABULOUS !! Record quality is great, great depth, heavyweight vinyl & Genesis with Peter Gabriel & superb. No hesitation 5 stars! I'll probably even buy copies!! Update, I just did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Aug 2007
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foxtrot (Audio CD)
As a fan of Pink Floyd, Yes, King Crimson, Rush and Gentle Giant I kept being prompted to listen to Genesis, hearing about how great they were. This surprised me because as far as I knew they were a duff 80's pop band with MIDI drums and lots of power ballads.
I decided to pick up Foxtrot because it seemed to be everyone's favourite and was dead cheap on Amazon. Great decision; this album is astounding, a prog masterpiece of lyrical story telling, structural complexity and is awash with mellotron and organ sounds.
The level of musicianship is what you'd expect from any great prog band, Peter Gabriel has an excellent voice (much to my surprise) and Phil 'Power Ballad and MIDI drums,' Collins is a MUCH better drummer than I had thought.
The real stars here are Tony and Steve, who really shine on this record.
My favourite songs are 'Get em out by Friday,' and the haunting 'Can Utility and the Coastliners,' two wonderful songs that should be heard by any prog fan.
The standout track however is the 23 minute epic, 'Suppers Ready,' which will blow your mind, its kind of like a bizarre meld of 'On thin Ice,' by Floyd, 'I talk to the Wind,' by Crimson and 'Ritual,' by Yes. You have to hear it to believe it, and I very much recommend that you do...BUY THIS RIGHT NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Real Classic, 16 May 2008
By 
AJ "Alan" (Joburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Foxtrot (Audio CD)
This is a really good album from Genesis full of great songs especially Watcher Of The Skies and Get Em Out By Friday.The band have a great tight sound and Peter Gabriels vocals bring it all together.Reason I only give this great album 4 stars is not because of the music but the poor remastering on this epic.The sound is very basy and quiet seems to dominate its way thru album.Feel its about time for a new remaster here this album desreves much better sound quality than this remastered edition,anyway if you like early Genesis this is a cracker for your collection also check out Selling England By The Pound,Lamb lies Down On Broadway and Nursey Chrime all great albums and highly recommended for your collection.Sorry to say this but the remastering on these fantastic albums is also very poor and sub standard,so if you can suffer the poor quality of sound,musically I highly recommend these albums.I hope the record companies look at doing decent future remasters here cos these great works deserve better.
Hope review is of help
Ps.This my favoutite Genesis Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic vinyl version of CLASSIC ALBUM, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foxtrot [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I'm enjoying this album now more than ever! Brilliant songs beautifully re-mastered. Can here the singing much clearer than previous issues. The album cover is stunning and it is possible to read the lyrics without using a magnifying glass unlike the cd.
Get back into vinyl everyone, cd's are a mistake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where Is The Bass??, 14 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Foxtrot (2008 Digital Remaster) (Audio CD)
Briefly, this is the Fourth generation of this album that I have owned and purchased this one having been extremely impressed with "Selling England" and "Trick Of The Tail" in this latest remastered format.
Foxtrot being my favourite Genesis album, I would have given 5 stars for just the music itself but this latest offering, sonically, lets the side down.
Where is that glorious sub bass in "Can Utility and the Coastliners"??
The final minutes of "Suppers Ready" also have the bass wick turned down.
My Ruark Crusader II speakers thrive on bass but when this CD is played, sound like something half their price!
Buy this only if you are going to play it on your Dixons music centre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Fox is far from on the Rocks, 10 Sep 2011
By 
G. Booth (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foxtrot (2008 Digital Remaster) (Audio CD)
I will start by saying that I have been a fan of Genesis since 1972 and rate Peter Gabriel's led band as highly as I do contemporaries Pink Floyd, Yes, Led Zeppelin (I know they are heavier and more Bluesy but hey). The classic Genesis albums are Foxtrot, Selling Engalnd by the Pound, The Lamb Lies down on Broadway and Nursery Cryme with Trespass kind of showing us what was to come. Sound Quality. I have had musicassette, LP, CD, Deffinative remaster CD and now the newest Stereosound Remaster CD and there are differences. The latest incarnation is not as dark as the origianl with much more air at the top end, cymbals are clear and you can almost detect the rasp as air moves in and out of Peters lungs. It takes a while to get used to the brighter sound and on some tracks the such as Can Utility and the Coastliners at first hearing the sub bass seems to be lacking...but the case is it has become less woolley and their is more information in the bass lines througout all the tracks. In short a top album from a top prog band at the top of their game, its a clear as bell but oldies may find themselves initially turning down the treble gain. The whole sound has a feel of a live performance in a big space. Comparing back to the non masterd CD version reveals just how much extra that was missing. Should classics be dabbled with...who knows...but I cant bring myself to part with either version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Offering, 20 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Foxtrot (Remastered) (Audio CD)
I also cannot agree with Allan Wright. FOXTROT was one of the best Genesis albums although not quite as strong as TLLDOB. Suppers ready was a classic of its time and produced a marvellous mixture of psychedelia and apocolyptic themes. Must be listened to right through and without interruption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The definitive developmental prog album, 23 Sep 2005
By 
KPA Lowe (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foxtrot (Remastered) (Audio CD)
Let's face it- when we talk about "Foxtrot" we're really talking about 'Supper's Ready'.. right?! Yes, it is a pretty incredible track (although slightly disappointing when it just fades out at the end!). In fact, for those who are interested, check out Mark Spicer's analysis of the track in Walter Everett's "Expression in pop/rock". There's absolutely no doubt at all that "Foxtrot" is a good record. However, there is something that is just not quite right. Maybe it's that " Nursery Cryme" and "Foxtrot" was an experimental time for Genesis. Possible, the 'inspiring' quality that was heard on "Trespass" and later rediscovered on "Selling England by the Pound" and "The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway", was slightly lacking during this time. That said, the album is always rated highly in any "top ten prog albums" poll you can find anywhere, and probably rightly so. It might be fair to summarise that "Foxtrot" was an essential album to the development of progressive rock and the general break of the pop-song format, and this is definitely commendable. However, Genesis has not quite perfected there 'prog' voice yet, and this does seem to come through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Foxtrot (2008 Digital Remaster)
Foxtrot (2008 Digital Remaster) by Genesis (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews