Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant family film
15-year old Patrick (Zac Efron) is new in town and has problems: He can't seem to please his jock father (William R. Moses), and he runs afoul of Randy, the town bully, when both boys are attracted to the same pretty girl. Patrick's only friend is one-time horse trainer and long-time alcoholic, Houston Jones (Bill Cobbs), who sees something special in Patrick. Houston...
Published on 9 Aug 2007 by Kona

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad film
A bad movie which only got released straight to DVD. All the acting is bad except from Bill Cobbs as Zac's elderly friend, and the story is very far-fetched. They also did a really bad job of making it look like Efron was riding.
Published on 28 May 2009 by M. Harrison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant family film, 9 Aug 2007
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
15-year old Patrick (Zac Efron) is new in town and has problems: He can't seem to please his jock father (William R. Moses), and he runs afoul of Randy, the town bully, when both boys are attracted to the same pretty girl. Patrick's only friend is one-time horse trainer and long-time alcoholic, Houston Jones (Bill Cobbs), who sees something special in Patrick. Houston gives the boy a horse and trains him to ride in the State Steeplechase Cup race, but Randy, the reigning champ, decides to make Patrick's life miserable.

This low-budget but pleasant 2005 family film was never shown in cinemas, but has been released on DVD following Zac Efron's mega-successes in "High School Musical" and "Hairspray." There's no denying Efron's Tiger Beat-cuteness, and he does a fine job in an undemanding role, but if you want to see a real actor, take a look at the wonderful Bill Cobbs. He's been playing small character parts in TV and movies for years, but this time he's the star and absolutely owns the screen. His craggy face and gravelly voice masterfully express the only real emotion in the film and he's a pleasure to watch.

The story plays like an After School Special; all obstacles are easily overcome - the kid goes from non-rider to race winner, bonds with his father, and gets the girl - all in a matter of weeks. Adults may find it predictable and a bit bland, but the wholesome message about finding your passion and working hard for it makes "The Derby Stallion" just right for family viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Man and horse work as one, 28 Jun 2009
By 
A. Burgum (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Derby Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
This film was a refeshing story of a man and his horse.
It coveres many a topic that is still around in our society and doesnt look like going anytime soon, namely those that have always had money thinking they can do wahtever they please and get away with it.
Its also a sad tail about father and son not having a good relationship, but through hard work finally getting there in the end.
If you love horses and a bit of a sad tale this is the film for you.
It also show the early acting skill of a young Zac Efon. Not a all Disney just pure acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pressie for my daughter, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Derby Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
Quick postage, no problems with transaction. Very happy with the purchase.
Bought as a birthday present for my daughter, and she is very happy. Happy teen = happy mum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Derby Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
Fanatic feel good film but the DVD wouldn't play on the 1 built into my TV only my old DVD player !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad film, 28 May 2009
By 
M. Harrison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Derby Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
A bad movie which only got released straight to DVD. All the acting is bad except from Bill Cobbs as Zac's elderly friend, and the story is very far-fetched. They also did a really bad job of making it look like Efron was riding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 3 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: The Derby Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
what a lovely film and my daughter loves zac effron and even she was impressed with his early performance in this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well..., 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Derby Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
Well what can I say I bought it for a member of my family I have not seen it myself yet but am planning on doing so but it was a great price and would buy this again and reccomend it to others :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 3 Jan 2010
By 
Julie Walker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Derby Stallion [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD for my daughter for Xmas and she loved it!! Especially since Zac Effron is in it - thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Derby Stallion [DVD]
The Derby Stallion [DVD] by Craig Clyde (DVD - 2009)
£6.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews