Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Genghis Khan: To The Ends Of The Earth & Sea" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With This 'US-Only' Titles...
You may have noticed most reviews are for the 'DVD'.

But if you're a British fan of "Genghis Khan..." - please note that the 'American' Funimation BLU RAY is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Check your players Region Coding for 'BLU RAY' before making an expensive...
Published 6 months ago by Mark Barry

versus
48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, could do better
I was left imagining what could have been after watching this movie. It had some good parts, alot of mediocre parts and one or two bad parts.

I think having read Conn Igguldens books recently i was expecting more drama, but a lot of it was skimmed over in favour of the focus on the relationship with Borte, Jamukha and the khan of the Kerait. You never really...
Published on 20 Nov 2008 by SiKim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, could do better, 20 Nov 2008
I was left imagining what could have been after watching this movie. It had some good parts, alot of mediocre parts and one or two bad parts.

I think having read Conn Igguldens books recently i was expecting more drama, but a lot of it was skimmed over in favour of the focus on the relationship with Borte, Jamukha and the khan of the Kerait. You never really get to see the drama and struggle of Temujin and family after being left behind when the tribe moved on after his father's death, and therefore his killing of Bekter looks more like it was done on a whim, or much of his childhood and the struggle to establish his new tribe once his family had learned to survive alone in the wilderness.

It also fell well short of the full Genghis story by ending as the Mongols approched China, which is really where he established his reputation as a great leader and warlord.

Ultimately i'm hoping that Mongol (and its 2 sequels) will be better or that a big studio will take on Iggulden's books and recreate them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This horse pulled up, 19 Mar 2011
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Wide open vistas, big budget, lots of action but it smacked of Americanisation. The music throughout overwhelmed the action and was atuned to the Titanic sinking or a Towering Inferno than a gang of nomads on the Mongolian plains. It effectively killed the emotion within the film with its cliched palette of stirring strings. Strange because it is a Japanese and Mongolian co production and expected more from it.

Temujin's violence just emerged as a drive to be. The film lacked any psychological resonance except Temujin not liking Meerkats or whatever they are called. Considering his army was racially tolerant in its mass killing, only decimating those who put up a struggle this is a major anachronism. Was race/tribal blood that important in 13thC Mongolia? It smacks of racial Darwinism created in 1880 transplanted back six centuries by the current writers. This is its lame hoof.

The acting was OK but lacked any real tension in the love affair of Borte and Temujin. The father son relationship between Temujin and his Meerkat son had some frisson and this was the highlight. The rest was just portraying Temujin on his eventual rise to power.

Anachronistic nods to feminism and women's rights appeared and you could almost expect them to put a Caucasian and African in the saddle to appeal to a perceived modern PC audience. It lurched all over the place and lacked an emotional resonance. The Japanese as the main characters and the Mongols the make up force.

Japanese and Mongolian films are far better than this. This was a major disappointment dropping between the angst of the Far East and the kitsch of the mainstream West. Even for those who keep mentioning the books, this must be one to avoid, unless you have two hours to kill and like bows arrows and air guitars. The other film about Genghis is so superior in all departments its a wonder they even bothered to release this. It just wilts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Temudjin the Unifier, not Genghis Khan the Conqueror, 15 Dec 2013
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are more than a dozen films on Genghis already, so this one tried to present something different in order to be original. Note that the film is only available in Japanese with English subtitles. Unfortunately, it did not entirely work for me, and I will try to explain why in a moment.

The sceneries, the screenshot and the battle scenes are quite striking and beautiful, with masses of extras and thousands of soldiers of the Mongolian Army involved, as you could expect for a 30 million dollars film. However, and contrary to the advertising blurb, this is not "the true story of Genghis Khan". It is not even all of it. Instead, this is a mix of legends and interpretations which focus mainly on his early years and on his unification of the tribes to make the Mongols.

You get just nothing about the expeditions to the North and West, apart from a mention that Jochi, the eldest son of the Khan, was leading it. Even this is not quite true. Initially at least, Genghis did not let him go alone and had him accompanied by some of his most experienced generals. The film also stops just as the Mongols attack the Great Wall. So you have nothing about the first campaigns against China and nothing about the war against the Kwarizmian shah. Simply put, the last decade of the Conqueror's life is omitted. The conclusion here is that this is hardly the story of his life and conquests. Instead, it is the story of how he unified the Mongols.

Despite this, the film has quite a few other things going for it, although I found that it bordered on the melodramatic at times. It is essentially about Temudjin, rather than about Genghis Khan. It is about his sense of honour and loyalty, as how this fierce war leader triumphed despite being betrayed time and again. To a large extent, it is also about Temudjin, his family and his own traumas and fears. At times, you might have to suspend disbelief as the great hero becomes admired of all, and, apart from his love/hate relationship with his eldest son, seems to do no wrong. Even the story of Jochi is heavily adapted. He seems to have made a name for himself and does not seem to have been as young as shown in the film. There is also a rather different story about his death and a much less flattering one for his father although I will stop here to avoid spoilers.

Some of the characters, such as that of Borte (Temudjin's wife), and Qasar (his brother) are just as I would imagine them (which does not necessarily mean that they are perfectly accurate). The restraining influence of Qasar, in particular, is rather well shown. However, are Temudjin's two other surviving brothers (he murdered his elder brother) are absent from the script except at the very beginning. In fact, all three helped Genghis, with two of them commanding armies while the third one organised his supplies and logistics. Another missing character is that of Subotai, one of his most faithful and best generals, and we only get a glimpse at Jebe, who was another one of them.

Finally, even the battles were somewhat "stylized". You get multiple - and very impressive - scenes of cavalry charging against each other, but no sense of the strategies used and no indications as to why Genghis won, or lost, because, as shown in the film, he did lose. The point here is that the film is not really about the Conqueror. It is not about the military strategist, tactician and genius. It is about the man and the unifier of the Mongols. Maybe this was why I was disappointed, since I was led to expect something else. Three stars all the same...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Genghis Khan: To The Ends Of The Earth & Sea" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With This 'US-Only' Titles..., 17 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Genghis Khan: To the Ends of the Earth & Sea [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
You may have noticed most reviews are for the 'DVD'.

But if you're a British fan of "Genghis Khan..." - please note that the 'American' Funimation BLU RAY is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Check your players Region Coding for 'BLU RAY' before making an expensive mistake...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best., 2 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the most powerful movies that I have ever seen. But in saying that, I bought and watched "Mongol" at the same time.
Each of these movies are a must to watch as they each give a different account of the life of Temudgin or as we know him.....Genghis Khan.
I didn't mind the subtitles and was totally transported by this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one word for this movie awesome., 14 July 2011
By 
S. Ahmed (taxila cantt ,pakistan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this movie shows a more human and emotional side of genghis khan .what role people around him played . .i saw this movie with my family and everyone loved it .if you are looking for history with inside look into the life and heart of genghis khan .than this movie is for you :D .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ghengis, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a film where the actors do kung foo fighting and its all in JAPANESE,this should have been put in foreign languages,,,don't bother with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of spectacle, a lot of melodrama, a lot of horses. And Genghis Khan, we're told, is kind of a nice guy,, 28 Aug 2008
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Genghis Khan was one of the great murdering conquerors in history, dining at the same table with Napoleon Bonaparte and Adolph Hitler. One assumes that their lust for land, power and the deaths of their enemies and victims, along with a practical indifference to the deaths of their own soldiers and people, sprang from how easily bored they could be.

In Genghis Khans' case, if this movie is to believed (not a good idea with most movies' presentations of "history"), the melodrama of Genghis Khan's soap-opera life with Hoelun, his mother; Bolte, his wife; Kulan, his great-looking female bodyguard and occasional bed partner; and his sons and brothers would be enough to drive anyone away from the yurt and onto a horse. This isn't helped when Kulan, while she's wearing a Mongolian soldier's armor and a tufted helmet, looks a little like Leonardo DiCaprio.

The movie tells the tale of the ascent of Temujin as unifier of the Mongols, conqueror of tribes and of vast lands, and leaves us, with Temujin now called Genghis Khan, as he charges toward the Great Wall of China, eager to take on the Jin dynasty.

There is no tension to the story, no gradual building of the drama to match the story of greater and greater conquest. Narration is used to bridge the years and tell us of one more difficulty Temujin will face, which we then see acted for us. The movie is not boring, not with all those thundering horses, backward arrow shooting on horseback and a look at life in a yurt, but the sameness with which the story is told eventually becomes predictable. At least, even with the family melodrama and, for Western eyes, the overacting of the main characters, the movie doesn't ladle up the creamed corn that was John Wayne as a drawling Temujin and Susan Hayward as a frowning, red-haired Bolte.

The movie settles into a rhythmic pattern early on: A battle, exciting and well managed, then melodrama, overwrought and tiresome. Then, another battle, another drama, another battle, over and over for 136 minutes. This Japanese movie was filmed in Mongolia and features primarily Japanese actors and what looks like most of the Mongolian army on leased horses. The battles get bigger and bigger as the movie progresses. It looked to me like there wasn't much Computer Generated Overkill used. With all the battles, I hope the producers had plenty of veterinarians on hand. A lot of horses took violent falls. There are some wonderful scenes of Mongolia's green, rolling, treeless hills and an interesting look at life in encampments.

Just before Genghis Khan sets off to take on the Jin, he and Kulan exchange a bit of conquering philosophy.

"I will go on as far as I can," says the man on horseback. "With every land I conquer, more borders between nations will vanish. People will travel freely and trade will flourish. Cultures and customs will be honored and all will live well."

"But make war and there will be bloodshed," Kulan says to him.

Replies Genghis Khan, "That is bloodshed that cannot be helped, to insure that no further blood need be spilled," Oh, brother. How many times has humanity heard that one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ghenghis Khan, 23 Aug 2014
By 
Seligor "Seligor's Castle" (Pontybodkin, North Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent if like me you like Asian Films and Dramas. As with all Asian Films, always exciting, always sad, and always full of action. And for a man who ruled the whole of the known world at one time. he didn't do bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Sep 2014
Most interesting and entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Genghis Khan: To the Ends of the Earth & Sea [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Used & New from: £7.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews