Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet, slow moving, beautiful, like the sonata
I am buying this because I saw it at the cinema a few months ago, and haven't been able to get it out of my head since. I've seen other films by this director, who until now specialized in suspenseful, eerie "horror" films (although they were more unsettling really). This film has some of the same atmosphere of oppression, as the main character loses his job, and with it,...
Published on 27 July 2009 by Ruth Ludlam

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks magic & squanders potential
Call me shallow, but the exclusive presentation of Tokyo Sonata led to its purchase for me; literally judged it by cover art & marketing blurb. A gritty, landscape focused film set in Japan breeds potent appeal for it's alien environment/culture in stark contrast to mine. The peppering of classical music performances to this backdrop only sweetened the deal further...
Published on 11 May 2012 by Dooscah


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet, slow moving, beautiful, like the sonata, 27 July 2009
By 
Ruth Ludlam "princess_zelda" (Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tokyo Sonata [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] (DVD)
I am buying this because I saw it at the cinema a few months ago, and haven't been able to get it out of my head since. I've seen other films by this director, who until now specialized in suspenseful, eerie "horror" films (although they were more unsettling really). This film has some of the same atmosphere of oppression, as the main character loses his job, and with it, his hope and his semblance of a normal life. The parody of a life that he leads to try to pretend everything is ok, has moments of wonderful humour amidst the oppressive hopelessness, especially when he meets someone else in the same situation.

Slowly, Ryuhei's life and those of his family unravel and reach breaking point. And around them, others in a similar position give up and succumb to fate. But throughout the rather depressing main plot, it is the little things that offer relief - moments of humour, a tiny bit of hope, and piano lessons. Somehow, the characters carry on. And then, things take a bizarre twist, when a similarly hopeless thief turns up.

This reminds me of the director's earlier film "Kourei", which, whilst being a ghost story, somehow spends more time reflecting on the relationship of a quiet middle-aged couple, as they come to accept that the dreams of their youth will never now come true. In this film, the couple are the central figures, who must both separately go off and find themselves by undertaking a journey that takes them far beyond their normal life. And the director draws the film to a close with the youngest son playing the piano, we are finally able to hear him for ourselves, and it seems to underline the conclusion to the film.

I highly recommend this film. But it is very understated, there is very little high drama, and all the tension is under the surface, in a way that is very Japanese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...the company will have to let you go", 19 Mar 2010
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tokyo Sonata [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] (DVD)
After losing his job as admin director for a large corporation, RyŻhei realises that he's not likely to get a similar job, and certainly not one with the same salary. It seems that the city is full of unemployed suited types desperately trying to give the impression that they are succesfully in work in an attempt to maintain dignity. As RyŻhei walks the streets and queues up for food hand-outs the the film brings us subtle scenes of dark humour, wherever he kills time in the city there are plenty of other jobless well dressed men milling about.

He meets an old friend in a similar situation, he provides something of a masterclass in how to convince those around you, including family, that you're still in work. For all the humour in his eccentric habits it is he who eventually provides the most sobering reminder of the stress caused by unemployment. It's clear that the unemployed men in the film are suffering from a lack of self confidence, they simply can't face up to the fact that they can't provide for their families on the level they have become accustomed to.

RyŻhei's family are seemingly unaware of his situation and between scenes of watching him killing time we get to experience snippets from their lives. Each of their stories are just as interesting as the father's and are initially charming moments which become more involved.

When you start to think that the mother of the house is being somewhat overlooked by the film she then gets to steal the final scenes. Her devotion to the family and the way she represents the true strength underpinning the web of relationships in the house is clarified in a tense and dramatic series of events, we also see her not just as a mum and wife - but as a woman with her own aspirations, dreams and regrets.

Kiyoshi Kurosawa is known for writing/directing horror films, and his background appears to have helped him get across the anxieties of the characters involved in Tokyo Sonata and build tension. The begins starts with a beautifully crafted look into an underworld of the socially disenfranchised and is full of well observed and understated comic moments which also capture the sadness of their plight. Although this does continue throughout the film it's never as strong as or as cleverly done as it is at the start and the film dips at times. Thankfully the human story behind the family are strong and compell you to watch and see what happens to them.

In a nutshell: A quirky film which balances despondency, humour, and kitchen sink drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!, 23 Sep 2010
By 
ANITA "AF" (Glasgow, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tokyo Sonata [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] (DVD)
If you want a brlliant two hour long study of modern-day urban life in Japan, look no further. You need to be patient with this one, but the tension mounts slow but sure. Really a memorable film that I would recommend to any intelligent viewer with a dark sense of humour. The essence of the story will stay with you for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slow-moving but beautiful film, 8 Aug 2009
By 
Ruth Ludlam "princess_zelda" (Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I am buying this because I saw it at the cinema a few months ago, and haven't been able to get it out of my head since. I've seen other films by this director, who until now specialized in suspenseful, eerie "horror" films (although they were more unsettling really). This film has some of the same atmosphere of oppression, as the main character loses his job, and with it, his hope and his semblance of a normal life. The parody of a life that he leads to try to pretend everything is ok, has moments of wonderful humour amidst the oppressive hopelessness, especially when he meets someone else in the same situation.

Slowly, Ryuhei's life and those of his family unravel and reach breaking point. And around them, others in a similar position give up and succumb to fate. But throughout the rather depressing main plot, it is the little things that offer relief - moments of humour, a tiny bit of hope, and piano lessons. Somehow, the characters carry on. And then, things take a bizarre twist, when a similarly hopeless thief turns up.

This reminds me of the director's earlier film "Kourei", which, whilst being a ghost story, somehow spends more time reflecting on the relationship of a quiet middle-aged couple, as they come to accept that the dreams of their youth will never now come true. In this film, the couple are the central figures, who must both separately go off and find themselves by undertaking a journey that takes them far beyond their normal life. And the director draws the film to a close with the youngest son playing the piano, we are finally able to hear him for ourselves, and it seems to underline the conclusion to the film.

I highly recommend this film. But it is very understated, there is very little high drama, and all the tension is under the surface, in a way that is very Japanese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Movie!, 5 July 2009
By 
A. CHIASSON "AlexC" (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokyo Sonata [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] (DVD)
Kiyoshi Kurosawa has succeeded as did Chaplin some seventy odd years earlier with Modern Times and De Sica with Bicycle Thieves some time later. What struck me was the stark realism of this film's portrayal of unemployment: the denial, the despair, the degradation, the long line-ups, the lying and the abuse. Also, the actors - especially the one who portrayed the youngest son - were all first rate. I encourage anyone interested in serious cinema to buy this product! MoC, you've done it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slowly sinking ship, 6 Oct 2009
By 
technoguy "jack" (Rugby) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tokyo Sonata [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] (DVD)
A film of such excellence that it is hard to put it into words.That if you do it will be erased.This is the
film as a form of music,using discordant layers and unsettling cinematography to arrive at un underlying harmony in the universe.All the characters are on a sinking ship and the lifeboats are gone..we know its hopeless,yet still we are looking for an exit.I think the use of framing devices of windows,doorways,stairways, bridges and flyovers creates a sense of unease and suggestiveness.There are many multiple movements that form a whole yet each remains distinct.We are in a world of predictable routines of such constraint that the director utilizes surrealistic distortions and narrative release to attain a sense of renewal.For such depressing material of redundancy and family dysfunction we get a sense of hope through questioning social roles that petrify our impulses.Megumi the housewife and family homemaker says in a half-sleep:" someone,please help me up".Later the locksmith turned thief(Yakusho)kidnaps her ,forcing her to drive him to the coast where they see a light over the sea.I think it's meant to be kind of a metaphor for how the mother possesses the strength of will to not give up. She hasn't lost hope in life whereas the burglar clearly has. This scene & the one following, where she sees the light hanging above the sea, are hard to make sense of on any level other than a metaphorical/allegorical one. Kurosawa clearly isn't interested in explaining it away as an airliner or a ship or whatever. Even the scene where she's staggering - zombie-like - along the beach & the her face suddenly begins to glow has that same aspect to it. Yes, on one level of course it's just the sun coming up, but the way it's staged gives the shot that same quality.The dvd has 2 discsone with extras interviewing the cast,the making of the film,trailers,the Cannes celebration.The film is aexcellent translation into a print of sepia quality and somber colours.A modern Antonionni crossed with Ozu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tokyo Sonata, 19 Dec 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
`Tokyo Sonata' is a very understated, yet strangely moving film.

It is gentle and slightly sad and follows a Japanese family, which includes an undervalued wife, a proud husband who loses his job but goes out each day as if he still has one and hides it from family and a son who is desperate to lean piano despite having to secretly use his lunch money to pay for lessons.

In a very bare and pared back style you experience their dreams and failures and the inner turmoil behind their everyday lives. In the main this film has no obvious musical soundtrack to augment the scenes which makes it feel more stark and sad somehow. This contrasts powerfully with the few scenes with piano playing which make these scenes soar and resonate that much more strongly than they normally would.

Everyone acts extremely well and the direction draws out every detail and nuance in the various scenes. Japanese film are noted for their attention to detail and the small touches that show a deeper meaning and this film is no exception.

I was unsure what to expect from this film and whilst it is slow paced and doesn't spell out every emotion or feeling (like many American films tend to do) this is immensely satisfying and leaves you feeling uplifted and calm at the same time. If you are fond of world cinema or Japanese films in general then you really must check this out at some point.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film!, 10 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Tokyo Sonata [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film. I just wanted to add a 5 star rating, the others have said it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS A PERFECT SAMPLE FOR KNOWING KIYOSHI'S STYLE AND STORYTELLING FORM., 8 Feb 2014
By 
HAN XIAO "heaven851102" (CHINA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THIS IS A PERFECT SAMPLE FOR KNOWING KIYOSHI'S STYLE AND STORYTELLING FORM. I'M SO GLAD MOC CHOSE TOKYO SONATA TO RELEASE IN BLURAY FORMAT, AND IT'S A WONDERFUL CHOICE TO DO SO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN AMAZING MOVIE, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tokyo Sonata [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a remarkable movie and held us spell bound from the very beginning - highly recommended. It arrived promptly and in good condition, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tokyo Sonata [Masters of Cinema] [DVD]
Tokyo Sonata [Masters of Cinema] [DVD] by Kiyoshi Kurosawa (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: £15.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews