Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars35
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2005
Having been a Journey convert for many years and gradually having collected their entire back catalogue, I would have to say that this album from 1981 is, without doubt, their best offering. Whilst the other albums are worth a look this was their finest moment. It also proved to be their most successful album commercially.
The musicianship of the band all round is first class and it has to be said that Steve Perry has a voice that most other singers would kill for. He soars powerlessly throughout all the songs on this album, although the ballads are definitely his finest hour. He is possessed of an amazing natural talent. The entire band in fact are at the top of their game. Neal Schon's guitar playing excels, Jonathan Cain provides superb melody on keyboards and the rhythm section of Ross Valory on bass and Steve Smith on drums is solid and faultless.
Of particular note are the anthemic Don't stop believin and Who's cryin' now? Both these songs were massive hit singles stateside and sound as fresh tody as I'm sure they did 25 years ago. Other highlights are the title track, open arms and still they ride. All round the album is faultless - not a filler in sight, a rarity indeed.
Although Journey would never reach these heights again, this is a reminder of what a truly great band they were. A must have for any real music fan. I got this album 12 years ago and still listen to it constantly. Any fan of melodic rock and all-round decent music will love this album and this band and deservingly so. They were something special indeed.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2009
I have owned this album on vinyl for more than 25 years and have decided it was time I owned the CD as well and to put it on my Ipod. It is a stunning collection of songs and I would thoroughly recommend it. Steve Perry's voice is absolutely divine and I particularly love his performance of 'open arms'. A truly outstanding album!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2009
As a heavy rocker, I was a bit dubious about purchasing this album, but did so on the strength of a magazine review. I am glad that I did. This is a truly good album. Whilst not heavy, it still ticks all my boxes. I would recommend it to anyone, heavy rockers or melodic rockers.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2010
I purchased the original album way back when on vinyl and thought it would be great to have a digitally remastered version on CD. I had forgotten how good this album was. The vinyl hasen't been out of the cupboard of a number of years. "Don't Stop Belevin'" has obviously beeen brought out into the public domain (for all the wrong reasons) but there are some other good songs on this album. It's not all about the first song. Well worth the money if you like American rock music.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
Escape was journeys breakthrough album which established journey as a leading band in the 80's It spawned 3 hit singles, and many of the other songs are now deemed as classics of the genre.

The reason for this is the quality of the song writing, as prior to the album, it was slightly hit and miss. However, Journey was at their creative peak here, with a combination of great songs, great musicianship and lyrics that its audience could identify with.

The star of the album has to be Steve Perry - No vocalist has ever quite out-performed him when it comes down to the emotion and raw power conveyed in his voice. Thats not to forget the other musicians, Neal Schon does some impressive guitar work, with a combination of catchy hooks and shredding that balance out his solos. The Keyboards (Johnathan Cain) play a big part in this album as well, but they don't detract from the guitar work at all, and the bass lines are extremely impressive. Musically, this has to be one of journeys most deep albums.

The variety of the material here is impressive as well, with a combination of pop rock songs, upbeat hard rock songs and soulful ballads. Standouts include the timeless Don't Stop Believing, fan favorite Stone In Love, The Prog like Escape, and Open Arms, one of the best power ballads ever recorded. Probably the only song I dislike in the collection is Lay It Down, which has a disappointing chorus. However, the rest of the material is solid.

Timeless songs (as proven with don't stop believing's recent success), great musicianship, and clear production makes this a must buy. If you haven't heard much journey before, you might be better off trying their greatest hits, but if you want to try a studio album, then this is the one to get.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2000
First time I heard the single 'Don't Stop Believin'I just had to get the album.From the first track,'Don't Stop Believin'Steve Perry in his prime,to 'Mother,Father'and 'Open Arms'the album just rocks and rolls.It was my first Journey album,but it inspired me to get every album,Cd,single,tape,and vidio I could find.My favorite track is a close call between 'Don't Stop Believin' and 'Keep on Running'which does leaves you out of breath.The haunting 'Still They Ride'and the excellent guiter work by Neil Schon on the title track 'Escape'.A superb album which I play most days even after all these years,was it really released in 1981.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2008
For those who are interested (true fans and collectors): There are some who are debating whether or not this is a re-master of 'Escape' or not. It does sound virtually identical to the 1996 re-master to me, but it has the addition of the 4 bonus tracks. The 3 live tracks can also be found on the 'Live In Houston' CD/DVD.

The bonus 'La Raza Del Sol' (originally released as a B-side) is a slightly different version here to the one in the 'Time3' box set. This version has Neal playing electric guitar throughout his solo, while the alternate version has him playing acoustic for the first part of his solo (I prefer the alternate version with the acoustic 'Latin feel').

Nevertheless, this re-issue of a classic Journey album with a booklet and bonus tracks sounds great, and it's a worthwhile addition to any Journey collection - whether it's a true re-master or not!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2006
I have recently started collecting the re-mastered Journey albums and boy oh boy do they sound good. Listening to them again rolls back the years and in my maturing years I'm appreciating them all over again. The original singer, up to '98, Steve Perry has the most fanstastic voice and writes great songs.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Twenty-five years ago, "Escape" went to No. 1 with three top 10 hits. It represented a new beginning of rock 'n' roll after the implosion of disco. Emphasizing strength and freedom of youth, survival of love and new hope, it became a classic of that era that still holds up. Every song is a keeper with fantastic vocals and instrumental hooks. Despite poor critical reviews, this album went on the sell over 10 million copies and is still a standard staple in rock & roll history!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2003
This album is Intense and very uplifting. The tracks Mother,Father and Still They Ride stand out for me, it sounds as fresh and exciting to me today as it did all those years ago, A true classic.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)