Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST! FANTASTIC!
Having seen this series as a child ,ive
throughout my life wanted to know how it ended up.
finally after 39 years i can do it,its been a 'manhunt'
of a journey to get to this point,but you really feel like youve
done the trip with Nina,Jimmy and Vincent!(3 main characters)

This series is excellent having watched the 1st 13 Episodes...
Published on 25 May 2009 by spike

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Historical series of WW2
Had never seen this before, but decided to try it. Not as good a series as Enemy at the Door (strange ending in that one ??) or Colditz (Very Good series). This has far too much screaming and hysterics from Cyd Hayman, but there are a lot of the actors from the 60/70s starring in it. If you don't mind the ott acting, might be worth a try.
Published 11 months ago by Mr. P. F. Green


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I did recall the leading actress not being very good but I would not put it that kindly now, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manhunt - The Complete Series [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
I remembered this as being an exciting weekly treat when it was on television around 40 years ago and was really looking forward to seeing it again, unfortunately time has not been kind to it. I did recall the leading actress not being very good but I would not put it that kindly now. Robert Hardy just about saves it from an acting point of view. Still better than a lot of the rubbish we get now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best in small doses, 20 May 2011
By 
B. Olsen (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manhunt - The Complete Series [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
I remember this series from the early 70s and at the time I found it very exciting. With one episode being screened weekly, you were always wondering what was going to happen next. But having watched the complete series now over only a few days' time, I can only say it has not stood the test of time. Perhaps it was - and is - best in small doses? Too many episodes are boring with very little happening. And with most of the action - for want of a better word - taking place indoors, I felt almost as if I were sitting in a theatre watching a play on stage. Fun fact: Episode 25 has a dead man breathing heavily!

The obvious 70s influences of almost everybody having long(ish) hair and smoking incessantly, soon became irritating and for me at least, distracting. And the least said about Cyd Hayman's performance as Nina, the better. Add to that that Maggie Fitzgibbon is grossly miscast as the sensual night-club singer Adelaide, being far too old for this role and that Robert Hardy often goes completely over top in his performance as Sergeant Gratz. I also soon tired of the constant bickering between the main characters, only Peter Barkworth as Vincent comes over as a decent person with a true purpose.

I won't bother to watch this series again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manhunt - The Complete Series [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Excellent series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Most disappointing, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manhunt - The Complete Series [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
It looked like a promising story line but very quickly it became clear this was a very studio bound production. It may have been the bees knees at the time but the Mrs and I struggled on and finally gave up after some 14 episodes. I did observe that I cannot quite see how people said 'Gosh, don't forget Manhunt tonight on the telly'. This one will be given to a relative for Christmas. for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dire!, 1 April 2010
This review is from: Manhunt - The Complete Series [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
This is virtually unwatchable, dreadfully plotted and acted, with cliche ridden dialogue and cardboard cut-out characters that would shame the worst soap.

Firstly, the storyline is all over the place, lacking any continuity. For instance, the crux of it is that the character Nina holds vital information, thus she is to be escorted to England by the other two main characters, Vincent and Jimmy. However, this is completely dropped or forgotten around half way through the series when the new priority suddenly becomes capturing some new metal alloy developed by the Germans. The three main characters also take turns in disappearing for several episodes at a time, often with little or no explanation.

With regard to the acting, Cyd Hayman (Nina) is woefully bad, her shrill delivery and irritating manner reminiscent of Sally Smedley in the comedy Drop The Dead Donkey.

Many of the scenes are equally comical. For instance, in one episode, one of our 'heroes' escapes in a cupboard carried by the others, but then decides to get out of the cupboard in full view of the German guards but, of course, isn't seen by any of them. I can only assume Benny Hill was the script consultant.

Too many reviewers here are allowing nostalgia to cloud their judgment. Unless you find ineptitude of the highest order amusing, AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

PS - I wanted to give this zero stars but I couldn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars acting not up to scratch, 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manhunt - The Complete Series [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
the parts of jimmy (alfred lynch) and nina (cyd hayman)were badly miscast even robert hardys character was very over the top not a brilliant series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling dross., 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manhunt - The Complete Series [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Watch secret army instead. All of the actors are terrible, the plot unbelievable, I want my money back, everyone associated with it should be embarrassed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Man hunt full series, 10 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. Peter Cowman (Cumbria UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manhunt - The Complete Series [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Looked forward to this series after reading other comments, I was very very dissopointed when viewing this dvd, found it long & "drawn out" plus too unbelivable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A series to avois at all costs, 2 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manhunt - The Complete Series [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Due to the raving reviews of some other Amazon customers I ordered this series, which was one of the biggest mistakes of my life.

The acting is appalling and the story just drags on and on (... and on).

If you enjoy terrible acting and need a boring series to send you to sleep this might do it for you, but sleeping pills would be better value for money.

Ugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars manhunt, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manhunt - The Complete Series [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
i looked forwartd to 'manhunt' but having watch three quarters of it i find it old fashioned, not very well acted, and not at all realistic If asked wether i would, given the chance , stop anybody buying this i would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manhunt - The Complete Series [DVD] [1970]
£21.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews