Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very handy
I purchased this jacket for a trip to euro Disney.I wanted something lightweight I could put in my bag but would also keep me dry if needed. This jacket fitted the bill perfectly. Have had 'pacamacs' before which were no good for anything other than a shower, but this one was heavy enough to keep me warm over a hoodie and kept me completely dry after an 8 hr soaking...
Published on 8 Nov. 2009 by K. gath

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gelert Rainpod Jacket - good for the price
A good lightweight rain jacket for the price. The material is somewhat plastic-like on the inside - not very comfortable e.g. with only a short sleeve underneath. I haven't tried the jacket in really heavy rain yet, but my initial impression is that it keeps water fairly well, but I wouldn't expect it to perform like a heavy "real" raincoat. But for backpacking, and...
Published on 20 Sept. 2010 by cwikstro


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very handy, 8 Nov. 2009
By 
K. gath (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I purchased this jacket for a trip to euro Disney.I wanted something lightweight I could put in my bag but would also keep me dry if needed. This jacket fitted the bill perfectly. Have had 'pacamacs' before which were no good for anything other than a shower, but this one was heavy enough to keep me warm over a hoodie and kept me completely dry after an 8 hr soaking walking round the parks.
I got a large after previous reviews stated the sizes were a little small, but I found if anything a medium would've been ample. I am a size 14/16 and with a couple of layers and a very thick surfing hoodie the jacket still had loads of room.
Am now looking to get one for my 3 year old for walking the dog during the winter. Would definitely recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gelert Rainpod Jacket, 2 Sept. 2009
By 
D. Carter (North-west) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wanted a packaway jacket for summer walks in lieu of my 3-layer gortex jacket I have for winter walks.
Pros - Does exactly what it professes to do. Versatile, packs away to an extremely small size and handy clip allows it to be hung off belt loops etc. to allow hands-free use. 100% waterproof in very heavy summer downpours. (Don't know how it would react to long periods of constant wind and rain).
Cons - Hood could do with being a bit deeper but this should not put you off.
Summary - An excellent value for money product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help with the size, 1 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: Gelert Mens Rainpod Jacket (Sports)
I am 1.84m and 85kg and I bought the X-Large which I think is great to wear over a normal coat. Despite it being a bit loose (which I think means that it could accomodate bigger people than me) it doesn't look bulky but very neat indeed. I am fully satisfied with it and would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars does the job perfectly!, 11 July 2009
By 
W.N. (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gelert Mens Rainpod Jacket (Sports)
I needed something to pack in my daily bag instead of carrying around a huge jacket that'll make me sweaty in a warm rainy day. It turned out to be quite handy and useful. It's always in my bag and during my camping and hiking in real bad weather and 24/7 rain in the highlands in scotland it just performed the way it should, unlike other expensive shiny brands that failed the test and got soaked.

Only thing about it is that it is not breathable but that won't make any difference if you wear a long-sleeve t-shirt under it.
Value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 18 Nov. 2009
By 
S. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I needed a new raincoat because my old one had disappeared, but didn't really want to spend a great deal of money in case the old one turned up (which had cost me quite a bit and was a really good coat). I thought this one seemed cheap and cheerful but honestly didn't expect much - I know other people that have bought "Kag in a bag" style raincoats which have been leaky and not worked very well and I thought this might be the same kind of thing. But this has actually been great! Just as good as my old raincoat, it's kept me dry and is also a good wind breaker too. As someone has said before, the hood is a bit small but it's not really a big issue.

For sizing, I'm about a women's size 10-12 and bought a Small, which is a perfect fit :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rainpod jacket, 26 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gelert Mens Rainpod Jacket (Sports)
This jacket has proved invaluable to me over the last few weeks, it is completely waterproof and is also breathable, so you don't get all sweaty in it and there have been times when I have had to wear it all day. It comes with a little stuff sack which is really useful and the pockets have velcro fastening. I have just bought another one for my daughter to put in her school bag incase she gets rained on whilst walking to school. Excellent value for money. The colour does have a blue sheen to it if that would bother you at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warm,Dry and light, 12 May 2009
This product does every thing you need.Liveing in north east Scotland a jacket that is easy to carry around is water and wind proof is essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 31 Jan. 2010
By 
Mrs. Mary E. Owen "A parents guide" (United Kingdon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Gelert rainpod really is truly lightweight and rainproof. It is ideal to carry with you just in case and you have the convenience of a tidy carrying bag. For those on a tight budget it is real value for money. If you need to wear it over a fleece I would suggest you get a size bigger than your usual coat size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 2 Oct. 2009
Product was delivered quickly and used on holiday within a fortnight of purchase. Good fit, easily packs away in handbag and kept me dry without getting "sweaty".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good value for money, 20 Jan. 2010
By 
Jenny (N.Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
Really nice rain jacket. Comes in a little drawstring bag which makes it very convenient if you wish you take it with you somewhere and you don't want to carry too much. Rolls up very small. Very convenient to just slip on quickly over a jumper. Nice quality for the money too. My husband just keeps it by front door to slip on when nipping out with dog. Ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gelert Mens Rainpod Jacket
£9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews