Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Original Sci-Fi Drama - Another Joss Whedon Triumph
Here's a tip for anyone who hasn't seen this show yet. Buy the DVD and watch the "Original Unaired Pilot Echo" first. This pilot is included on Disc 4 under "Special Features". It is is mind blowing and sets the scene perfectly for what follows in the early episodes, which are not slow as some reviewers have said, but are superb flashback driven action packed episodes...
Published on 29 Sep 2009 by Simon Shirley

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss
At times this show is great and at times it's painfully bland.

Dollhouse is an interesting experiment and is not wholly successfully, but there's still plenty of fun to have with Whedon's latest venture.

The show revolves around Caroline/Echo who is a 'doll' in the Dollhouse. The Dollhouse itself supplies people for hire to fulfil your needs or...
Published on 15 May 2009 by R. Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Original Sci-Fi Drama - Another Joss Whedon Triumph, 29 Sep 2009
By 
Simon Shirley (Stilton, Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dollhouse: Season One [DVD] (DVD)
Here's a tip for anyone who hasn't seen this show yet. Buy the DVD and watch the "Original Unaired Pilot Echo" first. This pilot is included on Disc 4 under "Special Features". It is is mind blowing and sets the scene perfectly for what follows in the early episodes, which are not slow as some reviewers have said, but are superb flashback driven action packed episodes making perfect sense having seen the pilot. Why the network never aired this pilot is beyond me - it adds immensely to the enjoyment of this brilliant original sci-fi drama. Lastly I must say Eliza Dushku is just superb in the role of Echo with a winning combination of action, beauty and naivete. This is unmissable sci-fi drama - just follow my tip and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


471 of 506 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A flawed diamond, 21 May 2009
This review is from: Dollhouse: Season One [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, so the series starts off with Joss Whedon, celebrated writer-director-composer, except no-one wants to work with him, then he has a hit web show, Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog, and he catches the attention of the dark and shadowy Fox Corporation. Fox wipe Joss's brain to make him forget that he worked for them before when they became mortal enemies.

So now Fox can make Joss do whatever they want, everyday they activate Joss and set him to work making a television series for them called Dollhouse. Everything works out fine for them. The show is flashy, cool, sexy, confusing, humourless, disconnected and unengaging. Without the real Joss to complain Fox don't even have to spend much cash on it. But can the technology Fox has used really remove all of a person's memories, their sense of self, their soul?

As he works from episode to episode it becomes apparent that Joss starts to remember who he is, but knowing he shouldn't draw attention to this fact he keeps it to himself and works slowly to improve Dollhouse from within. From episode 6 `Man on the Street' flashes of brilliance begin to save the show, culminating in the superb episode 9 `A Spy in the House of Love', by now Dollhouse has become gripping, funny, dark and touching with an intelligent and complex storyline that has people thinking. Joss is even able to help other people taken over by Fox and makes Eliza Dushku realise that she is an actress.

By the end of the series we have been taken to a place we little imagined in the beginning. I won't give any spoilers but Dollhouse does end with Joss improbably winning renewal for a second series, this time will he be out to revenge himself on the people who did this to him and turn out a flawless piece of work from the start?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Things aren't what they seem, 16 Nov 2009
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dollhouse: Season One [DVD] (DVD)
I watched the first couple of episodes on TV and then gave up, not realising that Dollhouse would develop into something quite deep and thought provoking. Based on reviews and comments, I invested in this box set and I'm very glad I did.

The Dollhouse is an organisation that brain wipes individuals and implants them with whatever personality a client may desire. This may vary from a sexual partner to a federal agent. Basically anything goes with very little evidence of morality. The lack of morality does provide the viewer with plenty of Eliza D in skimpy clothes, but as the show settles into a rhythm, there is little of this.

After a superficial start, and a few very average episodes, the show really kicks into something with real depth as layers upon layers are revealed and you find that very little of what you have seen to date was what you first thought.

This is a show about identity in more ways then one, in fact the first few episodes are about Eliza unpeeling, but then the rest of the episodes are actually about unpeeling the Dollhouse itself, and the various characters involved. There are real shocks and twists as the show gains more and more momentum and if, like me, you are a first time viewer, it gets harder and harder not to watch 'just one more episode'..

The DVD had the famous 13th episode that was not broadcast (not sure why it wasn't broadcast, whether it is a DVD 'extra' or a studio decision) which takes a unique view into the future and a world where society has broken down due to the mis-use of the technology used in the Dollhouse. This gives a glimpse of a possible direction that Weedon might have been taking Dollhouse, but then again it could just be a view of what might occur. Some interesting flashbacks and very interesting, but by it's nature, not critical to Season 1 or Season 2 of Dollhouse.

This is a very clever and thought provoking series and it is tragic that it's cancellation has just been announced midway through Season 2, but at least the whole season will be completed and hopefully there will be the opportunity to properly close it down.
Dollhouse is well worth catching up on and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stepford Wives of the future?, 16 Sep 2009
By 
A. Craig "Amanda Craig" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dollhouse: Season One [DVD] (DVD)
The very clever creator of Buffy and Firefly has come up with a format that's a cross between The Prisoner and Stepford Wives: what if, instead of going to prison, you allowed a company to erase your personality and imprint you with a different one? This is what happens to Caroline, from then on known as Echo (all dolls have names from the phonetic alphabet, which works surprisingly well, suggesting aspects of their lost personality). She works in the dollhouse, and can be programmed by Tofer (wonderful portrait of geeky Asperger's genius) at the dictates of the sinister Olivia Wiliams.

As a doll, Echo and her companions are totally passive, sexless, child-like creatures who sleep in glass-lidded beds in the floor and exercise mindlessly. When programmed, she can be anything from the passionate girl of your dreams to a hostage negotiator. This offers the star plenty of scope for displaying her acting skills, and is throughly entertaining but it's not until the sixth episode that the series really takes off. Why? Because it links the creation of dolls with slavery; then also puts them in positions in which dolls can do genuine good. There is also a sub-plot developig about how much each doll retains of their memories and real personality, especially as a detective starts searching for the lost Caroline and a psycho slasher, Alpha, interferes with programming.

Like all Whedon's shows, it's extraordinarily addictive, though the theme music sucks (unlike that of the glorious, much-lamented Firefly). As each character becomes more rounded, the nature of identity and freedom get debated through a series of dramatic and thrilling situations. It ends on an unexpected episode of high drama which will make many im[patient for the next series. One question: why hasn't it been shown in the UK?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Firefly's creator strikes again, 1 Mar 2010
By 
Giorgio (Como (CO), Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dollhouse: Season One [DVD] (DVD)
Being a HUGE fan of Joss Whedon's Firefly (never liked much Buffy or Angel, though), and having loved Eliza Dushku's Tru Calling, I was really looking forward to watching this series.

Briefly: the first episodes, say the first half, feature a nice sf series, though nothing out of the ordinary. Things start to speed up in the second half of the season, and reach a totally unexpected climax with the final episode. Truly, that last episode was just UN-BE-LIE-VA-BLE, the story took a dark, unexpected (did I mention it before?) turn, and (finally) showed what Whedon's capable of when he is at his best.

Watching the extras, I found out that Whedon realized the direction he intended to... imprint on the show while shooting it. I believe it really happened that way, cause that's just the impression I got: the end of the series has very little to do with its beginning. Happily, the show (which - again - was about to be cancelled after the first season) was given the opportunity for a second season, and I just can't wait to get that boxset too ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, 28 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Dollhouse: Season One [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, so the first five episodes are rather slow, but that is not down to Joss Whedon (creator), its down to the fact the network (FOX) kept sticking there noses in and changing the scripts so the first 5 episodes could be "stand alone" and act as five pilot episodes so people could tune in and understand the show. Episode Six is really when the show hits its stride and the episodes following on get even better (Episode 8 is by far the best episode) all leading up to the finale which was a great ending to the season.

Please DO NOT just watch the first 5 episodes and stop watching, i PROMISE it gets better by episode 6. And by the looks of things this show is going to rock in its 2nd season :D

You can really tell Joss is spending time on this show, there isn't alot of TV series out there were it gets better every episode. Most of the time they start off good and begin to go down hill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible work of art, 29 Jan 2010
By 
K. Bennett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dollhouse: Season One [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, so I hadn't watched the show on TV before buying the DVD, mainly because I couldn't find it on any channels but I prefer to watch things when I want, not when TV says I should. So on a whim I brought this DVD, knowing that the show was created by Joss Whedon and the fact that it only cost a tenner, there was no reason not to buy it, if it sucked I wasn't going to be too put out.
In fact the show didn't suck, it was absolutely amazing. I have to admit it did take a couple of episodes to draw me in, but by episode three I was gripped. I watched the whole of the series over two consecutive nights including the pilot episode and the special features. It was hard to stop myself on the first night but when its three in the morning and you have to be up at six you have to call it a night.

The show itself it great, if you watched the episodes on their own then you would think that the show was good but that there would be no real continuity or story arcs. This most definitely is not the case, the characters evolve and the story continues with each new episode, to start with I will admit the continuity is rather miner, but even in episode 2 we find out a little about the character Alpha who turns out to be a main part of the series as a whole.

I initially put off buying this series because I had heard about the premise, the main character as a girl who has her memory wiped at the end of every episode and gets implanted with new memory's, I thought that this would ruin the series as you would never get attached to the character, this is very untrue, the show is written so well that you grow to love all of the characters in the series and Eliza Dushku's character Echo is shown in every episode in a place named the dollhouse where all of the charaters are kept before having their memorys wiped and sent off for various tasks.

I wont give away any of the story but its fair to say that this is a superb show and it is well worth purchasing, I verry much look forward to buying season 2 of the show as soon as it is availible on DVD.

If you like continuity, well rounded characters, plot twists, sci fi, fantasy, Joss whedon and interesting shows that also make you think, then you should buy Dollhouse.

5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only thing to say is amazing!!!, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. T. Crean (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dollhouse: Season One [DVD] (DVD)
All i can say about dollhouse is it's a show i heard about a while before it aired in the USA and as soon as i did i couldn't wait for it to air being such a big buffy and angel fan as well as a HUGE Eliza Dushku fan watching her in buffy, tru calling as well as the many films shes in.
Looking at all of the info on the internet i didnt know what to expect when the show came out, yes i knew what it was about but didnt know how it would work or how well it would have been writed but living in the UK i couldn't watching on fox when it first came out even though i wanted too so much i had to watch it so i found the website watchdollhouse which gave links to places to watch the show and all i can say it WOW.
This show is truly fantastic it has twsits and turns nobody can expect that make you just so excited and addicted to the show. The acting is all 1st class and you get lost in the world they create on tv. There is also nothing this show can be compared to its not just a spin of the ideas from buffy or firefly its a 100% original show that is like nothing you can discride. Im not going to explain what the show is like like everyone else all i will say is that that show is fantastic and anyone could enjoy it if they just give it a chance so buy the dvd!!!!!!! and enjoy

Oh and i just needed to add that im so addicted to this show that now its on sci-fi i sky+ it and watch it all over again :D so as soon as the dvds out i know ill be buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a good Watch!!!, 15 Sep 2009
By 
Ms. S. McGuire "Staz" (Manchester!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dollhouse: Season One [DVD] (DVD)
I must say, I gambled when buying this series.
I thought what the hell £14.99.. why not?

I'm so glad I did. I love this series already. I'm only half way through it maybe episode 5/6. But already I'm typing reviews during my dinner hour because I can't wait to get home and watch more.

I was mostly drawn in by the fact that the "Dollhouse" idea could be feasible, It is truly a Joss creation but with a hint of... "What if.."

I love it. I can't wait to watch more. I'd love to see the series continue and get the right promotion it deserves so everyone gets their say!

THANKS FOR READING :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Having seen the 1st nine Episodes - It just keeps getting better!!!, 20 April 2009
This review is from: Dollhouse: Season One [DVD] (DVD)
This show is a bit of a departure from Whedon's normal writing style. Witty banter is seldom seen here. Instead what we have is a crazy concept for a show, essentially due to the fact that the main character has no character . . .. yet.

The show is about a girl who has been plucked from her normal life by a corporation and had her persoanlity wiped. She can then be hired by people for a great deal of money to perform almost any function they wish such as girlfriend, FBI agent, scientist etc. The employees of the corporation merely implant a new personality into her now blank slate of a brain. She then returns to the dollhouse to be brain wiped again at the end of the assignment. Weird huh?!

The show seems to take on a "character of the week" format for Elisa Dushku, but with a thread running through the whole series of "Can you ever truly wipe a human being's personality?", "Is she retaining some sense of self?". This is without a doubt the more interesting underpinning of the show. Joss seems to sneak in a hint about the answers to these questions with each new episode.

There are a great deal of other aspects to the show, but I think I've covered the most important one.

There are a couple of negatives though. The main one is that the first few episodes are a bit of a "lets see how many sexy costumes we can put on Elisa and let her pose around in them?", kinda deal. I don't mind them dressing her up to look hot but it can get a little soft porny occasionally which cheapens the show. Then there is, as previously mentioned, the lack of humour in the first half of the first season. It does start to creep in eventually but this show can take itself a little too seriously at times and I think that slick banter is what Joss does best - and I love him for it.

Is it as good as firefly and Buffy? No, not yet; but with some better peripheral characters (like xander, spike, river etc from his other shows)which are sorely lacking here this show could be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dollhouse: Season One [DVD]
Dollhouse: Season One [DVD] by Eliza Dushku (DVD - 2009)
£9.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews