Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad
I own every socom brought out and this is no disappointment at all, granted the graphics are not as good as could be but the actual gameplay is far better.

The gameplay feels more like socom 1 which was the best of all the games. People actually die when shot and there is no sign of any lag since ive been playing which is a huge positive for the game, just...
Published on 2 April 2009 by Mr. William Shortell

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bugs Confrontation.
Amazing how a game that has been out for this long already has this many bugs, and not small ones, there is one at the moment that when it comes, all the sound from the game dissapear, except the voices coming from the headset. As you can guess, listening to bullets coming to you is important in this game. So all you can do is go out of the game and load it again. Fun...
Published on 14 May 2009 by F. Rivera


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bugs Confrontation., 14 May 2009
By 
F. Rivera "Relexe" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Socom: Confrontation - Game Only (PS3) (Video Game)
Amazing how a game that has been out for this long already has this many bugs, and not small ones, there is one at the moment that when it comes, all the sound from the game dissapear, except the voices coming from the headset. As you can guess, listening to bullets coming to you is important in this game. So all you can do is go out of the game and load it again. Fun fun, and then you come back to the room you were before that noise bug to find out the room you were playing with your mates is now full, and you can't log in anymore, fun ++.
There are also times when you chose a game to login, and it just simply doesn't work, making you wait for like a minute to tell you it didn't work. Not quite fun.
Well, after you managed to get into a game, with working sound, bugs just doesn't stop there, there are some pleople exploiting addons to weapons system, in theory you can only add 2 things to a weapon, well, you will find people running around with 5 addons in one weapon.
There is a patch "coming out soon (tm)", the 1.5 i believe, needless to say, if all this bugs are not fixed, i will get rid of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Special, 26 Jun 2011
By 
J. Walls - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Socom: Confrontation - Game Only (PS3) (Video Game)
Great price, received quick.... However it's not that great of a game.

The game:

Pros:
- The game play its self is fairly good, however when compared with past Socom games and other games such as Call of Duty etc., well it's got nothing on them.
- Online game matching is fairly quick and stable.

Cons:
- It can only be played online which I did not realise before buying.
- Not as many online players as Call of Duty etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 2 April 2009
By 
Mr. William Shortell "W. s" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Socom: Confrontation - Game Only (PS3) (Video Game)
I own every socom brought out and this is no disappointment at all, granted the graphics are not as good as could be but the actual gameplay is far better.

The gameplay feels more like socom 1 which was the best of all the games. People actually die when shot and there is no sign of any lag since ive been playing which is a huge positive for the game, just because of this fact it makes it much more enjoyable there is nothing worse then shooting a full clip into a enemy and getting nothing in return apart from a slap in the face.

Anyways id say this was a must buy for any fan of Socom. The verdict is it could have better graphics for the ps3 but it doesnt and that doesnt change the gameplay so its a must have from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Now, 20 April 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Socom: Confrontation - Game Only (PS3) (Video Game)
If you like 3rd person shooters,tactical warfare and clan based games then this is for you.Great gameplay and a tense atmosphere as you have to preserve your 1 life.Awesome :D
Add me on PSN(Scar_HeadFaced)to join CSA clan or visit ps3crowd online
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars action game., 29 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Socom: Confrontation - Game Only (PS3) (Video Game)
this item was a very good, also very fast moving, I would recommend it to any of my keen gamer friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars game, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Socom: Confrontation - Game Only (PS3) (Video Game)
what can I say you can only play it online but it s ok but not to bad to play ok thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS GAME IS HACKED, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Socom: Confrontation - Game Only (PS3) (Video Game)
I am sorry to write such a review on a game I love so much playing it for 4 years but there is now so many cheaters on it you cant really play it fairly the server are shutting down on 28th/1/2014 for good not worth buying it now as its online only one of the best shooters around with no re-spawn it brakes away from re--spawn type games such a C.O.D or BF3 players dubbing it SOCRACK its so addictive team based shooter where without teamwork its hard as hell if your a noob

my advice is to wait for a game with the same kind of gameplay such as H-HOUR on ps4 if your thinking of buying SOCOM 4 those servers are also going down 28/1/2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 28 Jun 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Socom: Confrontation - Game Only (PS3) (Video Game)
if you like the socom franchise, or simply prefer a bit more of a "serious" shooter than COD, give this a shot. great game, at an even better price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars To counter COD Fanboys Mockery of a great game, 20 April 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Socom: Confrontation - Game Only (PS3) (Video Game)
First of all, let me just say IGN's 4.5/10 and Gamespot's 6.5/10 reviews are an absolute injustice to this game. I'm not a socom fanboy, although I've played socom in the past, this is this first title I've brought. I had socom preordered but then the games sites like IGN and Gamespot ripped the game to shreds, so I cancelled my preorder and stayed away, BIG MISTAKE!! It seems at the time they reviewed this game online they were obviously playing alone around their office as it hadn't been released and maybe socom's servers weren't running efficiently. But I assure you this game is excellent! The graphics are pleasing I've seen better, but then again I've seen worse (mercenaries 2, Bourne conspiracy). The game suffers from very little lag even when you're in a 16vs16 game, of course there's a few slow spots now and again but no game including the "10/10 Masterful" GTA4 is without its minor technical flaws and the controls can be awkward to get used to. Now I'm not going to compare this game to call of duty like some people do because it's very unlike call of duty (Not a pop at call of duty), it's designed to be a team based tactical shooter from a third person perspective and it does just that. There are loads of features on it I like and if you liked the previous Socom titles and enjoy games that require skill, precision and teamwork then I think you should give this a try.
Graphics 8/10
Sound 9/10
Gameplay 9/10
Overall 8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun from this 'NOT FPS' but it's just online, 20 April 2009
By 
Paulo Matos (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Socom: Confrontation - Game Only (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is very nice and the play is amazing. It's more the kind of play offered by MGS4 than CoD4. More strategy, less 'go-in, kill'em all'. Unfortunately is just online and the online guys are just already so good that most of the time you just die and that's it. Unless you train a lot in unranked games, a good ranking is very VERY hard to achieve. That's why I only gave 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Socom: Confrontation - Game Only (PS3)
3.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews