Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A benchmark recording ...
This recording of the Handel Coronation Anthems from 1727 is just about the best there is on CD at the moment. King's College Cambridge choir is rightly celebrated as probably the best cathedral choir in Europe if not the world. What sticks out here is the clarity of the diction of the singers, and the beautifully shaped lines that Stephen Cleobury manages to tease from...
Published on 27 July 2004 by R. H. Fitzsimmons

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alright...but!!
Ok but I think I still prefer The Sixteen's version first whether it be on CD or download!! Try that instead for long term enjoyment :-)
Published 27 days ago by Scott N.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Wonderful Handel, 28 April 2013
The glorious music of the coronation anthems are a delight to the ear. Strong vibrant without being strident. I fell in love with this music when I was only 12 and the love affair hasn't dimmed now I'm nearly 68.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute delight, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Robert Harris (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't have the expertise to comment specifically, but this recording is brilliant. In particular, the joyful enthusiam of the boy trebles singing their little hearts out is so uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD - Handel Coronation Anthems, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The choral works on this CD is truly inspiring. I have been looking for something like this for ages and I am very very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the best, 17 Dec 2010
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I was given this last year as a bithday present and only have just got round to playing it and what a mistake - 6 months of great Choral music lost in the car! Zadok the Priest on this CD has to be the best recording ever. Very spectacular and clear - just super.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb anthems delicious Birthday Ode, 24 Jun 2008
By 
Marcolorenzo (Italy) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Benchmark recording of both the anthems and the Ode which is a delicious treat. Even though the Hyperion CD of the Ode is good this is far better.
To quote from a review by David Vickers on this recording comparing it to the earlier Robert King recording on Hyperion: "Robin Blaze's superb singing in the slow opening duet with natural trumpet is a highlight of the Hyperion disc, comfortably equaling James Bowman's exquisite collaboration with Robert King. Yet Cleobury's performers are on more glittering form throughout the entire piece than Robert King's, and considered as a whole this new version supplants the Hyperion version as the benchmark recording. It cannot be suggested that any recording is eternally definitive, yet there need be no desperate requirement for another version of either the anthems or the ode in the near future. You need no other version of these works." This is the definite recording of these works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handel - Coronation Anthems, 15 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To celebrate the 40th Birthday of Helston Chamber Choir, we are singing the Richard Maunder version of Mozart's Requiem AND Handel's Coronation Anthems. I have found the Anthem CD really inspiring, helpful & joyous - rehearsals are great fun, the Choir is growing as the word gets around, so by February we shall be word & note perfect !!??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coronation anthems, 3 Mar 2011
Aylesbury Choral Society is singing this in December. This recording gives a good performance, can hear all parts and it is full of energy. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classical cd, 30 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for specific tracks and not disappointed. One of the best voices in the world a real pleasure to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Kings, Queens And Heirs, 22 May 2004
Zadok the Priest is amazing. The first time it was used was for the coronation of George II of England in the 1700, but actually Zadok the Priest is so moving that the Queen of Denmark chose to use for the Crown Princess' walk down the isle at the wedding of Crown Prince Frederik and Crown Princess Mary in 2004. It's very spectacular and a must for lovers of the monarchy. God Save The King!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good performances, dodgy editing, 12 July 2009
By 
J. Hutchings "jjhutchings" (Framlingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Take one of the UK's supposedly better male voice choirs, add arguably one of the best period-instrument groups (aren't they mostly the same players anyway?), some great soloists, some popular music by Handel that would take some doing to get wrong, record it in a medieval barn, and you end up with what is actually a rather enjoyable recording.

What spoils it slightly for me is the rather strained sound of the trebles in the more gutsy movements, which takes the sparkle off the performance, making it more human than transcendental. The orchestra perform with typical panache, and the soloists are huge fun - just take "Let rolling streams" - Blaze and George are clearly having a whale of a time. But then we hit another problem - the editing. In this particular movement, when the choir joins in, obviously and understandably recorded at a different time, they are quite a bit faster than the preceding soloists, resulting in what ends up being a fairly comical accelerando. Bad EMI. Although, if it is a choice of Cleobury's to do so, why? Why would you choose to ruin it?

So, ultimately, one star off for funny choir sounds, another for bad editing, and then one back on for it being, ultimately, a rather fun recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1924d68)

This product

Handel Coronation Anthems
Handel Coronation Anthems by Cambridge/Academy Of Ancient Music/Stephen Cleobury Choir Of King's College
Buy MP3 Album9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews