Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not his best? I beg to differ!
I'm surprised to see the other reviewer damn this album with faint praise. For me it remains the definitive Bad Seeds album - sparse, atmospheric and haunting. Interestingly Cave himself describes it as the only one he's made that he's completely satisfied with! The edgy unnerving scratch of Jack's Shadow recalls the heady days of The Birthday Party, the lush beauty of...
Published on 11 Dec. 2008 by DJH Rangdale

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I notice a click
Could be my copy, but there's a click / pop at 3.09 in the second track The Carny. And the extra track Scum could have been in the audio cd as well.
Published on 6 July 2009 by M. B. Machado


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not his best? I beg to differ!, 11 Dec. 2008
By 
DJH Rangdale (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Your Funeral...My Trial (Audio CD)
I'm surprised to see the other reviewer damn this album with faint praise. For me it remains the definitive Bad Seeds album - sparse, atmospheric and haunting. Interestingly Cave himself describes it as the only one he's made that he's completely satisfied with! The edgy unnerving scratch of Jack's Shadow recalls the heady days of The Birthday Party, the lush beauty of Sad Waters brings to mind Scott Walker and as for The Carny.... I have to agree that the re-ordering of the tracks is just bizarre - the original format on the double 12 inch pack makes a lot more sense! Anyway, you need this in your collection! Nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A confusing yet rewarding album., 20 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Your Funeral...My Trial (Audio CD)
The one thing that often lacked in some Cave’s earlier work was consistency, not in terms of song quality. Even the weakest track is delivered with more passion and style than most of his peers. Its rather the way the album gels together.
“Your Funeral My trial” sounds like sections from three different albums, combining Blues, ballads and glorious noise. Still this is a minor complaint about a fine collection of songs.
The album starts with the title track. Built around a piano and organ accompaniment, it sounds like a lullaby with teeth. Stranger to kindness follows, the only song recorded by the Bad seeds (cover versions excluded) were Cave has neither wrote the lyrics or music. This task is handled by Anita Lane and Blixa Bargeld respectively. It’s a somewhat half-hearted effort
Things pick up for Jacks Shadow, which has some great fractured guitar playing by Bargeld and backing vocals from the Bad Seeds. Its too melodic to be sinister

Then comes the album’s centrepiece a monster of a track “the Carny” an epic track even more cinematic than “red right hand.” Here Cave’s storytelling abilities come to the fore with the tale of a Carny who vanishes from a circus. It’s a jaw dropping song.

The spare atmospheric “She fell away” follows. Along with the Carny it’s the album’s highlight,
Showing how far Cave has come as a songwriter, now able to write disturbing numbers that
don’t spill into a chaotic wall of noise.
“Hard on for love” and “Long time man” would have fitted comfortably on First Born is dead.
Between the two tracks is “Sad waters” a tender love ballad without any death or violence. Among one of Cave's most beautiful songs. Its ethereal beauty is a complete contrast to the jagged noise and darkness of the other tracks. Long Time man is owes more than a passing nod to “wanted man” by Dylan which the band covered on “first born”
“Hard on” with its biblical metaphors to describe an almost animal lust sounds almost comical, it’s to Cave’s credit that he manages to pull it off. With lyrics like
“I am the fiend hid in her skirts
And it's as hot as hell in here
Coming at her as I am from above”
it’s either shockingly blasphemous or honestly perverse.
If “Hard on” sounds perverse, then Scum is pure bile, with Cave spiting explicit lifted rant directed
at some poor journalist who dared to give Cave lodgings when he first moved to London. Cave was unimpressed with lodgings, to say the least. Some how, as an album, it all manages to make sense in a twisted perverse Nick Cave kind of way. While it is in not one of Cave’s best works, there are enogh songs of high calibre to make this a worth while buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stranger than others by NC, 28 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Your Funeral...My Trial (Audio CD)
Originally published on two 12" singles in a double gatefold sleeve the track listing in this CD format has been re-ordered which I can never understand – it just confuses those of us who originally bought the vinyl format and I assume is contrary to what was originally intended.
Enough useless bickering about pedantic points concerning formatting, this is an eerie album even by Nick Cave standards that I consider to be truly powerful not only in the strength of Cave's lyrics buy also in the musical arrangements. Although there is a common theme to the music there is strength in diversity from the sorrowful ballad of 'Sad Waters' to the quite extraordinary 'The Carny' a spoken-word to the accompaniment of hypnotic carnival music sounds.
To a certain extent this is a precursor to later Cave work, in particular Murder Ballads as a the lyrics of the songs deal with such delights as a man doing away with his own shadow, and thus destroying his own soul (Jack's Shadow), stalkers (Hard on For love) and relationship breakdowns (She Fell Away).
All in all this is not, objectively, one of Cave's best albums. Neither is it the most accessible so if you are new to Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds this is not your starting point - try Henry's Dream, Let Love In, and Murder Ballads, but is a great favourite of mine and compares much more favourably to his album 'Kicking against the Pricks' an album altogether in a completely different style being a series of cover versions that was published originally only two months earlier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Money for New Rope, 18 Dec. 2010
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Your Funeral...My Trial (Audio CD)
A vague feeling of disappointment washed over me when this first emerged. It shifted away from the previous platters, to a more fly blown Vegas lounge-decked outing draped in orange, brown and cream. Whilst cutting, its focus was more subtle in its orientation, a sunshine departure from the howling Mississippi blasted Gothic blues.

Overall Nick stretches his larynx across the Nevada desert, from all the way to Paris Texas, forever crooning in a cracked voice, the songs of despair, death, dysfunction and dis-ease. Meanwhile a slide stretches across the tortured neck to induce the vast open spaces of America - small towns with no escape.

Happiness occurs in mirages, occurring in puddles after a starched heavy downpour, which ripples across the illusions in a post Cave world, as we all stumble from one perceived oasis to another. Images ritually shatter when the beholder tries to grasp reality and believes they have arrived, only to see it dissolve within his grasp as it turns into fine dust.

Love of death and the the death of love intertwine as ivy creepers in Sad waters, Your funeral my trial and Stranger than kindness. The surreal world of the itinerant life lurches in the Carny ensconced in a later musical tableau of Santa Sangre; the Jodorowsky depiction of sleaze coupled in a tryst with mental cruelty.

Hard on for Love is the rollercoaster ride of an explosion protruding from its purple shell making itself known from beneath the loins, quivering, before finally entering into the musical fray. Jack's shadow is a lament on the loss of adolescence as life segues into distinct layers. Jack steals into town to revenge these changes by committing violence against himself, the Jungian alter ego obliterates himself into a baleful bright light. A fast quick rush away from adulthood and responsibility, as he slouches into a long slow suicide.

"She fell away" continues the themes of love and death, as the protagonist reflects on the corpse of love, yes she lay open like a road. Amnesia battles with memory in recollection of how this all occurred, and deals with the lies people tell themselves to make it all ok.

The one cover is Long Time Man, a folk song by Tim Rose. Nick resurrected his career on the basis of this cover, as Morning Dew later became interpreted by Neubauten. Rose then supported the Bad Seeds and returned to singing after a sojourn on Skid Row and a flurry as a New York Stockbroker after battling alcoholism.

Listening again, it stands by itself as a rock platter in a sea of 80's mud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NickCave&HisMusic, 14 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Your Funeral... My Trial (Audio CD)
...excellent album from the early days recommended for all who are in touch with their darkside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I notice a click, 6 July 2009
By 
M. B. Machado - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Your Funeral... My Trial (Audio CD)
Could be my copy, but there's a click / pop at 3.09 in the second track The Carny. And the extra track Scum could have been in the audio cd as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Your Funeral... My Trial
Your Funeral... My Trial by Nick Cave (Audio CD - 2015)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews