Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Master Justly Celebrated, 10 Mar 2009
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quiet Please...The New Best of Nick Lowe (2CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
Nick Lowe has been around for donkey's years, and although he's hardly prolific, what he does release is inevitably of the highest quality. This double CD / DVD package pays overdue homage to the man's humanity and ability to make music that is emotionally affecting without ever being overwrought. Too many artists make the mistake of thinking that 'Passion' - ie oversinging - means soulfulness - Nick never makes that mistake. The beauty of his music is an utter lack of pretension, a sense of what is both funny ha-ha and funny peculiar, and that frequently, the joke is on him. Plus, he never falls into the 'too many words' criticism of one of his contemporaries (and running mates) Elvis Costello. Even albums that he has distanced himself from (and let's face it, the 80s were a lean time for more than just Nick) have their moments, and the best of that stuff is on here. But it's his last four albums - works of elegantly-tailored melancholy and the old mood indigo - that are the real gems of his career ('Jesus of Cool' aside), and you really ought to own them in their entirety, even if this collection does cherry-pick the best of them artfully. Buy two copies, and give one to someone you love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer genius !!, 19 Mar 2009
By 
P. Westin "Guitaraholic" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quiet Please...The New Best of Nick Lowe (2CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
These CD's spans over 33 years of Mr Lowe's career, carries 49 tracks + a DVD containing a concert from Bruxelles & a few music-videos from the time before MTV.
What can I say - Nick Lowe is an absolute pop-genius, there's not a daft track on either CD, from the quirky, sometimes goofy, but always perfect pop/rock-songs & ballads of the 70's/80's to the more traditional Country-sounding recent songs. Most tracks have been released on CD previously, some are hard to find though ( 80's tracks - hopefully Yep-Roc will remedy this soon ).

Being the Lowe-life that I am, I totally loved this "best of"-album & would have bought it just for the DVD.

Recommended to : Lowe-newbies, pop-connoiseurs, people you like & Lowe-lifes.

I think I'll buy an extra for my mother.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Music but DVD problems/'issues', 20 Mar 2009
By 
S. W. Ladd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quiet Please...The New Best of Nick Lowe (2CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
The music contained in this box set is without doubt some of the finest and most mature music you will ever hear in what is a true career retrospective and it cannot be recommended highly enough. Pure genius and pure pop for whovever are the 'now' people of this time or any other - but I've an issue with the DVD.

It plays superbly on my PC but when I put it in my top brand DVD player to enjoy on my TV I was disappointed that no sound came through. Now I think I know why! The DVD is NOT PAL system but rather NTSC. Although designated as Region Zero it is still NTSC. Why on Earth wasn't a PAL conversion done for release in the UK, northern Europe (inc. Germany), Australia etc????? We don't all have a massive box of tricks to call upon when wishing to play a DVD.

This really is a massive oversight on the part of the record company. If anyone can provide a quick fix solution to this problem then please let me, and others, know about it.

So the music gets 6 stars (if that were possible) but I've knocked 2 off because of the DVD issue. That still makes and astounding 4 stars for nearly 50 memorable tracks from a musician/performer/composer who defeats categorisation. He's THAT good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUIET PLEASE,IT'S NICK LOWE, 18 May 2009
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quiet Please...The New Best of Nick Lowe (2CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
If you buy one album this year,then it's got to be this one.Nick Lowe is a national treasure,a man who by any rights should have been awarded a lifetime achievement award in the Brits.This double album,plus accompanying
DVD really shows what an awesome talent he is.Possessor of the uncanny gift of writing great songs that stick in the mind (goodness knows how many hits for other people).He has also a voice that's matured beautifully with age,his music never overproduced,this is the mark of a unique talent,a craftsman about his work.This compilation has so many excellent performances that to pick one out is so difficult.Please do get this wonderful release now and get into enjoying every moment...as I know you will.Then get 'Impossible Bird' listen to Soulful Wind,surely one of the best tracks anywhere at any time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best kept secret, 29 April 2009
By 
P. Fox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quiet Please...The New Best of Nick Lowe (2CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
It is a safe bet that the majority of the population either have no knowledge or very limited knowledge of the man or the music of Nick Lowe. Unfortunately this 'best of collection' is unlikley to dramatically change that situation, but for the lucky few, they will be in possesion of a magnificently packaged collection of sublime music. The collection even serves to remind diehard fans of the inspiration and craftsmanship Nick Lowe has invested in his music over the last 40 years, and provides an opportuntiy to be reminded of long forgotten tracks that were neglected 'classics' on original release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet please? No, on the contrary, it's too good to keep quiet about, 14 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Quiet Please...The New Best of Nick Lowe (2CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
One man and 49 of his songs - could be a bit monotonous and repetitive, couldn't it? Wrong! You never get tired or bored of listening to this compilation, as the material is very varied, and there really is something for everybody.

This is a reminder of why Nick is being held in such high esteem for being a brilliant songwriter. He treats all kinds of everyday subjects, which we probably all recognise and have experienced, with great sensitivity. People like to listen to something, which is familiar to them, and which they can identify with. It makes us feel as if the song had been written especially for us - Nick manages to make us feel that way. He knows a great deal about human nature and has over the years put this across in his songs. He himself will have gone through life's learning curves, not always smooth ones. He puts lessons learnt to good use by using them in a positive way and transforming them into his writing for the rest of us to enjoy.

Disc 1 contains a lot of typically 70s music, some of it Beach Boy-style with fine harmony singing and a Phil Spector sound. A lot of it rather easy-listening, upbeat, country-style with twanging guitars and even moving into rock `n' roll territory at times.

A particular favourite of mine is Cracking Up, which is a light-hearted treatment of a serious issue. Anybody, who has ever experienced mental health issues, will know what Nick is talking about - it is a lonely place to be and `... not funny no more ...'.

Endless Sleep really does seem endless - you get the feeling the record will go on and on and on, but in a strangely compelling way.

When you get to disc 2 you realise how Nick has developed. There is anything from sad blues songs (Home Wrecker) to lively and upbeat, humorous songs such as Has she got a friend? There are tender love songs such as Let's Stay in .... You inspire me is bordering on dinner jazz, and Nick creates the atmosphere of a Parisien café in Faithless Lovers. There is an overall country feel to most of the songs. The Man that I've become could have been sung by Johnny Cash, and the Long Limbed Girl by the Mavericks, as it has a lovely brass bit in the middle.

If you had forgotten how many great and well-known songs originated from Nick Lowe's pen, go and get this box set - you will not be disappointed. The DVD is a bonus - partly an acoustic session with Nick and his guitar, partly a session of Nick with his band. In addition to all this you also get a detailed booklet, that contains interesting snippets of information about how Nick went about spreading his music, including quotes from Nick himself, other people and details of all the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper geezer., 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quiet Please...The New Best of Nick Lowe (2CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
Why is this songwriting genius not more widely recognised? A strong man In a strong field.Oh, you want another four words? I'm cracking up, will that do?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'd forgotten how good he was..., 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quiet Please...The New Best of Nick Lowe (2CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
... it was a blast from my past, an indulgent trip down memory lane. But happily I loved the more recent songs too, so much so I was prompted to go & see him live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet please? Play it loud!, 10 April 2009
By 
12stringbassist "....." (NorthWest, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To be brief - this is a most excellent career oveview of Nick Lowe, from his days with Brinsley Schwarz (represented by a solitary track, 'Peace love and understanding'), through his days with Rockpile (two songs) and Little Village (again, just the one song) to date.

The set contains most of Nick's best songs and will only disappoint those who would insist on the inclusion of a few of his best songs, missed off as they were either co-written, or lost due to obvious time constraints on the two discs. It is very easy to come up with alternative tracklistings from such a fine career, with so many great songs to choose from. The inclusion of four songs from his latest album 'At my age' is a bit overkill, in my humble opinion, looking at what was missed off. But hey! This is a great set.

The accompanying DVD is a delight, featuring several of Nick's promo videos, as well as what appears to be an entire recent live show from Europe, which catches Nick on truly fine form.

The best way to hear Nick lowe is really by buying all of his albums, but this is a fine scoop into his back pages and I can happily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet please genius at work., 6 April 2009
By 
J. D. Coleman (Beccles, Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quiet Please...The New Best of Nick Lowe (2CD + DVD) (Audio CD)
Nick Lowe must be the quietest but greatest singer songwriter this country has ever produced! This retrospective gives a dazzling review of his career from countryish beginnings, through punk to mature thoughtful songs. Virtually every song on these CDs offers something - from witty lyrics, great tunes or a clever combination of both. Nick Lowe shows that the art of writing a three minute song e.g. the wonderful 'Rose of England' or the fantastic 'All Men are liars' is something to be treasured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews