Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware! Read the small print
First of all I must mention that if you are ordering this from Amazon beware the small print in the Amazon Product Description. I quote:
"Note:The Nikwax Tx. Direct Spray On May come With or Without the Nozzle based on the quantity ."
I ordered the 1 ltr size recently and the picture (at the time) clearly showed a bottle with a nozzle, but it came...
Published 10 months ago by robhiston

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cool wash, apply when wet etc
Didn't really seem to have much affect as far as getting the water to bead and run off. Followed the instructions to the letter - pre-wash in Tech Wash, cool wash, apply when wet etc. Jacket still seems just to absorb the water.
Published 5 months ago by Neil C.


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware! Read the small print, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikwax Tx. Direct Spray On Spray On Waterproofer (Sports)
First of all I must mention that if you are ordering this from Amazon beware the small print in the Amazon Product Description. I quote:
"Note:The Nikwax Tx. Direct Spray On May come With or Without the Nozzle based on the quantity ."
I ordered the 1 ltr size recently and the picture (at the time) clearly showed a bottle with a nozzle, but it came without one. It would be vastly more helpful if the description stated which quantities were provided with a spray nozzle and which were not. Either that or have two separate product items: one with a spray nozzle and another one clearly described as a refill.

Having said that, the product has worked well for me on both walking and skiing clothing, though it is a messy business applying it and I generally do it outside on a calm day and lay the garment on a plastic garden table. The job cannot be done in a hurry as it really takes time and effort to carefully spread the sprayed on liquid evenly over the whole garment, as it obviously initially runs off the peaks and pools in crevices. It you miss any patches or coat them insufficiently then the rain will always find them. Also it must be allowed to dry thoroughly before use. Don't try doing this just before you go out for a walk in the rain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trust NikWax!, 2 Nov. 2011
Been using Nikwax products for years to periodically top up waterproofing at the beginning of wet season on my waterproof gear. Also great for bags and anything else that could use help repelling water. Make sure you test the fabric first though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff!, 30 Mar. 2009
By 
Hilary Skarratt "Hilary J" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Had washed my skiing kit in normal washing powder in error before reading that this was a surefire way of losing the waterproofing. Washed the suit again in NikWax Tech Wash, and then sprayed it with this TX Direct, and it was as good as new. Went skiing and had more snow than ever before, but everything remained completely waterproof and dry. Would definitely recommend it. Had read that it was messy to apply, but I laid the kit out on a couple of towels on the kitchen floor to spray it, and didn't find it a problem at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nikwax tx, 28 Dec. 2009
By 
M. S. Collins (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
excellent product! thought i had ruined my new coat by scrubbing a stain out. a spray with nikwax soon repaired the waterproofing of my coat, and it's like new again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cool wash, apply when wet etc, 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't really seem to have much affect as far as getting the water to bead and run off. Followed the instructions to the letter - pre-wash in Tech Wash, cool wash, apply when wet etc. Jacket still seems just to absorb the water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waterproofer., 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have used this waterproofer many times and have always followed the instructions printed on the bottle.
Never had a problem and have always been satisfied with the results.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars instant waterproof, 4 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
easy to use just spray on leave to dry....job done ! its that easy.I used it on a golf bag cover four weeks ago,its rained on a good few times and the cover is still water proof....first class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no spray head provided!, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikwax Tx. Direct Spray On Spray On Waterproofer (Sports)
This product is advertised as spray on waterproofer yet comes with no spray head attachment. The product arrives in a normal bottle with a screw cap different to the one in the picture. This is deceptive and amazon have not corrected this product image despite earlier similar complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, 17 Mar. 2013
By 
Pedro (Caxias, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looks a bit runny, in fact, but when dry restores the waterproofness of the outer layers of gore-tex jackets. Just be sure to spray it outside, or you'll have your eyes sort of sticky when you finish...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waterproofing spray!, 9 Dec. 2011
By 
Mrs. Joan A. Mccauley (Co Tyrone, NI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent product and buying experience. After usage clothing were like new as far as waterproofing was concerned. Amount means have plenty to re-proof a number of items
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews