Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding debut album
This is unquestionably the best debut album I have ever heard, and I have been collecting records for over forty years. Yes, Madeleine's voice is reminiscent of Billie Holiday, and it is apparent that she has been listening to Bessie Smith and the great blues divas, but she has a shining talent of her own. Listen to her version of Edith Piaf's 'La Vie en Rose' - others...
Published on 2 July 2005 by ianmac3

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Delta blues with a twist
Madeleine Peyroux has a voice of The Delta, but is a white American who has lived and worked as a Paris street musician. Her voice has overtones of Billie Holiday's phrasing, and she is backed here by a jazz group of some competence. I think her 'Careless Love' CD is better, but as an introduction to a unique voice, this CD has a beauty all its own.
Published on 3 Sep 2009 by Oldjazzman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding debut album, 2 July 2005
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
This is unquestionably the best debut album I have ever heard, and I have been collecting records for over forty years. Yes, Madeleine's voice is reminiscent of Billie Holiday, and it is apparent that she has been listening to Bessie Smith and the great blues divas, but she has a shining talent of her own. Listen to her version of Edith Piaf's 'La Vie en Rose' - others have tended to copy 'the Little Sparrow', but Madeleine gives it new life.
I have her second album, and it is not quite as good as her first, but that is no condemnation. I look forward to her third!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing debut album from Madeleine Peyroux, 11 May 2007
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
I have all three of Madeleine Peyroux's albums now having recently purchased this beauty. All through the album, you can tell the quality and the feeling in her vocal performance. I find it difficult to believe now that it took 8 years before Madeleine Peyroux became a household name with her second album "Careless Love" and not this one. Never mind. This is still a wonderful album.

This album is a launching pad for Madeleine Peyroux to launch from. Her singing style is very similar to that of Billie Holiday and Bessie Smith, the jazz and blues divas of their time. It hits off with "Walking After Midnight" and finishes off with a blues-fuelled "Lovesick Blues". The tracks inbetween are also of distinction including "Dreamland", the title track, a delicious blues-jazz fusion, "La Vie En Rose", a beautiful tribute to the Little Sparrow, Edith Piath and "I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself A Letter".

What Madeleine Peyroux does so well on this amazing album is breathe new life into these old and well known songs (she does this on her other albums too but she did it here first). Fusing jazz in with the blues is a neat idea and it works extremely well and her voice is refreshing to hear and she sings the songs to perfection. A joy from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange choice first track, 6 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
Sometimes classic songs should be left well alone. While Madeleine Peyroux's rendition of Walkin' After Midnight, is a perfectly well executed rendition of the Patsy Cline hit, my feeling is that it is too much Patsy Cline's, to be comfortably covered by another vocalist. Apart from which it's out of place on this album. As it happens I prefer this version of La Vie En Rose to the original performed by Edith Piaf.

Aprt from the strange choice of opening track this is an enjoyable (if somewhat mawkish) selection of songs which are almost flawlessly performed.

There's a lot to like. If you are a fan of Madeleine Peyroux you won't want to miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 16 Mar 2005
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
Listening to this album it is hard to believe this isn't one of the great black female Jazz artists from the 30's or 40's. Madeleine Peyroux has a voice very reminiscent of Billie Holliday yet uniquely her own. She delivers her songs with a style and maturity way beyond her years; she was a mere 22 years old when she recorded this. As well as covering some well-known numbers Ms Peyroux performs some of her own songs proving she is as talented a songwriter as she is a singer. There isn't a track on this album that isn't flawlessly performed but particularly outstanding are 'La Vie En Rose' and 'A Prayer'.
This is an album that you want to listen to with the lights low and curled up in a comfy chair.... bliss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but not enough, 14 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
I came to this artist when stumbling on a TV report of the North Sea Jazz Festival whilst on assignment in Newcastle upon Tyne. I couldn't wait to get to the record store. Fortunately one of the assistants had heard of her but there had been a run on her CD's that week and they had sold out. I ordered this CD and waited patiently until it arrived. I was delighted with what I heard but was dissapointed that the song I hoped to be included was not there. This was " The Rock Island Line " . I didn't think anyone could sing it again after Mr Donnegan's 60's hit but believe me her treatment of the old Leadbelly song accompanierd by a superb trumpet player and rhythm section was sensational....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bluesy sweet voice with a slight country finish, 11 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
I heard this music reviewed first on Public Radio and immediately had to order it. For those romantic evenings with candlelight or a home alone crying into your wine, this is the CD for you. Excellent for jazz and swing enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIKE BILLIE, 25 Nov 2003
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
Stunning
This singer does not copy Billie, she sounds like her, and can take a blues number and swing it, a true jazz singer!
She also gives an authentic thirties style to this album
Amazing its as if she is streamlining Billie !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Voice, 18 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
If you are into Blues you will be amazed at this young lady's voice. If she recorded more material of this type I would certainly buy. This CD and along with Careless Love are her best to date. Her voice is unique and regardless of the comments that state 'she sounds like' to me she is just Madeleine Peyroux, a one off. Buy this CD. Sit back and enjoy true expression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreamland, Madeleine Peyroux - Dreamily good debut, 8 Dec 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
This is a really excellent debut album from singer/songwriter Madeleine Peyroux. Containing a mix of covers and self penned tracks, it shows her to be a huge talent. The style is generally relaxed blues/jazz with simple musical backing and Peyroux's marvellous voice to the fore.

Peyroux's voice is really something - there is something about her tone and timbre that really puts me in mind of the great Billie Holliday when I hear it. It is a joy to listen to, and like Holliday she manages to bring an extra layer of emotional intensity to each track.

There is an excellent choice of tracks, giving a nice variation in tempo that keeps the album interesting. The emphasis is on the slower tracks and a bluesy feel, but there is just enough mid to high tempo work to stop the album becoming dreary. Uniformly excellent and listenable, my personal favourites are the final two tracks, a couple of Bessie Smith covers. Covering anything by the great Bessie can be dangerous for an artist, but Peyroux manages it beautifully, really making the songs her own.

An excellent album, highly recommended to all those who enjoy heartfelt music in the style of Bessie Smith and Billie Holliday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Late Night Jazz, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamland (Audio CD)
I love the style of this laid back jazz. Madeleine is one of those few female singers that for me have cracked this style of jazz.
I can image being in an old style smokey jazz club, after midnight, sipping a Whisky and just soaking up the atmosphere with Madeleine sing these tracks in the background
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamland
Dreamland by Madeleine Peyroux
Buy MP3 Album£4.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews